We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complete disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Roli's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #21 of 35 Austin B&B and Inns
austin, tx
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Complete disappointment”
Reviewed April 14, 2009

I have never written a negative review of a hotel or B&B, until now. I couldn't have possibly endured a night's stay at this B&B. I made a reservation based on the pictures on the website - what a mistake! Upon entering the Yellow Room there was a giant stain on the carpet and the room reeked of strong air freshener. While I know that the view of the low-level LakeTravis cannot be controlled, the room was overall very depressing. A cheap-looking bed and linens, ugly mini-blinds and exposed wire shelving as a make-shift closet all contributed to the low-end, dirty hotel room feel. I left immediately and asked for a refund, but the owner felt that I didn't deserve one since I didn't stay the night. Why would I wait 24 hours to tell him I wasn't satisfied when I wasn't satisfied immediately? I would NOT recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gizm0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    7
    3
    3
    6
See reviews for
1
22
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2009

We had a wonderful "retreat" at this Bed and Breakfast. I had stayed there for the night of my honeymoon and had had such a wonderful experience, I recommended it to my girlfriends when we were looking for a place to have our weekend get-a-way. The owner was very accomodating. We were given the run of the house and we had a chat session in the living room area, drinks out on the deck, morning coffee outside, etc. Everything was excellent. We even got up for a morning walk around the lake and I chilled in the sauna when we got back. The owner turned on music and let us play our own personal cds when we were in the jacuzzi. We had planned to go out down town, but decided to stay in, because we were having such a good time. I love this place! I have recommended it to all of my friends. We are actually planning another get-a-way and we are definetly going back to this place...soon. I had a very pleasant experience and would not have changed a thing!

  • Liked — The room was beautiful and it was made to acommodate a large group of women.
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank sritcherson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discobulldog
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2008

WARNING!!! WARNING!!! WARNING!!!

Dear Friends,

After traveling many hours to join our friends at a gathering to celebrate Labor Day Weekend at Lake Travis in Austin, TX , we were SHOCKED and DISAPPOINTED!!!

Rolisbb.com promotes itself as "a very elegant", "relaxed", "hip" and chic upscale Bed and Breakfast. WE DIDN'T FIND THAT WE WERE WELCOMED AS OLD FRIENDS....WE WERE WELCOMED WITH DOZENS OF STINKING SHOES IN A $200.00 a Night Bedroom. Owner "Rolando" uses his underage daughter to man the phones and handle reservations. After arriving we were invited to stay in "Rolando"'s master bedroom.

We were disgusted to find that this was literally someone's living quarters. Personal items of daily use were everywhere! Clothing of every sort! THE WORST WAS AN UNBELIEVABLE ARAY OF DISGUSTING STINKING SHOES....WELL OVER A DOZEN PAIR.

We had cancelled a reservation at Austin's Barton Creek...which was a huge mistake...to stay on the lake. Don't make the same mistake!!!

WE WERE COMPLETELY DECEIVED!!!! AND ON A HOLIDAY WEEKEND WITH A HOME GAME IN TOWN FOR THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS.

WE LEFT IMMEDIATELY...WILLING TO GO HOME RATHER THAN STAY THERE!!!

rolis bed and breakfast IS DISGUSTING!!!

PHOTO'S TO FOLLOW!!!

we are an honest young couple. not overly angry...just disgusted!

  • Liked — Having enough self respect to LEAVE!
  • Disliked — Being Deceived!!!!!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Discobulldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rolisbb, Owner at Roli's Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 17, 2010
Management response from rolisbb, Manager/Owner
(Management representative)
Sep 29, 2008
Dear Travelers;

I beg to differ with the assessment and criticism this couple has made about Roli’s B&B. Prior to their arrival to Roli’s B&B, they negotiated a discount with my daughter Gisela, that although she looks like a teenager, she is not underage. She is a professional graduate from Texas A&M. Go Aggies!! Unfortunately for us, the gentleman that wrote this review has a serious temper problem. After he arrived to Roli’s B&B and went out to have drinks with his friends, he called us yelling all sorts of incoherent claims and shouting threats; it was obvious that he was extremely intoxicated. He tried to negotiate another discount, but we told him that that was not an option. He then decided to come to Roli’s B&B to pick up his bags. In the process he again yelled and threatened anyone that came across him in our property and wrote threatening and duty comments on the book that all of our guests have written very nice things about Roli’s B&B. His fiancée, from the safety of her car, watched everything he did at the B&B. After he was done with his yelling and threatening, his fiancée got out of her car and apologize to the lady that takes care of the B&B. She apologized to her for his abusive temper and attitude. We even had to report this ugly incident to the local authorities for the protection and safety of our guests and employees.
I invite you to visit us and check our B&B for yourselves.

-Rolando Osorio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Austin hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Austin
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin NW - Four Points
3.3 mi away
Residence Inn Austin Lake Austin / River Place
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lakeway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Lakeway Resort and Spa
1.9 mi away
La Villa Vista
La Villa Vista
#9 of 35 in Austin
193 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Cove BNB
The Cove BNB
#4 of 36 in Austin
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roli's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roli's Bed and Breakfast

Property: Roli's Bed and Breakfast
Address: 13608 Bullick Hollow Rd, Lake Travis, Austin, TX
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Austin
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit today your NON-Traditional B&B!! Roli's is a very elegant five-room bed & breakfast that offers a relaxed and hip alternative style. At Roli's Bed & Breakfast, you'll step into a relaxed, comfortable retreat where you'll feel as welcome as an old friend. Roli's Bed & Breakfast is ideal for romantic getaways, business travelers, and leisure travelers. We are located thirty minutes NW from downtown Austin, Texas. Enjoy the peacefulness of Lake Travis in Austin. Guest accommodations include a choice of a Loft on the top floor, three rooms on the second floor and one room at a country house located 100 feet from the main facilities. All with their own warmth and unique decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Roli's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing