We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pizza, beer, and a movie”

Alamo Drafthouse South Lamar
Ranked #426 of 3,737 Restaurants in Austin
Neighborhood: South Austin
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: South Austin
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Pizza, beer, and a movie”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

It isn't gourmet fare but it is acceptable food. Raked seating provides perfect view of the screen. To one who watches the credits at the end of the movie I do decry the fact they turn on the lights practically before the credits start rolling.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Garth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    26
    10
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“007 and food heaven!”
Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

What a great idea, movie and food together at the cinema. Comfortable seats, good menu and great film. Very impressed would go again.

Helpful?
Thank The_1st_Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The only thing they got right was the movie”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

The other Alamo Drafthouse sites are just fine--it's the South Lamar venue that can't seem to get it right.
Party of 5. Ordered dinner for all of us. Drinks (just sodas) arrived. Dinner for 3 arrived. Dinner for the other 2 of us didn't come, and didn't come. Finally had to leave the movie to find our waitress. Couldn't find her. Someone else helped us. Turns out the other 2 meals weren't even made! Reorder with new waitperson. Food arrives 20 minutes before the end of the movie. One of the two dishes was wrong!!! My poor daughter ate it anyway. She was starving by that point.
My BLT was made with 2 heels of a loaf of bread. What restaurant uses the heels?!
My husband was so furious that he chose not to talk to management that night for fear of saying something ugly. He called them the next day. Management sent us two tickets (not 5) in apology for the troubles. The tickets were already expired. Geez!
Do not go to the South Lamar location!!!!!!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ccox8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
j98me2
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The food here is awful”
Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

I tried this for the first time yesterday and won't be back.

My burger was like a rock, but the bun was a soggy mess. It was also expensive. The queso tasted like it was secretly nacho cheese sauce from the taco bell down the street. They were out of several of the beers on the menu. This is more of a pain then a normal restraunt since you now have to try and come up with an alternative on the fly in the dark. It's hard to get a hold of a server though so you don't want them to leave either.

The facilities were old. Previous to this I had only been to Flix where the comfy chairs, slide out tables and little push button for ordering we're much better.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank j98me2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dinner & a movie...why yes!”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Dinner & a movie is the ultimate date night package...and Alamo delivers both under one roof. Easy.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank LynnYeldell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alamo Drafthouse South Lamar also viewed

 

Been to Alamo Drafthouse South Lamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing