We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice, good for an extended stay.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of HYATT house Austin / Arboretum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
HYATT house Austin / Arboretum
Ranked #21 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lansing, Mi
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very nice, good for an extended stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2011

This hotel is nice, and our room was just as pictured online. Pool was small, but well kept. Breakfast was not great, but decent, which is typical of "free" breakfast hotels.

We only stayed 3 nights, but it would be a great hotel for an extended stay as the rooms have great little kitchenettes, fully equipped with dishes, microwave, stove, and refrigerator.

The location of this hotel was decent for the price. We paid $85 a night and had to drive about 20 to get to downtown Austin. The cheapest hotel that wasn't a dump downtown was pretty much double that, so we thought the drive was fine. There are plenty of stores, and restaurants around the hotel, but mostly chain stuff, so if you want to experience local food and shopping you'll have to venture out. However, "Baby Acupulco's" is a great restaurant around the corner with live music a great food.

We would stay here again.....

Room Tip: All rooms at this hotel are suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabetham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyattssaustin, General Manager at HYATT house Austin / Arboretum, responded to this review, May 12, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I wanted to see if I could get anything particular that you could reccomend we do better with breakfast as we are always looking for ways to improve? Thanks again and I hope we see you again real soon,

Sincerely,

Brian Long
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    175
    68
    19
    13
See reviews for
218
103
38
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2011

This is an older hotel that while still very nice, is kind of starting to show it's age. I was put in a handicapped suite. The shower pressure was pitiful, but other than that, I really enjoyed it. The room was very quiet, the kitchen very functional, and the bed extremely comfortable! The TV was not as nice as some other Hyatts I've stayed at, but it was OK.

The Internet connectivity was very fast!

I didn't use it, but there is a small pool here. Looked pretty nice from what I saw.
Overall, you can't go wrong with this hotel, just check your shower pressure when you first get in the room.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frekwentflier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt1234, Manager at HYATT house Austin / Arboretum, responded to this review, March 31, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are certainly glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2011

Very very clean rooms. No hair or dirt anywhere. Had a full kitchen, nice tv, dvd player (don't see these very often) and was just very clean. Had a breakfast buffet each morning and a dinner buffett in the evening. Good value for the money. Only complaint is that you can hear doors shutting at night, but this is very common.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fastdog22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt1234, General Manager at HYATT house Austin / Arboretum, responded to this review, March 31, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are certainly glad you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

I enjoyed my stay here. The kitchen is better stocked with pots, pans, utensils, glasses,etc than most places. Everything was clean and comfortable. The bed was really great, as it usually is at all Hyatt places. Having the bedroom separated from the rest of the room turned out to be very handy, as my friend and his wife needed a place to stay one night, so I gave them the bedroom so that they could have privacy. It's conveniently located with TONS of shopping all around, and there is a great Whole Foods just down the road. I picked up food there several times and used the kitchen to make meals. Staff was helpful.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KManTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
104 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2010

I just got back from staying at this hotel only to come home, thinking I had a rash from the detergent at the hotel when my wife informed me I had bed bug bites all up and down my arms and on my shoulders. I am completely disgusted. Not only that I had things crawling and feeding on me while I slept, but Hyatt still hasn't responded to my concern when I emailed them 3 days ago. I know hotels can't help who stays there and if that person brings bugs along with them, but they can employ good cleaning techniques to make sure they aren't hiding under the mattresses.

Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank PrabhuTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt1234, General Manager at HYATT house Austin / Arboretum, responded to this review, March 31, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment about our hotel. We are so sorry for any inconveniences you experienced while staying with us but please know we’ve been working very hard to ensure that every cutomer leaves satisfied. I apologize for no response as I am the new General Manager and would love to hear from you.

Sincerely,

Brian Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2010

My husband and 10 year old stayed at this hotel the weekend of the 4th of July. The staff was amazing, from the front desk to the staff out on the grounds. It was very clean, and well maintained. The beds (as in most Hyatt's we have stayed in) were very comfy. Our 10 year old slept on the pull out couch and said it was very comfy...as evidenced by her sleeping very late each morning!

The breakfast provided had plenty of variety each day from breakfast meats & eggs to waffles, french toast, bagels, english muffins, toast, fruit, cereal, etc.

The kitchen was well stocked with all one would need to prepare meals if you chose to.

Previous reviewers complained about the pool size. This is not a resort, but more of an extended stay type of accommodation. The pool is not resort size, but we felt even on a long holiday weekend met the needs of the guests.

There is plenty of shopping of all varieties close by. Although I wouldn't recommend walking to most, you can walk to a nearby Whole Foods as well as some restarants and small shops if you are up to a short walk on a busy street.

We absolutely would (and probably will) stay at this Summerfield again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MzPrissAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2010

nice cozy suites for single/couples traveling for long durations.. nice small kitchen with all the basic amenities.. less options in breakfast but provides snacks in evening as well.. pool is for kids.. free wifi is added advantage..

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank forpriyank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Northwest Austin
Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin-Arboretum / NW
Northwest Austin
Hampton Inn Austin - Arboretum Northwest
Northwest Austin
Home2 Suites by Hilton Austin North/Near the Domain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Austin
Lone Star Court
Lone Star Court
#7 of 197 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
Northwest Austin
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Austin NW - Arboretum Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house Austin / Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Austin / Arboretum

Property: HYATT house Austin / Arboretum
Address: 10001 N Capital of Texas Hwy, Austin, TX 78759 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites Austin / Arboretum)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > Northwest Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Austin
#15 Best Value Hotel in Austin
#16 Green Hotel in Austin
#27 Business Hotel in Austin
#47 Romantic Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Austin / Arboretum 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt house Austin/Arboretum has been renovated! Located in the upscale Arboretum area of North Austin, our new hotel features pet-friendly suites with all the comforts of home. You'll love our free perks including superfast WiFi, Morning Spread(R) breakfast with made-your-way omelet bar and weekday shuttle making stops within a 5 mile radius. In addition to the Arboretum shops, several other shopping centers are nearby including the Simon(R) Domain Mall, The Gateway Mall, Lakeline Mall, and Highland and Barton Creek Square Mall. We're also just 10 miles from buzzing downtown Austin. For the business traveler, our northwest Austin location is conveniently located near the JJ Pickle UT Research Center, IBM and Apple. After your busy day in Austin, come back and relax in your suite equipped with a full kitchen, separate living area with sofa and flat-screen TV. Mingle with your neighbors at our new H Bar serving hand-crafted cocktails, yummy dinner menu and even cupcakes. We've also got an outdoor pool and 24-hour fitness center so you can keep your routine rolling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your HYATT house Austin / Arboretum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Austin / Arboretum Hotel Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing