We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ABC - Adams Best in Class!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Adams House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 36 Austin B&B and Inns
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“ABC - Adams Best in Class!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

I finally enjoyed the delights of Adams House. Over the years, UT football games, graduations, Austin City Limits music fest, SxSW, 5K races, Adams House has always been booked. I am glad to report, I finally made it to Adams House! I have stayed in almost all the B & B properties in Austin, and I enjoyed this one the most. The Innkeepers, Eric and Liz are very nice and make you feel like family. Bed and linens were comfortable. Eric cooked breakfast of mushroom quiche, fruit, homemade granola, and a jam filled popover, which was delicious. Just the right amount of sweetness, and melt in your mouth texture. I certainly hope to return soon!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaTravels_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamsHouseATX, Manager at Adams House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Hi Linda. Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We are so glad you were able to stay with us and we enjoyed having you here. What an honor to by your favorite Austin B&B! We would love to have you stay with us the next time you are back in Austin. Also- thank you so much for the darling Valentine's bag with delicious heart-shaped cookies. They were so good and you inspired us to make some that week for our guests as well. Take care and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    21
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
26
110
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

The Adams house is located in the Hyde Park area of Austin just to the north of the University of Texas. There are restaurants, a grocery store and cheese shops within easy walking distance. We enjoyed the restaurant Asti just down the street. Although our room and bathroom were small, innkeepers Eric and Liz had put some thoughtful planning into them, and they were,for the most part, comfortable and efficient. But the bed was the highlight of the space...comfortable with lovely sheets...we sleep well. The shower was also nice. But, by far, the best part was the breakfast. One to really set you out on your day with a great start. Homemade granola, with yogurt and fruit, a variety of quiches and frittatas and fabulous biscuits and muffins. Eric was also very helpful with directions and ideas on how to access Austin's rich music scene. Overall, a very great stay!

Room Tip: Spring for the largest room you can afford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbschmelzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamsHouseATX, Owner at Adams House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Howdy folks! Thanks for the nice comments! We look forward to seeing you again at the Adams House!
~Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed at the Adam's House right after getting married, and it was the perfect place to unwind and let the joy of the day soak in. We stayed in the bungalow, and we loved everything about our experience. The bungalow was roomy, comfortable, clean, and beautifully decorated. Liz and Eric were very sweet and made us a delicious breakfast. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamsHouseATX, Owner at Adams House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Elisa,
Thans for the excellent review! We are so happy you chose to spend your wedding night with us. Please come see us for your first anniversary!

Best wishes,
Eric & Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

Take yourselves out of the hubbub of Downtown Austin and move on up to the Adams House in the Hyde Park neighborhood, where innkeepers Eric and Liz will take good care of you. This historic district B&B offers a quiet uptown location a short walk from several restaurants, bars and coffee shops. The breakfasts at the Adams House are lovingly prepared and delicious, especially their home made baked goods and granola. The room we stayed in, the Monroe Shipe, was clean, quiet (albeit on the small side) and the bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamsHouseATX, Owner at Adams House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Howdy Folks!
Thanks for the nice words - we sure enjoyed visiting with you about Austin and the surrounding areas. If you make it back to Austin on a more permanent basis please let us know!

Best,
Liz and Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed here during my half ironman, the hosts were awesome and the breakfast granola delish! They made us feel at home and were genuinely interested in helping me in any way possible for my race. The location is adorable and in a cute quiet historical neighborhood. It's even close to walk to a grocery, workout facility or restaurants. Would definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emgroop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamsHouseATX, Owner at Adams House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thanks for the kind words and we hope that you come back and stay with us again! Good luck in your future races!

~Liz and Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort worth tx
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We just had one night to enjoy the beautiful suite, and company of the owners over breakfast, but will definitely be back- and stay longer next time. The location is nice and quite in a cool, old neighborhood. The house is beautifully decorated without all the ruffles and bows! The breakfast was muy delicioso!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lu_lu068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamsHouseATX, Owner at Adams House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for the nice review and we are happy you chose to stay with us! If there is one thing we are proud of is our "doily-free" house! Please come back and stay the next time you come to Austin!

~Liz & Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We had never been to Austin before and found the Adams House reviews on here. It did not disappoint. We were traveling with our 12 year old and stayed in the Adams suite which gave us lots of space. Our fellow guests were wonderful to visit with during our delicious breakfasts consisting of the scrumptious granola as well as egg,bread & meat options. Megan (our morning chef) was super friendly and accommodating to our son's food needs. (He hates mushrooms) Eric and Liz had excellent suggestions for how to spend our time as well as ideas for our trip to San Antonio. Wonderful visit and we would gladly return.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamsHouseATX, Owner at Adams House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Vanessa and fam,
Thanks for staying with us! We hope you enjoyed what Austin had to offer and please come and stay with us anytime!

~ Liz and Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol
6.7 mi away
Archer Hotel Austin
Archer Hotel Austin
#2 of 200 in Austin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Austin-University Area
4.0 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#1 of 36 in Austin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
1.9 mi away
Austin's Inn at Pearl Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adams House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adams House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Adams House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 4300 Avenue G, Austin, TX 78751-3818
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted "Best Bed & Breakfast" by The Austin Chronicle for 2014, 2013 & 2012! Centrally located in the Austin neighborhood of Hyde Park, the historic Adams House provides a serene and relaxing getaway for travelers. Spacious accommodations, fantastic breakfasts, and 2 blocks away from some of Austin's most loved restaurants makes Adams House a superior choice for central Texas visitors. We are located just a few minutes away from the University of Texas and only a short drive or bus ride to the center of the "Live Music Capital of The World." Come and stay for a night or a week - we look forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Adams House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing