We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Getaway on Campus”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center
Ranked #22 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Carrollton, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Relaxing Getaway on Campus”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

What a comfortable room! Awesome crisp linens. Thirsty towels. Perfect pillows. A burnt-orange focus wall. Wide shared balconies with campus and city views. Great bar and food. It was a perfect night away and on campus!

Room Tip: All rooms are great! But if you are a longhorn, ask for tower view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    247
    74
    25
    24
See reviews for
166
106
30
449
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed here with a conference for 3 nights during Austin City Limits. 

The hotel's entrance, lobby, and main areas had the feel of a large, impersonal convention centre (which is exactly what it is).   My room, Rm 6001, was a standard business hotel room, offering standard amenities, but nothing luxurious. Furnishings showed modest signs of wear and tear.  The conference rate at $175 was excellent, but the third day at $249 was less so.  This room was at the end of a hallway, and due to its unique location, it had in addition to the usual large window, one behind the bed that allowed for more natural light and a feeling of spaciousness.  Blackout drapes and sheers were convenient.  This room was street side - not a great view by any means, and soemwhat noisy.

For a telecommunications conglomerate, as you would expect, free wifi was provided, and the phone system was decent.  No ability to retrieve messages remotely was a surprise though, as was no message light to indicate that a message had been left.  The clock radio had a dimmer bar, so it could be dimmed for sleeping.  A fridge in the room and separate basin and toilet/tub areas were also convenient if two were sharing a room.   The jacuzzi tub was large but old style with the jets protruding up from the bottom of the tub.  Bottled water (Fiji)  at $5 was prohibitive.  Bed was comfortable, but all 4 pillows were down and provided less support than foam for us back and side sleepers.  Coffee maker, lighted make-up mirror, and room safe were provided.  Bath-robes were much appreciated. 

The highlight of my experience of this hotel was the food in the buffet. It was full of  delicious variety and quality.  Top marks there.

The staff were friendly and service-oriented, almost to a person. They allowed me to change rooms immediately after check-in, to shorten my stay from 4 nights to 3 without penalty, and kindly agreed to late check out (by 1.5 hours) with a smile.  

I would recommend this hotel if you're looking for a basic hotel with pleasant staff and comfortable accommodations.  If you prefer a warmer more intimate and inviting ambience, or charm, look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Street side rooms can be noisy, those facing into the hotel's courtyard have balconies (some do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I'm not sure what makes this hotel a luxury hotel, but since I was traveling on business and didn't pay for the room, I didn't have any particular expectations. It was fine for a couple day trip, but I don't know if I would stay here for a leisure visit. The room was fine--not exceptional in any way. My view was of a parking structure and the street leading up to the campus. The fire alarm "strobe light" was indeed annoying as one reviewer noted. The alarm clock also had intensely bright light that necessitated shoving it down between the night stand so as not to have bright blue light in your face while trying to sleep. Breakfast of oatmeal and tea was $17. A bottle of Fuji water was provided for you to drink at $5 a pop. Again, I didn't have to pay for this but really? When I checked out, I handed my key to a woman at the front desk who was talking to another staff member. I had to stand there for a bit before she turned to acknowledge me and when she finally did she simply wordlessly stuck her hand out, still talking to the other employee. Not a word, not a "did you enjoy your stay" or "have a nice day" or anything. Not my idea of luxury or quality service.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank brooklynprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This is a top notch hotel located on the campus of the university of Texas. Texas Longhorn theming is everywhere, so if that nauseates you -- consider yourself warned. The meetings are nicely appointed with higher end finishes, and reasonably quiet. I didn't hear any room to room noise despite the place being sold out. My room faced the capitol along MLK blvd, so there was a little road noise, but it wasn't too bad, and the view of the capitol more than atoned for the mild noise in my mind. It's a bit pricey, but it's a great location in Austin, and that typically is something you have to pay a little more to get.

The conference facilities are very nice, which is the real purpose of this hotel. Food was above average, but nothing to write home about. My one complaint is that the floors in the conference level are labeled by letters according to purpose (LL for lower lobby, M1, M2, for meetings and mezzanine, etc., none of which are very intuitive at face value.) Every time I got on an elevator people were perplexed and did not know what button to push. It would be much better to simply number the floors and put small labels on the elevator panel to remind people where the lobby, mezzanine, parking, or meeting rooms are located. That's probably not that big a deal, but given the consistency of the problem, it's a fairly conspicuous oversight for a conference center.

Room Tip: Rooms in the southeast corner have a capitol view, but at the cost of more road noise. Rooms facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TopofTXtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The AT&T Executive Center is a high end\luxury hotel right next to the University of Texas in downtown Austin. My wife and I stayed here to attend Austin City Limits. The hotel was within walking distance of the ACL shuttles. After the days events, it was great to be able to grab good food and great wine at the hotels restaurants.

The price is a bit high compared to other hotels downtown, this is definitely not for the budget traveler. I would also not recommend bringing small children here either. I would recommend this hotel for couples looking for a romantic get away or for those with a taste for luxury.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goterps10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Pros:
Clean room. Very nicely appointed. Towels and amenities were excellent.
Location was great, EXCEPT IT WAS HARD TO FIND OFF STREET PARKING.
PARKING IS UNDERNEATH HOTEL.
Aside from that, no complaints.

Cons:
Parking. A tad bit on the high side.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank txan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed last weekend for two nights and really liked the hotel. The food was good, prices reasonable and the hotel was quiet. We'd definitely stay again. My one disappointment - their tea. Being English everyone knows we love our tea and unfortunately the hotel's tea isn't great for several reasons: (1) although they call it English Breakfast it isn't really (2) the pot they put the hot water in isn't a proper tea pot and (3) the hot water was hand hot, not boiling hot as is needed for a good cuppa. One small blip on an otherwise great stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KOL25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
West Campus
Hotel Ella
Hotel Ella
#40 of 203 in Austin
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
W Austin
#18 of 203 in Austin
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center

Property: AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center
Address: 1900 University Ave, University of Texas at Austin, Austin, TX 78705-5611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Austin
#12 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#36 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center is located in the heart of Austin, offering hotel rooms, meeting space and fine dining. HOTEL Featuring 276 guest rooms and 21 suites onsite, the hotel offers inspiring views of The University of Texas at Austin's Main Tower, the Texas State Capitol, and our serene central courtyard. Room technologies and guest amenities make your stay for either business or pleasure equally enjoyable. MEETINGS Forty thousand square feet of meeting space offers 37 rooms ranging from a multimedia amphitheatre and divisible 10,000-square-foot ballroom to tiered and traditional classrooms with superior connectivity, plus breakout rooms to support small group work. Wireless access throughout the facility and exceptional presentation and audio/visual features provide answers to your conference planning challenges. CELEBRATIONS The Grand Ballroom is situated in the heart of Austin and Texas Hill County. Our coveted location allows us to exemplify elegance combined with a little Texas flare. Our award winning culinary staff and our AAA Four Diamond service will offer you endless choices for your wedding reception that are both skillfully crafted and sinfully delicious. DINING Delivered with platinum service and a conscience for sustainability, our variety of exceptional dining spaces will have you savoring every moment you're here. Join us at The Carillon, Gabriel's Cafe, or One Twenty 5 Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At And t Executive Education And Conference Center
At&t Executive Education Hotel Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing