We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly better than average, but not what we expected...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
HYATT house Austin / Arboretum
Ranked #28 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
USA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Slightly better than average, but not what we expected...”
Reviewed August 18, 2009

We stayed at the hotel with 3 small children. I will compile a list of pros and cons below...

PRO's - 1. staff was very friendly and helpful. We asked for a late checkout due to a sick child and it was granted to us no questions asked and no time limit given. We also left an item in the room, I called back 1 week later and they mailed it to me (at their expense) very promptly.

2. Rooms were very nice and spacious. Travelling with 3 small kids (6,4,2) we need the suite layout and this worked very well. There are two seperate flat panel tv's - one for the bedroom and one for the living area (many "suite" hotels have 1 tv on a swivel that can be viewed from both areas). Bathroom was of good size, not large, but big enough. Cureved shower curtain rod, full length mirror on closet door. Bed was very comfortable. Kitchen was fully stocked with dishware. Don't forget to turn on your ice maker in your freezer as there are no ice machines for public use. The room had the typical Hyatt modern, clean decor. We were pleased with the room.

CON's...1) this property layout is comprised of several independent buildings...once you check in at the front, you must drive around to your building and park. I think there were 3 or 4 buildings. As a result, you have to walk through the parking lot to get to the pool or breakfast area. All buildings are two stories and located righ on Capital of Texas Hwy (road noise) with apartment buildings on the other side. There are several "suite" or extended stay hotels in the area. You are not walking distance from anything. They list this property as "arboretum", but it is not that close or easy to get to (on foot). With your car, you are located in a good place...between 183 and Mopac 1. Location and grounds are decent, but not anything special.

2. Swimming Pool....this is a joke. It is a small pool located in a corner of the parking lot, right next to the busy street. It is fenced in with two gates, but there is nothing relaxing about this pool. Pool is small square with 4 feet max depth. While we were there, there was someone giving swimming lessons to a group of small kids in the pool one evening. Who gets/gives swimming lessons at a hotel pool? They are short on chairs and lounges and towels. Really a very weak attribute of this hotel.

3. Breakfast - food was average, low supply of all foods including silverware. Very small eating space - very small - closes down at 9:30 (or maybe 9:00am).

Bottom line, the cleanliness of the room, the helpfulness of the staff makes this place above average, but it is not special. If you are looking for a place to relax with your family, this is not it as the pool is terrible and it is located right on a main street. For a business traveler, this hotel is acceptable.

I just expected more from Hyatt.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLMMMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    185
    72
    21
    17
See reviews for
232
112
41
242
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2009

Please understand that if you have arrived at this hotel via taxi or supershuttle, you will be basically trapped in the hotel. The nearby mall (which has only a few open shops, and it appears that they are closing this mall) is not convenient for walking because you have to traverse a very heavily trafficked highway and you take your life in your own hands doing so. You really do need a car here.

The breakfasts were good, and room was just fine, but not spectacular as other reviews have implied. Pool photo on website is extremely misleading, as it appears that this is a shady, quiet oasis, and you should be aware that the side of the pool not shown faces a major road with lots of traffic. Only a few chairs can be found around the pool, and it's hardly a quiet spot to relax with family. The exercise room was not air-conditioned, so it made for an uncomfortable workout.

Location is very far from all tourist attractions and Austin sights, and you must have a car here.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank kangaroo101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2009

I am usually a Hilton customer, staying in one of their family of hotels about 2 days per week on average. Because of attending a class, in Austin, where this hotel was mandated for lodging, I begrudgingly gave up the opportunity to earn HHonors points for my stay, and stayed at this Hyatt. Though not happy about getting Hyatt points, instead of Hilton, I am very pleased with this hotel.

Pros:
Spacious room.
Well appointed kitchen (minus an oven).
Comfortable king size bed.
Large screen LCD television with connections to connect your laptop or other device.
DVD Player.
Very friendly staff.
Efficient maids.
Free hot breakfast.
On Mon - Thursday free "dinner" with Shiner Bock and Lone Star beer included (wine too).
Outdoor pool.
Small laundry and gym (very small gym).
The biggest pro is that they are a consistent performer.
Free shopping service to get food for you from local store.
Free internet (but kind of slow at 50kB/s down).
Free local calls.
Environmentally friendly lighting and HVAC.
Attractively furnished rooms.
Several nearby restaurants and shopping venues.
Quiet (even though they stuck me right next to the elevators).
Free parking.

Cons:
No all day coffee service.
Gym is tiny (2 bikes, 2 treadmills, and an elliptical).

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HHSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2009

I stayed at this hotel with a group of four friends for our annual reunion. The service and room were excellent. We especially enjoyed the complementary breakfast which had a lot of variety with eggs, sausage or bacon, rolls, and different selections of another hot breakfast item. The manager's reception also had a variety each night and was ample for four older ladies' dinner. We never used the kitchen but it was well stocked with nice dishes, utensils and cookware. We will definitely come back if we are in this area again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorendi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2009

The Hyatt Summerfield Suites is right off the highway. Check-in was easy and the rooms have the perfect little kitchens. We were going to go downtown for dinner, but after the drive down from Dallas, we decided to pick up some food at the Whole Foods market down the street and chill in the hotel room. The kitchen pretty has everything you need. My only near-complaint about this hotel would be that the ceiling height seems very low and at times this felt a tad suffocating. Otherwise, the Hyatt is clean and I would defnitely recommend it.

  • Liked — Easy access to highway, plus Whole Foods market within walking distance, great kitchen.
  • Disliked — Ceiling height
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aurore_george
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed December 28, 2008

We stayed here for Thanksgiving holidays to enjoy time with my family in Austin and not be a burden to them. I stayed with my teenage daughter and got my elderly parents a second room. We had lots of space and the full kitchen was very nice since we stayed several days and had lots of the family coming in and out visiting. Visitors had plenty of space to sit and the kids had lots of room to play. Beds were very comfortable and we even had a walk in closet so we could put everything away when visitors were there. The breakfast was just average and being a holiday and with UT football game in town, was very crowded. But the staff was super about getting more food out quickly and requests for specific items. The small convenience store behind the front desk also came in handy for late night snacks for my daughter. We will definitely stay here again when visiting family.

  • Liked — Cleanliness; friendly helpful staff; location; space
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RabidUTfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
141 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2008

The staff here was "over the top" helpful to me and my family members. The housekeeping was some of the best I have ever seen at Hyatt. All of the germ hot spots in the room were wiped down: toilet seats, phones, remote controls, door handles. The rooms even smelled fresh and clean. The suites have a kitchens with a full compliment of dishes, pots, pans and utensils. I couldn't find a single water spot or towel lint on anything.

The complementary breakfast was very good. My only complaint was that the juice glasses were dirty on the morning of 12.8.2008 -- all of them. They obviously had a dish washer issue at the time. The juice glasses looked dirty and smelled like old dishwater. That little problem not withstanding, this property represents exceptional value!

  • Liked — Outstanding housekeeping
  • Disliked — Internet service both wireless and ethernet is pretty slow
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Balad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Northwest Austin
Hampton Inn Austin - Arboretum Northwest
Northwest Austin
Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin-Arboretum / NW
Northwest Austin
Lone Star Court
Lone Star Court
#6 of 203 in Austin
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Austin
Home2 Suites by Hilton Austin North/Near the Domain
Northwest Austin
Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin Arboretum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house Austin / Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Austin / Arboretum

Property: HYATT house Austin / Arboretum
Address: 10001 N Capital of Texas Hwy, Austin, TX 78759 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites Austin / Arboretum)
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > Northwest Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Austin
#15 Green Hotel in Austin
#17 Best Value Hotel in Austin
#27 Business Hotel in Austin
#47 Romantic Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Austin / Arboretum 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt house Austin/Arboretum has been renovated! Located in the upscale Arboretum area of North Austin, our new hotel features pet-friendly suites with all the comforts of home. You'll love our free perks including superfast WiFi, Morning Spread(R) breakfast with made-your-way omelet bar and weekday shuttle making stops within a 5 mile radius. In addition to the Arboretum shops, several other shopping centers are nearby including the Simon(R) Domain Mall, The Gateway Mall, Lakeline Mall, and Highland and Barton Creek Square Mall. We're also just 10 miles from buzzing downtown Austin. For the business traveler, our northwest Austin location is conveniently located near the JJ Pickle UT Research Center, IBM and Apple. After your busy day in Austin, come back and relax in your suite equipped with a full kitchen, separate living area with sofa and flat-screen TV. Mingle with your neighbors at our new H Bar serving hand-crafted cocktails, yummy dinner menu and even cupcakes. We've also got an outdoor pool and 24-hour fitness center so you can keep your routine rolling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your HYATT house Austin / Arboretum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Austin / Arboretum Hotel Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing