We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent business hotel next to UT campus”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center
Ranked #22 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
southern california
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“excellent business hotel next to UT campus”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed here while visiting UT. I do not know the rate as UT booked and paid for the room.
My room was new and clean and reminiscent of a Westin room. It had similar linens and similar scented shampoos (white tea). There was a lush terry robe hanging in the closet. The bed did not feel quite as nice as the Westin heavenly bed but still it was good. I would say the room was very similar to a higher quality Westin or Hyatt or Hilton. The fitness center (pictured) was not large but had a decent assortment of cardio equipment, stack weights, and free weights. I used all of these. The floor of the fitness center has the long horn logo in the tiles. I had breakfast in the restaurant (not the buffet) and this was also very nice. I do not know if they have room service I did not try to order anything. Free wifi worked fine. Overall an excellent property I would stay here again if visiting UT.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room and got a high floor inner courtyard room that was quiet. Although it had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    246
    74
    25
    24
See reviews for
165
106
30
449
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here on a college visit recently. Great service, very helpful from the parking guys to the concierge to the front desk. They allowed us to have a late checkout when we really needed one. We really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorham, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Beautiful hotel built especially for conferences. The meeting rooms were comfortable and well lit. The whole layout was great. The food was excellent. My room was beautiful and very comfortable. Great trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mainegirl_207802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

It is a true testament to a great hotel when the management is as helpful and understanding as Matt. I have stayed at many other hotels and resorts and have never had such great flexibility and understanding from the hotel management.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The AT&T hotel and conference center is not only a central location to the University of Texas campus and downtown Austin, but is also, and always, a home away from home. Every detail is superb, every need met. From the awesome and comfy beds, to the dining choices, friendly and helpful staff and views of campus. I love the decor. I feel like a celebrity every time we stay, but there is no pretentious tone whatsoever. It feels like a luxurious getaway, yet you can go downstairs to the bar and have bottles of beer and queso. We walked to the Clay Pit for dinner (another awesome Austin must) and came in the relaxing quiet of a huge and spacious, CLEAN room. Stay here if you find yourself in the great city that is Austin.

Room Tip: Staff will do it's best to meet your needs. We always prefer a quieter room--if that is your des...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iheartannarbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, TX
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Our trip to Austin was a rare weekend away as a couple, leaving the kids behind. Some friends recommended we booked through Hotwire and we did, thinking we'd try saving a little money and happen into a new (to us) hotel in Austin. This was listed as a 4-star on Hotwire. We were fooled. The lobby and public areas are very nice and the staff is very helpful and friendly. The valet parking is convenient and fooled me into thinking we were in for a great weekend of relaxation and pampering. On our first night we were in a nice enough room but were awake every 15-30 minutes by a rowdy wedding party. I'm not exactly sure why security was not patrolling to handle this issue (didn't they know there was a drunk wedding party in the hotel?), but we got very little sleep. The next day we requested to be moved and we were, to a room with a broken refrigerator, broken closet door hinges, a leaky faucet that gave us wet feet, stained sheets, you get the idea. We had already moved once so I chose to not complain again. The second night was a better rest. The third night was New Year's and we expected some noise. We did not expect that there would again be no security in the hallways to break up the drunken party outside our door at 3 AM. It went on for over a half hour before the drunks decided it was time to pass out in their rooms. I did more than complain- I was quite upset and sleep deprived- and the manager was nice about it. He covered our valet and offered a follow up weekend. I declined, I will never stay there again. It was hands down the worst hotel experience I've ever had. And believe me, in graduate school we stayed at Motel 6 and Value Inn A LOT. This was worse than that and unfortunately, I had the expectation that I would at least get a decent night's rest.

Room Tip: If you must go here I'd recommend going in the middle of the week so that you can avoid the peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbr_Lubbock_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UT_Hotel, Manager at AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear sbr_Lubbock_TX:
I am so sorry you did not have the experience you were expecting with us. I certainly know the value of some time away from the kids and the need for peace and quiet. While we are generally regarded as one of the quietest hotels in town, it looks as though the holiday cheer got the best of some of our guests during your stay through New Year's Eve. Our staff patrols the guest room floors throughout the night and issues warnings if they hear noise or get complaints. As for the condition of the room, we have already had our maintenance crew and housekeeping staff bring it back to it rightfully perfect state. While my explanations don't make your stay better, I sure you hope you will come visit us again to take us up on our offer. You will find that we are a far cry from a party hotel and perhaps your next experience with us will be more like some of the others with reviews found here. With all that being said, we appreciate the feedback, public or private, and will continue to listen and improve.
Tom Rice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

The name sounds boring but this hotel is AMAZING. Rooms are beautiful and look like they were just renovated. SUPER clean, maid service is great, everyone at hotel (from check-in to bartenders) were super friendly. Close to everything (museums, restaurants, etc). Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room (shared) for a great view of UT tower and capitol bldg.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D_THill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
West Campus
Hotel Ella
Hotel Ella
#39 of 203 in Austin
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
W Austin
#18 of 203 in Austin
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center

Property: AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center
Address: 1900 University Ave, University of Texas at Austin, Austin, TX 78705-5611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Austin
#12 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#36 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center is located in the heart of Austin, offering hotel rooms, meeting space and fine dining. HOTEL Featuring 276 guest rooms and 21 suites onsite, the hotel offers inspiring views of The University of Texas at Austin's Main Tower, the Texas State Capitol, and our serene central courtyard. Room technologies and guest amenities make your stay for either business or pleasure equally enjoyable. MEETINGS Forty thousand square feet of meeting space offers 37 rooms ranging from a multimedia amphitheatre and divisible 10,000-square-foot ballroom to tiered and traditional classrooms with superior connectivity, plus breakout rooms to support small group work. Wireless access throughout the facility and exceptional presentation and audio/visual features provide answers to your conference planning challenges. CELEBRATIONS The Grand Ballroom is situated in the heart of Austin and Texas Hill County. Our coveted location allows us to exemplify elegance combined with a little Texas flare. Our award winning culinary staff and our AAA Four Diamond service will offer you endless choices for your wedding reception that are both skillfully crafted and sinfully delicious. DINING Delivered with platinum service and a conscience for sustainability, our variety of exceptional dining spaces will have you savoring every moment you're here. Join us at The Carillon, Gabriel's Cafe, or One Twenty 5 Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At And t Executive Education And Conference Center
At&t Executive Education Hotel Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing