We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Seasons Hotel Austin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Austin
Ranked #10 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dover, Delaware
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

It made our stay in Austin more delightful. Our room was spacious with a view of Lady Bird Lake and the trail...Beautiful!!!
The service was exceptional and genuinely friendly. The hotel location was convenient to downtown.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fsaustin, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Austin, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Cynthia,

Thank you for taking a moment to write a review about your experience at Four Seasons Hotel Austin. I’m delighted to hear our service and accommodations made your trip to Austin a memorable one. I hope you won’t wait too long to visit us again in the future!

Sincerely,
Rob Hagelberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,222
    252
    124
    43
    10
See reviews for
285
363
63
682
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (556)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
144 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

This property is at the low end of the four seasons brand and really disapointing. The exterior of the building looks more like a travelodge from the 80s than a 5 star property in 2013. The lobby and bar areas are nice but not spectacular in any way. The rooms are rather small and not distinguishable from any Marriott or Hilton room.

The bathroom is three star at best. It is small and has an awkward shower/tub combination that is just odd.

The whole property is in dire need of an update. Or a better option would be to replace the property with one that would be better suited to compete against the W in town or the new J W Marriott that is under construction.

The staff is nice and professional as you would expect from the four seasons.

Room Tip: Request a room on high floor with a balcony if you can't get a room at the W.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank frogbog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fsaustin, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Austin, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear frogbog,
Thank you for posting your review regarding your recent stay at Four Seasons Hotel Austin. I appreciate your kind accolades regarding our staff as we pride ourselves on providing exceptional service.

Your feedback regarding our physical property is also appreciated and I am pleased to inform you that we're working diligently with our owners and a team of designers to finalize the freshening up of our guestrooms - with a significant focus placed on our bathrooms. I hope that you will have the opportunity to return to Austin in the future to enjoy the fruits of our labor.

Should you have any additional comments that you would like to share, it would be my pleasure to speak with you personally.

Sincerely,
Rob Hagelberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

If you are looking for an unforgettable experience, you must stay at the Four Seasons Austin. It is without a doubt the best hotel in Austin. From the moment we arrived, we were treated like royalty. The staff is what truly makes this hotel shine. They do not consider great service to just be a part of their job, but they each make it a personal priority to make sure you have a fabulous time. The staff goes above and beyond to not only accommodate you, but to exceed your expectations. They love to know why you are visiting the hotel, and they take it upon themselves to celebrate the occassion with you in a memorable way. I love visiting this hotel and always feel rejuventated when I leave. Marlon Davis, Lauren Vosbein and their respective teams are doing an extraordinary job of making guests feel special.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the lake at the time of booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fsaustin, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Austin, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Lisa,

It gives me great pleasure to read a review such as your own, thank you for taking the time to write. Our staff prides themselves on being personable and helpful in every way possible, so I’m delighted to hear they continue to exceed your expectations. It’s always appreciated when guests send us positive feedback and I look forward to sharing your compliments with both Marlon and Lauren. To hear you enjoyed your time with us and felt so attended to throughout your stay has made my day! I hope we’ll have the pleasure of your company with us in Austin again soon.

Sincerely,
Rob Hagelberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

The Austin Four Seasons offers great views of the Colorado River, access to miles of jogging trails and is within sight of the daily "Bat Flight" from Congress Street Bridge. Within walking distance of the Convention Center, 6th Street and many restaurants, it is very convenient. The staff is polite and accommodating; and, everywhere. Porch dining overlooking the river is relaxing, the Sunday Brunch was deliciously tremendous. The bar was lively with conversation and greetings each night. We saw several wedding parties that graced the hotel with a simple elegance that reminded you that you were someplace special.

Room Tip: Face the River! Elevators are fast so stay on the top floors for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fsaustin, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Austin, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Coke B,

Thank you for such wonderful feedback on your recent stay at Four Seasons Hotel Austin. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel grounds and location and that you received such accommodating service during your stay-this is something we strive to provide for our guests. Brunch at TRIO continues to be a personal favorite of mine as well; I’m delighted you enjoyed it! Hopefully, we'll have the opportunity to welcome you back to Austin again soon.

Sincerely,
Rob Hagelberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

This hotel is absolutely gorgeous and the restaurant TRIO is fabulous. Fantastic food and wonderful service. The view out of TRIO is also wonderful. Makes it for a very enjoyable dining experience. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TXI0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fsaustin, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Austin, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear TXI0,

Thank you for your kind review; we truly appreciate every bit of feedback from our guests. I’m delighted you enjoyed your TRIO experience so much and the views from the patio- they are some of my favorites as well! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
Rob Hagelberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

I have stayed at many Four Seasons hotels, and, truly, Austin's staff is the very best of all of them. The Concierge and Trio staff were simply amazing, and I can't say enough good about them. Little things make a difference, and the concierge team worked hard to help me find a sombrero for my disabled son back in NJ.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BethRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fsaustin, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Austin, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear BethRG,

It gives me great pleasure to read a review such as your own, thank you for taking the time to write. Our staff prides themselves on being personable and helpful in every way possible, so I’m delighted to hear our Concierge and TRIO teams left such a favorable impression. I will be sure to pass along your compliments-I hope your son is enjoying his sombrero!- and I hope we will have the pleasure of your visit again in the near future!

Sincerely,
Rob Hagelberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

I had the opportunity to attend a meeting held in the private room off the side of TRIO (the hotel restaurant) and enjoyed my visit.

Like the other Four Seasons Hotels I've been to, parking is valet only so don't try to park the car yourself. The food was good for meeting food, but not some of the best restaurant food in Austin (but it should be noted that Austin's food scene ranges from world class down to horrific and TRIO is definitely in the upper quadrant of the restaurants). The food has definitely improved from the last time I dined there (about 4 years before), but still has a ways to go as far as fine dining goes. Again, the appetizers and small plates served during our meeting were amazing for meeting food, but not necessarily something that I would feel would be amazing food had I been ordering it as part of my dinner.

The room had large opaque glass sliding doors which blocked exterior noise effectively and the table was a large beautiful wood table that would work well as a banquet table as it did as a meeting surface to gather around with food and paperwork. At one end of the room was a flat screen TV which we utilized by hooking a laptop up to the AV connects and worked through a presentation as well as viewing some internet videos.

Service slipped in and out of the room (those large heavy glass doors slide soundlessly) and provided discrete and comfortable service. My favorite thing about Four Seasons is the blend of elegance yet unpretentiousness that their staff seems to be trained to have and the staff members I interacted with on this visit seemed to take that to heart making us feel welcome (lots of "hellos", "thank yous", and smiles) but still comfortable.

Since I live in Austin, I have not found the opportunity to stay at the Four Seasons, but we will definitely consider it as an option for a staycation in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mhchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fsaustin, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Austin, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear mhchu,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at Four Seasons Hotel Austin. I’m thrilled to hear you found the TRIO Private Dining Room a recommendable location for your business meeting and that the attention and service of our staff helped make it a successful experience. I always appreciate when guests send us feedback regarding their time on property, so I look forward to sharing your comments with the staff. Whether for business or pleasure, I hope you’ll visit the hotel again soon!

Sincerely,
Rob Hagelberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#15 of 197 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
0.3 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#19 of 197 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#28 of 197 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,818 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Austin Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Austin

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Austin
Address: 98 San Jacinto Blvd, Austin, TX 78701-4082
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Austin
#3 Business Hotel in Austin
#4 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#8 Family Hotel in Austin
#10 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#13 Green Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Austin 5*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Four Seasons Hotel Austin, luxurious accommodations and superb amenities are underlined by gracious Texas hospitality and five-star service. Centrally located in the heart of downtown Austin, perched on the shores of Lady Bird Lake and surrounded by lush gardens, the resort-like Hotel provides a convenient base for those looking to experience all the city has to offer, from upscale shopping on 2nd Street and dining on South Congress to sightseeing and outdoor pursuits on the adjacent Lady Bird Lake Hike & Bike Trail. A combination of comfort and elegance, the Hotel's 291 guest rooms - including 28 suites - offer views of either the lake or Austin's vibrant downtown cityscape. Services such as twice-daily housekeeping, in-room dining, dry cleaning and laundry and a 24-hour Concierge ensure guests enjoy a stress-free and productive stay. Diners savor prime steaks, fresh seafood and a world-class wine list in TRIO, the Hotel's award-winning modern steakhouse, featuring a chic dining room as well as unparalleled al fresco dining on the restaurant's lakeview terrace. Known locally as "Austin's Living Room," the Lobby Lounge offers guests a convenient spot to gather with friends for beer, wine, signature cocktails and light fare, or a post-dinner nightcap complete with live music, which is offered several nights a week. Guests seeking relaxation and rejuvenation can spend the day in the outdoor saltwater pool, working out in the 24-hour Fitness Center or relaxing with a soothing massage, body treatment or facial in The Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Austin
Four Seasons Austin
Austin Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing