We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“A Good Contemporary Business Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of aloft Austin at the Domain

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
aloft Austin at the Domain
Ranked #71 of 198 Hotels in Austin
India
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A Good Contemporary Business Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

A good chain of hotels, my first stay at Austin. Good service! Large Rooms, very contemporary! A very good sports bar/restaurant operating until very late in the evenings!!
The Domain is a is a good location, proximity to my office, choice for food and shopping.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neelish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    150
    68
    24
    16
See reviews for
49
85
15
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This aloft is a typical aloft, if you've stayed in one before. It's currently under construction but they only work during the day. It didn't bother us since we were gone all day. The rooms are spacious. The beds are pretty soft but we slept great. The only complaint I have is the hotel has really thin walls. The doors slam really hard so you hear everyone on your floor that's opened/closed their door. Also you can hear your neighbors. We normally bring a fan to drown out the noise but forgot it this time. The shower is nice but the water pressure is a not strong as I am use to with other hotels. I know Austin is very Green so that could be the reason. The hotel staff is always friendly. The food area downstairs has most every thing you need. We used the wxyz bar at other aloft locations but have not used this particular one. It looked like the others that I've been to.

The location of the hotel is superb. The Domain has some great restaurants and many shops. Many of the shops are high end, such as Neiman Marcus, Louis Vuitton, Tiffany but they also have some regular stuff such as the Apple Store, Lucky Brand, Coach and JCRew. They are also almost done with a Whole Foods Grocery Store, which will be a nice addition. There are also residents who live at The Domain and you'll see them walking their dogs or out and about. We've stayed at the Domain a couple of time and always felt very safe. If you want more chain restaurants, you can head in either direction on the MoPac (local highway) for cheaper choices. The area is just fantastic.

Overall, the hotel is very good but in an excellent location. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Rooms on the East Side over look a bunch of construction but does have a great view of the moon. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freddie1933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed recently while in town for a wedding. This was where a block of rooms was reserved, so many of us stayed here. The hotel was under construction, which we were not told about ahead of time (even though there were many calls up until the day before we went.) There was a sign stating there was construction being done, giving the hours to expect to hear it. I appreciate that notice, but it was still bothersome to hear pounding from 8 am on.

The room set-up was great, and the lobby was perfect for the family to sit and chat. The pool had no water (it was January) but the back patio was still a nice place to sit and get some sun. The rooms all have mini-fridges, which was excellent- we were able to run to the store and stock up on water and snacks. Free parking is an awesome perk! The area is nice, though the shopping is mostly chains you can find anywhere else.

Other than the construction, my main complaint is that things just seemed to keep going wrong for us. We were locked out of our room one morning; it took quite a while to solve this and find out why (3 trips to the lobby to re-key the card before someone came up to check it out, had to call in the engineer)- turns out the battery in the lock died. We were trying to leave to go to brunch with the big group and were delayed, and then we had to leave the engineer there to fix it, which involves a lot of trust and was not comfortable. It was fixed, though, and everyone was pleasant. Then the washing machine wouldn't start- again, had to wait a while for someone to come look at it and then call someone else to fix it. Our phone only worked on and off, as well, and an outlet in the room stopped working, but quite honestly, we no longer had time to wait for people to come and check things out. I get that it's a minimalist concept employee-wise, but the length of waiting time really makes me prefer a hotel with a full staff.

The wedding rate that we had for some of the nights was good, but the nights not on the wedding rate were not worth that price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KAB323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have now stayed twice at the Aloft in Austin. We really love this hotel. The rooms although a little small are very comfortable. The bedding is really good. The bathroom is laid out well and the shower excellent. Parking is extremely easy. Best of all they are a totally pet friendly property! They love pets as guests. Also, directly next to the hotel is a great sports bar with really good food at a fair price.

Room Tip: If you skip maid service for a night on a multi-night stay they give you a coupon. We find that dai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lv2cook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The room floorplan rocked. The room only had a shower, no bath tub or hot tub for soaking. The bar had a live jazz band that was wonderful. I wish I had ordered something from the lobby cafe, it looked good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladynfamous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Awesome rooms. Extremely neat. Great shopping in walking distance. Good location. The staff was friendly and helpful. The catastrophic Bastrop fires had begun and people were displaced. Aloft accomodated the families that had lost their homes during this horrible time. I commend Aloft for their helpfulness. I highly recommend the facility and look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dprice1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Just returned from the Aloft at the Domain. Great hotel if you enjoy shopping. Many upscale retail stores are in walking distance. Most interesting sites in Austin are south of this location. The hotel is very "hip" with nice beds. Nice for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kamybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Northwest Austin
Lone Star Court
Lone Star Court
#8 of 198 in Austin
4.5 of 5 stars 899 reviews
Northwest Austin
The Westin Austin at The Domain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Austin
HYATT house Austin / Arboretum
Northwest Austin
Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin-Arboretum / NW
Northwest Austin
Hampton Inn Austin - Arboretum Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to aloft Austin at the Domain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about aloft Austin at the Domain

Property: aloft Austin at the Domain
Address: 11601 Domain Dr, Austin, TX 78758-3416
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > Northwest Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#54 Family Hotel in Austin
#60 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — aloft Austin at the Domain 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Aloft Austin, located at The Domain, which is known as the second downtown in Austin. You'll find some of the best shopping, dining and entertainment at our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your aloft Austin at the Domain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Austin At The Domain Hotel Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing