We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel, Thoughtful Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel Austin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Austin
Ranked #8 of 196 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel, Thoughtful Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I have stayed at the Four Seasons Hotel in Austin many times and have really enjoyed it. The rooms are nice, but don't have any amazing finishing touches except for very comfortable beds. The staff is very good about honoring special occasions with a little something extra, and they even brought my then 4-year-old niece a tiny robe and slippers and a warm cookie for her to decorate and eat.

The lounge downstairs has great cocktails and live music, and the back patio is a wonderful place to sip a drink and sit in the greenery. Also, though the Sunday brunch is expensive, it is AMAZING. There are so many options of not only breakfast food, but sushi, seafood, you name it. Absolutely delicious!

Room Tip: The rooms that face Townlake are best. "City View" rooms are usually more readily availab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FloriDeLis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fsaustin, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Austin, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear JeuxNeurDeLis,

Thank you for such wonderful feedback on your recent stay at Four Seasons Hotel Austin. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel beds and Lobby Lounge and that you received such personal, accommodating service during your stay-this is something we take great pride in. Brunch at TRIO continues to be a personal favorite of mine as well so I’m delighted to hear you enjoyed it so much! I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Austin again soon.

Sincerely,
Rob Hagelberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,104
    228
    114
    41
    6
See reviews for
267
335
56
599
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (509)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
287 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I stayed here for 5 days of meeting and business, and the staff could not have been more accommodating. The Governor's suite was perfect for the meeting I had as well as being a really beautiful suite. The restaurant was consistently good, especially the dinner I hep in the main dining room. Thank you to the chef! A very courteous and professional concierge staff helped make my stay very successful, as well as the concern and help of the front desk manager.
This is the most upscale hotel in Austin with an amazingly professional staff. I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Any room with view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterMmetroNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fsaustin, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Austin, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear PeterMmertoNY,

It gives me great pleasure to read a review such as your own, thank you for taking the time to write. Our staff prides themselves on being personable and helpful in every way possible, so I’m delighted to hear our Concierge, Front Desk and TRIO teams left such a favorable impression. I will be sure to pass along your compliments to Chef Prambs! Whether for business or pleasure, we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Sincerely,
Rob Hagelberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Rooms are dated. Old brown tiles in bathroom looks like it's from the 70's...
Cheap old iphone docks... mine didn't even work... this would be for a Sheraton or Marroitt... For a four seasons at $500 a night rack rate, Not OK..
Not up to par with other four seasons / Ritz's...
Service was very good as expected but not exceptional... Sheets and bed were top notch.

Room Tip: River View is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveH-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fsaustin, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Austin, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dave,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay. I was pleased to hear you were impressed with our location, sheets and bedding and that you received great service during your visit.
I was, however, sorry to read that our bathrooms and guest rooms were not up to your standards. I'm excited to share that we've just received final approval to update these spaces in 2014, which will address both of the issues you mentioned.
I sincerely hope you will give us another chance and return next year to experience first-hand the many improvements in the works.
Sincerely,
Rob Hagelberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights for a girls trip. The location on the water was beautiful and
the grounds were well kept. The staff was wonderful! The room was very clean and spacious with a beautiful view of the water. The food was very good for breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fsaustin, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Austin, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Sharon,

Thank you for such lovely feedback on your recent stay at Four Seasons Hotel Austin. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel location and views that you received such accommodating service during your stay-this is something we strive to provide for our guests. Whether for another girl’s trip or simply to get away for a weekend, I hope we'll have the opportunity to welcome you back to Austin again soon.

Sincerely,
Rob Hagelberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
155 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

If you want to be in the middle of the action in Austin, this is the place. Situated on a tree-filled location that slopes down to Town Lake, there is no better place than the Four Seasons to experience the electric vibes of Austin.

Ask for a high room overlooking the lake, but the ones on the other side that look north are good, too.

If one is so inclined, the lobby bar is a happening place; happy people of all ages meet there to laugh and to take in all that's swirling around them.

Though the lobby and bar are full of happy commotion, the rooms themselves are quiet, private and very comfortable.

Room Tip: High room overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boudin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fsaustin, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Austin, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear boudin,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at Four Seasons Hotel Austin. I’m delighted to hear you found our location so accommodating and that your experience on property was an excellent one. We take pride in being a hubbub of activity within the Austin community so it’s wonderful to hear that you enjoyed all the action on property and in the Lobby Lounge during your stay. I hope you won’t wait too long to visit us again in the future!

Sincerely,
Rob Hagelberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We recently stayed for the weekend. The Four Seasons had been recommended by friends and it was great choice. The hotel has a great location on the lake and perfect downtown spot to walk to all hot spots. The staff was incredible from the minute we arrived. The hotel had a great buzz of activity. Had dinner at Trio sitting on the terrace was a beautiful setting. Food was great. We can't wait to come back. Tip- get a lake view room it is worth it. View is great. Spa is awesome- make time for a massage

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MEaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fsaustin, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Austin, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear MEaton,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review! I’m thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and received such helpful service from our staff. The TRIO terrace is one of my favorite spots in entire hotel, so I empathize with your experience there. I hope you will visit us again soon; we look forward to having you.

Sincerely,

Rob Hagelberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Hotel was beautiful. Maid service was awesome, room was very clean. Lady who checked me out had a bit of an attitude. Smokin Tuesday was great but poor service and bar manager could care less. Was charged for things that were supposed to be comped. Overall, awesome experience. Just pay attention to your charges.

Room Tip: Higher Floor and Lake View Suite are the best. Beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 43327Morgana1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fsaustin, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Austin, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear 43327Morgana1,
I apologize for the delay in addressing your review of your November stay at Four Seasons Hotel Austin, but wanted to be sure to thank you for the positive comments about our maid service, rooms and view. I will also be sharing your compliments with our Director of Housekeeping so that she may commend her team.
I was, however, disappointed to hear about your experience at check-out and Smokin' Tuesdays, not to mention concerned about the charges you felt were incorrect.
Please feel free to contact me using the information below if you are open to providing more details in hopes of resolving any inaccurate charges.
Sincerely,
Rob Hagelberg
General Manager
(512) 685-8035
rob.hagelberg@fourseasons.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#14 of 196 in Austin
4.5 of 5 stars 877 reviews
0.3 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#16 of 196 in Austin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,080 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#21 of 196 in Austin
4.0 of 5 stars 1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.3 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#24 of 196 in Austin
4.0 of 5 stars 1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Austin

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Austin
Address: 98 San Jacinto Blvd, Austin, TX 78701-4039
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Austin
#3 Business Hotel in Austin
#3 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#8 Family Hotel in Austin
#10 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#13 Green Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Austin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Four Seasons Hotel Austin, luxurious accommodations and superb amenities are underlined by gracious Texas hospitality and five-star service. Centrally located in the heart of downtown Austin, perched on the shores of Lady Bird Lake and surrounded by lush gardens, the resort-like Hotel provides a convenient base for those looking to experience all the city has to offer, from upscale shopping on 2nd Street and dining on South Congress to sightseeing and outdoor pursuits on the adjacent Lady Bird Lake Hike & Bike Trail. A combination of comfort and elegance, the Hotel's 291 guest rooms - including 28 suites - offer views of either the lake or Austin's vibrant downtown cityscape. Services such as twice-daily housekeeping, in-room dining, dry cleaning and laundry and a 24-hour Concierge ensure guests enjoy a stress-free and productive stay. Diners savor prime steaks, fresh seafood and a world-class wine list in TRIO, the Hotel's award-winning modern steakhouse, featuring a chic dining room as well as unparalleled al fresco dining on the restaurant's lakeview terrace. Known locally as "Austin's Living Room," the Lobby Lounge offers guests a convenient spot to gather with friends for beer, wine, signature cocktails and light fare, or a post-dinner nightcap complete with live music, which is offered several nights a week. Guests seeking relaxation and rejuvenation can spend the day in the outdoor saltwater pool, working out in the 24-hour Fitness Center or relaxing with a soothing massage, body treatment or facial in The Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Austin
Four Seasons Austin
Austin Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing