We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
HYATT house Austin / Arboretum
Ranked #27 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fine Place to Stay”
Reviewed May 17, 2012

No complaints. Hotel is easy to find on Mopac, and easy enough to get to (start up the hill, then u-turn). Buildings are in good shape. The faintest smell of smoke from previous incarnations of this hotel still lingers in a few places. Room was excellent size; great use of space with bookcase and spinning TV making half-wall to separate living area from "bedroom". Love the full kitchen; that's a great touch for anyone looking for more than just a bed for a few hours. The breakfast was *extremely* popular on a Saturday morning, so it could use a little more attention for replenishing the hot food items.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank runningboy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian L, General Manager at HYATT house Austin / Arboretum, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to complete an online review of the hotel. I understand your time is valuable and we appreciate it. I wish you a great 2012 and look forward to your return.

Thanks,

Brian Long
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    186
    73
    21
    17
See reviews for
234
113
43
244
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey, USA
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Excellent service - e.g., coffee and fruit are available all day, but when they were gone, the receptionist no only refilled the food but offered to have it delivered to our room in another building. Breakfast is only available until 9:00 AM during the week - arrive by 8:30 AM to ensure variety of food and dinnerware are still available.

Room numbers are very similar in the different buildings so it would be helpful to have signage indicating which rooms are in which buildings. The laundry is not in the main building so directions would be helpful.

The room contents were not "brand new", but new enough for the value. However, we had a discount due to a family reunion so this probably affected our opinion.

Bottom line: We would certainly recommend the Hyatt as a moderately priced residence, especially if the location is helpful for your stay.

Room Tip: Choose top floor away from the elevator if noise is a problem (true for any residence). First floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyLondonfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian L, General Manager at HYATT house Austin / Arboretum, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to complete a online review. We encourage all feedback good and bad so we can improve for each experience. I wish you a great 2012 and look forward to your return.

Brian Long
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
382 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Over the last 10 years (in its re-incarnation as Bradford Suites, Summerfield Suites, and now Hyatt House) I have stayed at this property at least 20 times. The management has worked hard since Hyatt change (Summerfield) to update the rooms and improve the experience. They have done an excellent job. The rooms have everything you need for an over night stay or an extended stay. Unlike most downmarket extended stay properties, this feels like a nice apartment. Great for a more "at home" experience and for families. up to date bedding and flat screen TV complete the "modern" feel. Breakfast is ok, fairly typical for a hotel. Pool and fitness rooms are good. Parking plentiful, free and convenient. Internet is good and free. The hallways and doors are somewhat worn and do need attention. Soundproofing is also a bit weak. However, overall it's a very convenient, comfortable place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onepoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian L, General Manager at HYATT house Austin / Arboretum, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Thank you so much for all the positive feedback. We are glad to hear that you see improvement. We encourage any additional feedbaclk good and bad and look forward to your return.

Brian Long
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoCal
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

the service is nice and I like the eco-friendly rooms. breakfast is a little light and the roach the size of my thumb scampering down the hall was a little un-nerving.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjfunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian L, General Manager at HYATT house Austin / Arboretum, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Good afternoon, I wanted to take the time and say thank you for responding to your recent visit at the HYATT house. I understand you had a few concerns and we are very apologetic. We will share your notes with the team to ensure we take a look for those areas in improvement.

Thanks again,

Brian Long
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Stayed at the Hyatt Arboretum for 5 days on a business trip to Austin. The rooms are spacious and clean, but feel quite old. The shower was dripping and even though I was two rooms away from the elevator I could hear each time when the door opened. I really don't know why there needs to be a bling sound in an hotel elevator. Extremely annoying!

Breakfast is ok, but nothing special. The free bar in the afternoon is a bit of a joke and I gave it during the whole stay a miss.

The hotel is by the way now called Hyatt House.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fere0010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hyatt Suites Arboretum in Austin on New Year's Eve. The hotel was pristine upon our arrival, and we were allowed an early check-in. I was skeptical that the hotel was north of downtown Austin, but in the end, it worked out perfectly. I paid a third of the price for a HUGE SUITE, and we enjoyed the amenities and surrounding restaurants and cinema.
While in Austin, we went to the Barton Springs Pool. This is A MUST for any visitor to Austin, and the fact that we woke up early New Year's Day to see a bunch of young, old, and in between folks running and jumping in to the freezing depths of the Barton Springs pool was an exciting and delicious way to begin a new year. The Zilker Park winds along the river and lake, and it just glorious with it's hiking trail, wide open spaces, and park features such as resting rock features and again, the Barton Springs Pool. Go to Austin. Visit the Hyatt, and don't pay too much.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iheartannarbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian L, General Manager at HYATT house Austin / Arboretum, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your visit to Austin in general. We appreciae the positive feedback on Austin,

Thanks Again,

Brian Long
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

My wife and I stayed at this hotel from 11/24 - 30 and could not have been happier. We checked-in late afternoon on Thanksgiving day the and the clerk at the fron deask could not have been more plesant. Check in was very smooth and she informed us about the free breakfast and weeknight social hours.

We had a nice 1 bedroom suite with a very nice kitchen. The sofa and chairs were very comforatble as was the bed. Morning breakfast vaired by day but they always had eggs potatoes and meat... along with juices, coffee, muffins, bagels and bread for toast. They also had fresh fruit, oatmeal and cereal. There was always plenty to eat. One day the attendent brought us out some bacon and appoligized that he had put out sausage 2 days in a row. He recognized us from the day before and that showed the attention to customer service the hotel has.

The whole stay was a pleasue and will return the next time we are in Austin

There were only 2 small things that I noted.

1. We were in building 1 on the secind floor street side and there is a bit of road noise... it do not prevent me from sleeping but may cause some lite sleepers issues.

2. The electrical plug under the window was "worn" out so plugs would not stay in. The power cord from my laptop would just fall out. It was not a huge deal and I just plugged in my computer elsewhere.

I hva no doubts that if I would have alreted the hotel about the plug they would have sent a maintenance man to fix it... that is just how good they were

Room Tip: The street side room do get a bit of road noise from Capital of TX Highway..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RonJac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyattssaustin, General Manager at HYATT house Austin / Arboretum, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
Thank you so much for the positive feedback and also noted are the things we shall repair. I greatly appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback on the hotel as well as give us things to think about moving forward. I hope you have a wonderful Christmas and a Happy New Year,

Sincerely,

Brian Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Northwest Austin
Hampton Inn Austin - Arboretum Northwest
Northwest Austin
Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin-Arboretum / NW
Northwest Austin
Home2 Suites by Hilton Austin North/Near the Domain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Austin
Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin Arboretum
Northwest Austin
Lone Star Court
Lone Star Court
#7 of 203 in Austin
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house Austin / Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Austin / Arboretum

Property: HYATT house Austin / Arboretum
Address: 10001 N Capital of Texas Hwy, Austin, TX 78759 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites Austin / Arboretum)
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > Northwest Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Austin
#16 Green Hotel in Austin
#27 Business Hotel in Austin
#47 Romantic Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Austin / Arboretum 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt house Austin/Arboretum has been renovated! Located in the upscale Arboretum area of North Austin, our new hotel features pet-friendly suites with all the comforts of home. You'll love our free perks including superfast WiFi, Morning Spread(R) breakfast with made-your-way omelet bar and weekday shuttle making stops within a 5 mile radius. In addition to the Arboretum shops, several other shopping centers are nearby including the Simon(R) Domain Mall, The Gateway Mall, Lakeline Mall, and Highland and Barton Creek Square Mall. We're also just 10 miles from buzzing downtown Austin. For the business traveler, our northwest Austin location is conveniently located near the JJ Pickle UT Research Center, IBM and Apple. After your busy day in Austin, come back and relax in your suite equipped with a full kitchen, separate living area with sofa and flat-screen TV. Mingle with your neighbors at our new H Bar serving hand-crafted cocktails, yummy dinner menu and even cupcakes. We've also got an outdoor pool and 24-hour fitness center so you can keep your routine rolling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Reservation Counter, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your HYATT house Austin / Arboretum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Austin / Arboretum Hotel Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing