We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time for a refurb!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Austin
Ranked #9 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Time for a refurb!”
Reviewed February 2, 2012

We booked the Four Seasons for our visit to Austin as we figured that for the extra cash, we couldn't go wrong. We were wrong! While the lobby was very nice, our bedroom hadn't been updated since at least the 1990s and the view was not as nice as the one shown on the web site. (Even though we had a river view, there was some kind of industrial construction taking place off to the left.) It was definitely not the Four Seasons experience we were expecting. To be fair to them, when we complained, the hotel manager, Sara(h?), was very nice and offered to show us a suite but couldn't do so until the next day. We opted to check out and go to the nearby W hotel rather than wait around.

The reason we are giving it a 'poor' rating rather than 'average' is that given the relative cost of staying at the Four Seasons, the least they could do would be to have reasonably new rooms for their guests. Sorry, but for what you pay, there are much nicer options in Austin.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelling_30s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fsaustin, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Austin, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Travelling_30s,
I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor, even if I don't necessarily agree with your assessment of the condition of our property based on the fact we updated our rooms as recently as 2010. This enhancement included new soft goods (curtains, linens, etc.), artwork and decor such as granite-topped credenzas, flatscreen HD televisions and new bathroom fixtures. That said, it is unrealistic to believe our design aesthetic would appeal to every taste so I apologize that you didn't find it to your liking.

I am also sorry that the city's boat house construction project occurred during your visit and detracted from your stay. It's my understanding this project will be completed very soon, at which point we look forward to providing our guests with another recreational amenity within walking distance of the Hotel.

Thank you for your comments about Sarah; she is a wonderful asset to the Hotel and I will be sure to pass on your praise.

Sincerely,
Rob Hagelberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,295
    267
    133
    46
    11
See reviews for
300
379
65
744
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

If you are headed to Austin and looking for a hotel, look no further. The Four Seasons is a delight. The rooms are large, food is excellent, spa and gym are good quality for hotel, and the grounds are beautiful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back of the hotel with a view of the water, very pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capitola, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We have stayed at many of the top hotels in Austin. The Four Seasons simply is the best. The attention to detail, the cleanliness, the quiet and comfort of the room, the friendliness, the encouragement and care for children. Amazing.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ethan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlebury, Vermont
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Austin Four Seasons on a combination business/pleasure trip. Our room was generous, and our king bed deliciously comfortable. All the amenities and service were top-notch, but a couple of examples we particularly appreciated are the complimentary New York Times that appeared at our door early each morning, and the (also complimentary) espresso machine opposite the front desk (only before 9 AM though--best to rise early). The fitness center is clean and inviting, and in nice weather the hiking trail around Lady Bird Lake, just behind the hotel, is lovely.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stars4449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

A great place for an anniversary. Beautiful view of the lake. Pillow-top beds were outstanding. The bar is excellent with very attentive service. Staff is outstanding - from the genuine interest shown at check-in to, to the suggestion that it would be faster & cheaper to take a cab rather than valet our car at the hotel and again at the restaurant, to the offer of a bottle of water for the trip home as the valet returned our car, service was first and foremost. Expensive, but worth every dime.

Room Tip: If view is important, take the lake view. The "city view" looked to be limited and not v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gleno51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

We stayed at the Four Seasons in Austin this past weekend. The service was perfect, Four Seasons style. The rooms were small and average with very generic bathrooms. The linens and robes were superb and the concierge, Daisy, was wonderful. She helped us with dinner plans and a day out of the city with a car and driver. It is a nice location - within walking distance of all the Austin action, but not so close that you can hear it!!! I think this is the best Austin has to offer, but just not anything like the Four Seasons NYC - or any other new property.

Room Tip: Be sure and get a room with the lake view and balcony - much prettier than looking out on the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Egwalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

This was the 4th luxury hotel I've stayed in over the last 12 months, and it was the best. The Four Seasons was primarily distinquished by its level of service. Employees actually did remember my name and my preferences. My room, although not particulary distinctive, was comfortable with a wonderfully comfortable mattress and linens. The L'Occitane toiletries were great, the water pressure good and instantly hot. An electric tea kettle was promptly provided upon check-in. The location is walkable distance to most of Austin's downtown sites.
Two employees distinquished themselves: Tommy the conceirge and Jose a waiter at brunch. Tommy is delightful and knows Austin inside out. He is great at tailoring recommendations to guest preferences and has "connections" for those places that don't take reservations. His recommendations are obviously influenced by his own extensive travel.
Jose was professional, gracious and extremely accommodating during a delicious brunch. The weather turned from sunny and warm to cloudy and cold very quickly. He facilitated our transfer to a table inside and continued to check on us although our new table was not his responsibility.
Speaking of brunch, it is definitely worth the indulgence. Unlimited mimosas, seafood bar, salads, omlettes, pancakes as well as hot entrees such as smoked prime rib.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2eatMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#15 of 203 in Austin
1,314 reviews
0.4 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#18 of 203 in Austin
1,178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#17 of 203 in Austin
1,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.2 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
#19 of 203 in Austin
555 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#27 of 203 in Austin
1,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Austin

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Austin
Address: 98 San Jacinto Blvd, Austin, TX 78701-4082
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Austin
#3 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#3 Business Hotel in Austin
#8 Family Hotel in Austin
#10 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#12 Green Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Austin 5*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Four Seasons Hotel Austin, luxurious accommodations and superb amenities are underlined by gracious Texas hospitality and five-star service. Centrally located in the heart of downtown Austin, perched on the shores of Lady Bird Lake and surrounded by lush gardens, the resort-like Hotel provides a convenient base for those looking to experience all the city has to offer, from upscale shopping on 2nd Street and dining on South Congress to sightseeing and outdoor pursuits on the adjacent Lady Bird Lake Hike & Bike Trail. A combination of comfort and elegance, the Hotel's 291 guest rooms - including 28 suites - offer views of either the lake or Austin's vibrant downtown cityscape. Services such as twice-daily housekeeping, in-room dining, dry cleaning and laundry and a 24-hour Concierge ensure guests enjoy a stress-free and productive stay. Diners savor prime steaks, fresh seafood and a world-class wine list in TRIO, the Hotel's award-winning modern steakhouse, featuring a chic dining room as well as unparalleled al fresco dining on the restaurant's lakeview terrace. Known locally as "Austin's Living Room," the Lobby Lounge offers guests a convenient spot to gather with friends for beer, wine, signature cocktails and light fare, or a post-dinner nightcap complete with live music, which is offered several nights a week. Guests seeking relaxation and rejuvenation can spend the day in the outdoor saltwater pool, working out in the 24-hour Fitness Center or relaxing with a soothing massage, body treatment or facial in The Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Austin
Four Seasons Austin
Austin Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing