We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good services”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Austin
Ranked #9 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Southern california
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Great location, good services”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

If you are going to be weekending in Austin and want to splurge, the Four Seasons gives you a perfect location to use as a springboard. The property is a bit aged in terms of decor. All of the essentials are in place though, in typical Four Seasons style. If you enjoy running or walking, you can access Austin's fine waterfront trail system right out back. That is a world class playground at your doorstep. Cocktails can also be taken out on the lawn out back, although there is no service off the patio. The staff were very helpful. We did not eat on property to I can't speak to the food. The Four Seasons Austin isn't flashy, but it's solid and steady and if you have limited time and want to experience Austin, this is a great place to start.

Room Tip: If you want to enjoy the river view, you must get room up a few floors. Ask when reserving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Socalicouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fsaustin, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Austin, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Socalicouple,

I’m delighted to hear your recent stay with us at Four Seasons Hotel Austin was a memorable one, thank you for taking the time to post your review. Being located on the banks of Lady Bird Lake is one of the wonderful features we get to share with our guests and having the jogging trail just outside our door is one of my personal favorites. I’m glad you enjoyed. Whether for business or pleasure, I hope you’ll visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
Rob Hagelberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,324
    270
    133
    46
    13
See reviews for
305
386
65
761
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Seriously, the staff was amazing. The bed, OH MY DEAR GOD, the bed! Amazing.

When we ordered room service in the morning, the girl also brought us Prosecco and Orange juice, with Chocolate Dipped Strawberries on a plate that read, "Congratulations" (we were married the night before)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaATX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fsaustin, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Austin, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Amanda,

Congratulations on your recent marriage! I’m delighted to learn we played host to such a memorable weekend, and that you enjoyed the small touches we strive to provide through our service. I look forward to sharing your comments with the staff and hope we will see you again in the future-maybe for an anniversary?

Sincerely,
Rob Hagelberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I've had a long running working relationship with Four Seasons Austin since 2008 when I was introduced to Jasper Neath, their Sr. Sales Manager who oversees all Four Seasons Austin corporate clients. I've placed many senior executives who visit Austin here, who rave about the hotel and it's downtown proximity to the 6th Street bar scene, the convention center (across the street!), Lady Bird Lake trail for running, and the general neighborhood - especially during SXSW. They have wonderful meeting and event facilities as well - staff, food and AV is top-notch. TRIO is excellent and a great place for business lunches and dinners. This review is overdue as I came here back in September of 2012 for a quick, personal weekend trip. The goal was to eat my way through Austin BBQ - or whatever I could pack in (literally) during a two night, two day stay. Jasper and the FS staff did not disappoint with wonderful restaurant recommendations, a generous room upgrade and overall making my stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: Hotel is generally pretty quiet but it certainly doesn't hurt to ask for the river view. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarinS600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fsaustin, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Austin, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Karin,

I’m so pleased to hear we helped make your stay at Four Seasons Hotel Austin another memorable one. Thank you for taking the time to share. It’s nice to know our service and location (not to mention our proximity to an endless supply of fabulous BBQ) continues to impress even our most seasoned travelers! I look forward to sharing your compliments with Jasper and hope we get to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Rob Hagelberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My wife and I needed a couple of nights away to celebrate our 20th Anniversary, without the time to travel afar, so we drove up I-35 to the Four Seasons.

Staff - The staff here is really very good and they are very well trained as we had the opportunity to observe. They were kind, courteous and attentive from the moment we arrived under the porte cochere to the time we left.

Trio - Upon arriving late, we hurried down to Trio to have a nice dinner. Mark, the sommelier is really super top notch, extremely knowledgeable, and, well, fun. Olivia, our server, was also just outstanding and the restaurant's ambience and furnishings are really nice. The food didn't quite live up to the rest, as our fish dish was decidely overcooked and the pork was very unevenly cooked. The presentation was very nice, but again, the food quality was not tops.

Lobby Bar - Loud. But very, very active if that's what you want. Live music was present both nights and it's a happening place. Bartenders and servers are very, very well trained. We watched as a new server shadowed an experienced server both nights, and it was intensive training.

Room - Our room was very nice, very clean and well appointed. It was nice and the only comment in the room would be that we couldn't get a thinner pillow, and their pillows are very big and very full. Also, we had requested a quiet room away from elevators, stairs, etc., and ended up across the hall from the ice machine and the housekeeping room (both of which have a formal door) and one door down from the elevator. The door to the housekeeping room is a normal looking room door (so normal it took us the full stay to figure it out), including a card key lockset. And it squeaked. Loudly. So, every time the staff came and went, which was a lot and beginning at about 8 am, it was a constant squeal/squeal/clunk. If you want to sleep in, well, don't bank on it.

Location - Perfect. That about says it all on that subject in our book.

So, nice place, but at $450/nt., we didn't see the real value.

Room Tip: Absolutely get a room as close to either end of the building (away from the ice machine and housekee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FORTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The Four Seasons Austin was amazing. The staff and overall hotel outlay made my trip extremely enjoyable. While I was there mainly for business I found the location easily accessible to Austin's night life.I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Both the river view and city views were amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fsaustin, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Austin, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Samuel,

Thank you for taking the time to share some feedback on your recent experience at Four Seasons Hotel Austin. Our staff takes great pride in ensuring that our guests feel welcomed and at home when on property so I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay. Whether for business or pleasure, I hope we’ll see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Rob Hagelberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We booked the Four Seasons for a Mother Daughter Sorority get together. We did a block of 100 rooms on Friday and Saturday night. We held a Style Show in the Ballroom Friday night for 380 people. The Four Seasons did the whole event and it was fabulous. They were incredible. The event was fabulous. They were there to help us with anything we needed. I have stayed their
many times as a normal hotel guest and was treated the same. Whether it was a small group or a large group they will do anything you ask. Always where I stay in Austin. Location right on Town Lake is so worth the price you pay. No other hotel in Austin is in such a premier location.

Room Tip: Again the Lake is gorgeous and if they have any lake views available, it is so worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cynthia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fsaustin, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Austin, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Cynthia,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at Four Seasons Hotel Austin. I’m thrilled to hear the attention and service of our staff helped make your sorority style show a successful one. Whether for another Mother-Daughter event or a simple weekend getaway, I hope you’ll visit the hotel again soon!

Sincerely,
Rob Hagelberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

This is an older property that needs some serious updating. Classic four seasons decor but just old and outdated feeling. The phone on the wall of our bathroom looked like it was straight from the 80s. Our second day there they were cleaning carpets to the room next door to us and it reeked of a strong smelling chemical. On top of it, we asked for a quiet room, yet the staff kept opening and closing the doors and bumping into the walls making loud thuds during the process of that. Not relaxing at all or quiet. I understand they need to do maintenance; however it was quite disturbing when you are trying to nap off all the BBQ you just ate at the salt lick. The pool was small and needed to be cleaned badly. Lots of floating bugs. It was colder outside (low 70s) so maybe it got neglected since not as many people were using it; however, we did and it was a lackluster experience. Not one staff interaction while being down there, which is a problem. The lobby seating was overrun with families with small children. We wanted to get a drink but the bar was tiny and full. We ended up going downstairs to trio since we didn't want to be around loud children and couldn't get a seat at the bar. That was fine, but I would have preferred another option in the hotel.

I love four seasons and have had great experiences yet this property wasn't stellar like other four seasons I've been to. The staff didn't get to know us or greet us by name. It was just blah.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fsaustin, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Austin, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear lolofosh0sh0,
Thank you for sharing a few details about your recent experience at Four Seasons Hotel Austin. I appreciate your feedback on the property and am pleased to advise you that we are currently in the design phases of a refresh that's anticipated to break ground this summer.

I was truly disappointed, however, to hear that our service was not up to par with your expectations as we pride ourselves on our staff and the personalized attention they provide. In particular, recognizing and getting to know our guests by name is something we usually excel at, so I will be following up personally to ensure this detail is given the importance it deserves going forward.

I would love the opportunity to welcome you back for a better experience based on your feedback. Please feel free to contact me directly if I may be of assistance now or in the future.

Sincerely,
Rob Hagelberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#15 of 202 in Austin
1,377 reviews
0.4 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#17 of 202 in Austin
1,195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#16 of 202 in Austin
2,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.5 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#27 of 202 in Austin
1,961 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
#18 of 202 in Austin
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Austin

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Austin
Address: 98 San Jacinto Blvd, Austin, TX 78701-4082
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Austin
#3 Business Hotel in Austin
#3 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#8 Family Hotel in Austin
#10 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#13 Green Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Austin 5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Four Seasons Hotel Austin, luxurious accommodations and superb amenities are underlined by gracious Texas hospitality and five-star service. Centrally located in the heart of downtown Austin, perched on the shores of Lady Bird Lake and surrounded by lush gardens, the resort-like Hotel provides a convenient base for those looking to experience all the city has to offer, from upscale shopping on 2nd Street and dining on South Congress to sightseeing and outdoor pursuits on the adjacent Lady Bird Lake Hike & Bike Trail. A combination of comfort and elegance, the Hotel's 294 guest rooms - including 33 suites - offer views of either the lake or Austin's vibrant downtown cityscape. Services such as twice-daily housekeeping, in-room dining, dry cleaning and laundry and a 24-hour Concierge ensure guests enjoy a stress-free and productive stay. Diners savor prime steaks, fresh seafood and a world-class wine list in TRIO, the Hotel's award-winning modern steakhouse, featuring a chic dining room as well as unparalleled al fresco dining on the restaurant's lakeview terrace. Known locally as "Austin's Living Room," the Lobby Lounge offers guests a convenient spot to gather with friends for beer, wine, signature cocktails and light fare, or a post-dinner nightcap complete with live music, which is offered several nights a week. Guests seeking relaxation and rejuvenation can spend the day in the outdoor saltwater pool, working out in the 24-hour Fitness Center or relaxing with a soothing massage, body treatment or facial in The Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Austin
Four Seasons Austin
Austin Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing