We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sketchy neighborhood”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Austin North
Ranked #34 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
The Woodlands, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sketchy neighborhood”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I had stayed at this hotel about 4 years ago and it is a typical, consistent HGI. No complaints there. I stayed one night and to my surprise, my truck the window smashed out and everything taken. OK, so I realize that could happen anywhere.

Fast forward to this week, I had a reservation at this hotel again. As I pull into the parking lot, to my surprise, a glass company van is in the parking lot making window repair to a truck. I approached the guy and asked if the truck had been broken into and he said yes - it was one of two.

I walked in and cancelled my reservation and went down the road to another hotel. The management of this hotel has a problem on their hands and I believe they need to hire some security.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Property11, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin North, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. You can imagine our surprise when we walked the property the morning of your arrival and found that two vehicles had been broken into. It is not a common occurrence for a break in to take place. I can assure you that we have management walk and drive the property several times a day to ensure standards and safety are met. We were proactive by contacting the glass company and arranging for repairs while our guest were able to conduct their business with minimal delays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    134
    52
    12
    21
See reviews for
143
95
33
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sharan, Paktika, Afghanistan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Room were great, the staff was exceptional and the breakfast was remarkable and cooked to order. The WIFI was quick and fast and delivery options from other restaurants was great they new the place without a problem. The cookies down stairs are cooked to order and free and its a great greeting when coming from a long flight! Love this place!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Property11, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin North, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
...and we love having you!! Thank you for the review! I am glad that my team was able to provide exceptional service and that you were able to take advantage of our Complimentary WIFI as well as our Cooked to Order Breakfast. We will be sure to have fresh cookies for your next visit as well!

Warmest Regards,
Ashley Wilson
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Just completed a business trip to Austin and staying at this HGI. Clean quiet rooms, attentive staff, good breakfast, business center. Just what I expect when I choose to stay at HGI. If you stay there, it is a bit hard to find due to location on Frontage Road.

Room Tip: Although it fronts I35, I didn't hear the interstate at all. Might want to request a room not f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Property11, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin North, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your comments! It is good to know that we are able to provide the quality you come to expect from Hilton Garden Inn. We hope that you will stay again and give us an opportunity to exceed your expectations. Thank you again for your review. We enjoyed having you and look forward to your next visit!

Warmest Regards,
Ashley Wilson
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridge City, Texas
1 review
Reviewed October 12, 2012

My husband & I stayed in town this past weekend for Tough Mudder. The hotel was very clean & well kept. The receptionist, however, was probably the best part of our stay. She was extremely friendly & accommodating. We asked for dinner suggestions both nights & she gave us excellent choices. My only complaint would be that she give customers a heads up on the price - because one of the restaurants she sent us to was somewhat expensive. But, the food was fantastic & the atmosphere was perfect so ultimately, we were thankful for the suggestion. Great stay & we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshleyTravels3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Property11, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin North, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you for your comments! The weekend of the Tough Mudder was definitely a fun one and I am very glad that you were able to take advantage of some of Austin's best restaurants while you were in town. You are correct, we should consider prices when offering recommendations in the future. We are always looking for ways to improve and thank you for the advise! We enjoyed having you and look forward to your next visit!

Warmest Regards,
Ashley Wilson
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
204 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I stayed at the HGI on the recommendation of a colleague. Also, it is one of my company's approved hotels for travel. I wasn't sure what to expect, but I was pleasantly surprised.

Pros:
1. Very courteous staff. They called me by name on the second day. Always greeted me when I arrived, and were very accommodating;
2. The hotel offers a 'breakfast made to order'...essentially, you can order whatever you like for a hot breakfast. I always had egg white omelets and they were consistently very good. They also have a variety of juices, yogurts and wonderful FRESH FRUIT (pineapple, water melon, cantaloupe, etc.);
3. They have fresh baked cookies, coffee and fresh fruit in the afternoons;
4. The room service staff was very efficient and polite;
5. LOCATION - if you have a 24 Hour Fitness membership, they have one literally next door and it is hardly busy, EVEN DURING PEAK HOURS. Additionally, the staff there are exceptionally friendly. I recommend JT for a personal training session. He is awesome! Also, across the freeway, you have a variety of restaurants as well as grocery stores.

Cons:
1. The "pool" is extremely small and located right next to the entry. So, you really are on display. Additionally, it didn't appear to be very clean;
2. The maid consistently forgot to leave hand/bath soap, so I was constantly having to ask for soap;
3. The last couple of days, I noticed ants in the bathroom. It wasn't like an infestation, but it was bothersome;
4. I was on the non-freeway side of the hotel, but still could hear considerable noise;
5. The hall light comes in under the door, so I placed a towel there each night.

I am returning for work this upcoming week and planning on staying there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the non-freeway side are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CreateSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Property11, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin North, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for your comments! I am glad that our team was able to provide an experience to remember. It is also good to know that you were able to take advantage of our Cooked To Order breakfast as well as our convenient location, directly next to 24 Hour Fitness. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed in our pool. I have shared your comments with our Maintenance team to ensure the pool always looks it's best. I have also followed up with our Housekeeping department about amenities left during routine cleaning. We are always looking for ways to improve and definitely appreciate first hand information from our guests. Thank you again for sharing your comments. We look forward to your next visit!

Warmest Regards,
Ashley Wilson
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed here the night before checking into the W Hotel downtown. The bartender (and hotel overall) beat the W by leaps and bounds. The bartender gave us excellent service and he even stayed open later on a Friday night to bring us beer while we relaxed in the hot tub. As a treat for the Bachelorette party we were celebrating he brought us complimentary shots. This is NOT what we expected from a basic hotel on the Interstate. Also, the breakfast was the best we had all weekend. I ordered 2 eggs over hard and it came with steamed fresh asparagus with cherry tomato garnish. Who would have thought?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasTalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Property11, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin North, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for the great review! We strive to ensure that every guest has a great, unique experience here at the Hilton garden Inn. It is wonderful to know that our team was able to provide that for you. We hope to have another opportunity to shine the next time you visit Austin. Thank you again for the feedback. It was a pleasure having you.

Warmest Regards,
Ashley Wilson
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Wasn't have any problem after we deal the price with the receptionist guy. He lets us sign the receipt which from day 1 to day 3 for 189.00. but when we check our bank online in the next morning, they charged us almost 500.00
Came down for a question and receive a very rude attitude from both the staffs and the Manager. they told us there's must be a misunderstanding and blablabla whatever excuses.. Even the staffs were lie and the manager dont even know how to talk right. wow.. we just sign what it listed. but they charge us double. After all, we check out with the rate of 189.00 per day. Lucky we checked our online bank and didn't stay there the whole time as planed. TERRIBLE..!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wistley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Property11, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin North, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write yur review, I am sorry for the misunderstanding, normally when our staff quotes a rate that rate is a nightly rate. Please contact me here at the property if you would like to discuss the matter further. Jeff Nelson 512-339-3626
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Northwest Austin
Hampton Inn Austin - Arboretum Northwest
Northwest Austin
HYATT house Austin / Arboretum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Austin
#28 of 201 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Austin North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Austin North

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Austin North
Address: 12400 North IH-35 Building C, Austin, TX 78753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Austin
#14 Business Hotel in Austin
#14 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#17 Best Value Hotel in Austin
#18 Green Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Austin North 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Austin North hotel is located 8 miles north of downtown Austin, offering close proximity to the Texas State Capitol, downtown entertainment district, and University of Texas. Guest rooms offer a refrigerator, microwave, adjustable Garden Sleep System beds, complimentary Wi-Fi, and 32" TV. We also feature an outdoor swimming pool, fitness room, and on-site dining and full service bar at The Garden Grille. Our renovated meeting rooms can accommodate up to 100 people and is the ideal choice for your next event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Austin North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Austin North Hotel Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing