We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and modern hotel close to UT campus and downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center
Ranked #21 of 200 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean and modern hotel close to UT campus and downtown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2011

We loved this hotel! We stayed in Austin for the weekend to visit UT as a potential college for my daughter. The hotel is extremely clean, the staff was helpful with directions, printing boarding passes, and other info. Spacious, modern bathrooms with thick, large towels. We didn't rent a car and utilized Austin Metro bus service to go downtown and to South Congress area - there were several stops near the hotel. Was able to walk to a bus stop to catch a city bus to the airport for $1 a person (taxi cost us $31 from the airport to the hotel!). Overall great location and hotel. It is within walking distance to UT campus and "The Drag". We didn't eat any meals at the hotel, however, so I can't comment on that aspect of this hotel. Requested a microwave and one was delivered to our room at no charge for the entire length of our stay. Will definitely stay here again next time I'm in Austin.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phosid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    242
    72
    23
    21
See reviews for
153
101
29
430
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Killeen, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2011

We spent new years eve at this hotel 2010-2011. At first we were skeptical since we never heard of this hotel, as we needed a central location to hit the night life in Austin TX NYE. We called the hotel to find out details on reservations and the best staff Ms. Charmagne took care of us over the phone. The hotel has better amenities in comparison to big names hotels I traveled on the past, and you pay half the price. The location is in the middle of Austin University so you get the monumental view of the area. Pool might be small, but it's self heated, and noone seem to know it's there... I know I'll be going back to this hotel during my next visit to Austin!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garr_Trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abu dhabi, united arab emirates
Level Contributor
165 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2010

For our purposes to be on campus, this was great. Right on campus and a nice decor with a beautiful courtyard. Nice restaurants and it being a conference center has everything for the business traveler.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alibeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2010

As soon as I valet parked here I knew it would be one of the hotels that I now prefer in Austin. The room was cozy, clean and comfortable. Our meetings took course over a couple of days so I had the opportunity to sample some of the 'in house' menu at all three restaurant options that they have. The breakfast and lunch buffet downstairs at The Carillon was a bit pricey but I must admit so delicious. Grilled pineapple, pasta, and sandwiches had me coming back for more. The 125 coffee shop had me drinking coffee everyday even though I dont really like coffee. Tried a muffin there it was huge but also tasty. Gabriels Cafe was the highlight of my whole trip...the sweet chili wings were so good..I skipped dinner the last day and had them again. They are to die for! One day, we had fire alarms going off at 4:30 in the morning. That wasn't great seeing all of my coworkers coming out in their skippies. Besides that it was an enjoyable stay and I already recommend the hotel to other travelers who havent really heard about it. It's also conveniently located close to food, bars, and UT!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slbutler81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2010

We had a very disappointing stay at the AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center last night. I do not recommend it as a place to stay in Austin.

While it is very convenient to the University of Texas campus, it is not a comfortable hotel. Several issues:

1. The beds are not comfortable. This hotel did not invest in quality mattresses.
2. The rooms are noisy. There is a lot of street noise, noise from a poor air conditioning system, noise from hallways with loud acoustics, noise from rooms above and next door due to a poor building structure. Our room was also plagued with a humming noise which I could not identify.
3. The in room smoke alarm flashes (almost like a strobe light) all during the night. I found this to be very irritating.
4. The worst thing about our evening at the hotel was that the fire alarms went off right before 1am. We had to evacuate down the stairs. The halls were filled with what looked like smoke. When we reentered the building at the front and asked the main desk what was going on, they were unaware of the conditions of the hallway. Once the issue of the smoke ( a fire extinguisher had been deployed as a prank) was solved, the cleanup was done outside our room. It was very noisy. The icing on the cake was loud guests entering our floor after 2:30am.

I would not recommend this hotel. At the very least a hotel should provide a calm, quiet night's sleep. This hotel is not able to do that.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perennialgardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UT_Hotel, Manager at AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center, responded to this review, December 10, 2010
Dear perennialgardener,
Thank you for providing feedback on your stay with us. I'm glad you took the time to speak with us both at check out and after your stay and that we were able to make amends for the unpleasant parts of your stay. As I mentioned in our conversation, I feel we are one of the quieter hotels downtown because of our educational focus, but from time to time people think that because we provide service to them as if they were rock stars that they can act like them by playing pranks or partying too late. (Sorry rock stars) We'd love to have you back and I'm certain any future stays will make you forget about this one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2010

We made reservations at this hotel because we were attending events at the University of Texas. This was a great choice, because we were able to walk to many of the events as well as the Blanton Museum. For some of the events, we relied on the hotel shuttle, and the drivers were consistently accommodating. We were also very pleased with the parking, because the valets were so efficient and helpful. If we were going to be out for a few minutes, they kept our car in front of the hotel for easy access for us. They were very friendly and polite. When we arrived at the hotel, we were greeted by a hotel representative in a suit who welcome us and by the second day he knew our rooms and all the individuals in our party. He was very knowledgeable and gracious. He told us he was a student at UT but had quite a bit of hotel experience, which was apparent. Housekeeping was great - housekeepers polite and friendly. Disappointments were our room, which was ordinary and the restaurants, which have limited hours of service. There are times during the day that both dining rooms are closed, and this proved to be a problem for us since we were trying to attend programs and return to the hotel for meals. We ate several meals here in both dining rooms and the food was OK but not great. If we were returning to attend a UT event, we would probably stay here again, but we would make the effort to find other places for dining. I would recommend this hotel to a friend if they were attending an event at UT.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelJunkieAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

Stayed here again in August and no complaints. Clean, quiet, convenient - if you can get a good rate stay here!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chinagirl0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
West Campus
Hotel Ella
Hotel Ella
#39 of 200 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
W Austin
#19 of 200 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
Hyatt Regency Austin
#18 of 200 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center

Property: AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center
Address: 1900 University Ave, University of Texas at Austin, Austin, TX 78705-5611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Austin
#11 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#36 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center is located in the heart of Austin, offering hotel rooms, meeting space and fine dining. HOTEL Featuring 276 guest rooms and 21 suites onsite, the hotel offers inspiring views of The University of Texas at Austin's Main Tower, the Texas State Capitol, and our serene central courtyard. Room technologies and guest amenities make your stay for either business or pleasure equally enjoyable. MEETINGS Forty thousand square feet of meeting space offers 37 rooms ranging from a multimedia amphitheatre and divisible 10,000-square-foot ballroom to tiered and traditional classrooms with superior connectivity, plus breakout rooms to support small group work. Wireless access throughout the facility and exceptional presentation and audio/visual features provide answers to your conference planning challenges. CELEBRATIONS The Grand Ballroom is situated in the heart of Austin and Texas Hill County. Our coveted location allows us to exemplify elegance combined with a little Texas flare. Our award winning culinary staff and our AAA Four Diamond service will offer you endless choices for your wedding reception that are both skillfully crafted and sinfully delicious. DINING Delivered with platinum service and a conscience for sustainability, our variety of exceptional dining spaces will have you savoring every moment you're here. Join us at The Carillon, Gabriel's Cafe, or One Twenty 5 Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TravelClick, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At And t Executive Education And Conference Center
At&t Executive Education Hotel Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing