We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great option for staying in Austin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Adams House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 35 Austin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
La Mesa, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great option for staying in Austin”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

During a recent visit to Texas we wanted to check out Austin but weren't sure staying in downtown was the best choice. So glad we checked out the Adams House Bed and Breakfast. It's located in a lovely neighborhood for walking around and restaurants while still being within an easy drive or bus to downtown. Better to take the bus than try parking in Austin. Liz and Eric are wonderful owners and eager to help with questions and suggestions. Breakfast was perfect. Without being overwhelmed with food and choices, you were provided with a fruit and yogurt dish as well as homemade warm dishes and muffin or roll. It was a great way to start the day. The home is lovely and they make it easy to arrive whenever you need and have your key waiting for you. If Austin is part of your travel plans, you won't be sorry staying at the Adams House Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seeusoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamsHouseATX, Owner at Adams House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thanks for the visit and we are so glad you chose to stay with us! We always love sharing our city with visitors and we agree - the bus is better than trying to find parking downtown! Please come back and see us the next time you are in town.
~ Liz & Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    21
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
27
112
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Everything about our 2 day stay was to our liking. Eric and Liz were gracious hosts, going out of their way to make our visit enjoyable. Eric learned we were music fans and pointed us in the right direction. We too are now loyal fans of the Continental Club. If we go back to Austin (and we will) Adams House will be at the top of our list.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamsHouseATX, Owner at Adams House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dan,
Thanks so much for the kind words. We are grateful that you chose to spend your time with us and even happier that the music recommendations were to your liking. You can never really go wrong at the Continental Club. Many thanks and we will see you next time!
~Eric & Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We were hoping to find some peace and quiet for our stay, and Adams House did not disappoint. Booking and checkin was a breeze. We stayed in the Bungalow, which is great if you want some privacy (the other rooms are all in the main house). The location is wonderful, in the established Hyde Park neighborhood. Not much traffic and lots of people out and about with their pets, and only 2 blocks to a market, Antonelli's Cheese (and wine) Shop, Hyde Park Bar and Grill, and Quacks (coffee shop and bakery), to name a few.

The bungalow was very clean and cozy. Comfortable bed, ceiling fans, small TV with cable, wi-fi access, and small refrigerator. No coffee maker or microwave in the unit, but you could easily go into the house for those things (big plus for having a Keurig machine for easy coffee, tea, etc).

Breakfast was a treat. Megan was a wonderful chef and a pleasant hostess. Crepes with fresh cream and fruit, mushroom and egg casserole, and fresh fruit with yogurt were plenty to start our day. It was a pleasure to also meet Liz, and we appreciated her concern to make sure our stay was a pleasant one. We would certainly stay here any chance we could get!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cstokely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamsHouseATX, Owner at Adams House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thanks for the nice words! And thanks for staying at Adams House Bed & Breakfast. Many guests have enjoyed walking down to the corner and taking advantage of all the restaurants and great food markets we have here. We are so happy you were able to enjoy it too! Thanks again and please come back soon.
Liz & Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Wonderful stay! The owner was very accommodating and nice. Room is exactly as depicted, very comfortable bed, very clean room. Easy access location and quiet. Lots of restaurants and shops nearby, great walking neighborhood. Loved it, would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luvtris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamsHouseATX, Owner at Adams House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Many thanks folks! We hope to see you if you ever return to Austin!
Liz & Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

We met Eric and Liz in the Bahamas, and their Austin B & B came up in conversation. We promised ourselves that any future visit to Austin would include the Adams, and we are so happy that we kept that promise! In Austin for a football game, we stayed three nights in the bungalow. Bungalow was roomy and in pristine condition, breakfast was wonderful, and location was great. Walked to the "triangle" with many bars and restaurants, and a short drive, cab ride or bus to downtown two miles away. Liz and Eric know Austin like no others, with great recommendations that rang true. Eric plays in a number of bands, so he obviously knows the music scene there and is glad to help. As a bonus, the Adams won the best Austin B & B award for the 2nd year in a row while we were there - just confirmation of what we already knew. DO NOT visit Austin without considering a stay here! We'll be returning soon!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TMACMemphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamsHouseATX, Owner at Adams House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thanks folks! I knew we'd meet again and we were so happy host you over the game weekend. As an added bonus we made sure that we filled the house with Ole Miss fans and that your team would win! ;-)
Great to see you at the tailgate party and I hope you enjoyed the music. Come back and see us anytime and good luck with the move!
Eric & Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The house was immaculate. The hosts were warm, friendly and very helpful. The food was great. It was a beautiful house.

We booked a few weeks before our visit and got the last room they had available. Our room was a little small. Other than that....it was a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamsHouseATX, Owner at Adams House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Hi folks,
THanks for staying with us! We're so glad you found us and we hope to see you again soon. It was great talking music with you and we hope you enjoyed all the shows you heard. Come and see us again soon.

~Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I've stayed at Adams House many times. Every time I go to Austin, actually. The individual rooms each have a unique character. And the wonderful, homemade cakes, breakfast treats, and personal service at the B&B make for an unbeatable experience. In addition, the hosts are really interesting people and professional providers of a top-notch accommodation. A+

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gfmp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamsHouseATX, Manager at Adams House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for the review and the A+ rating! As Innkeepers it is so wonderful to have repeat guests that we are able to develop friendships with. Thank you for your kind words and we hope that we get to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Archer Hotel Austin
#2 of 203 in Austin
372 reviews
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
#19 of 203 in Austin
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Campus
Hotel Ella
Hotel Ella
#37 of 203 in Austin
354 reviews
Northwest Austin
Lone Star Court
Lone Star Court
#6 of 203 in Austin
1,274 reviews
The Fairview
#2 of 35 in Austin
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adams House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adams House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Adams House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 4300 Avenue G, Austin, TX 78751-3818
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted "Best Bed & Breakfast" by The Austin Chronicle for 2014, 2013 & 2012! Centrally located in the Austin neighborhood of Hyde Park, the historic Adams House provides a serene and relaxing getaway for travelers. Spacious accommodations, fantastic breakfasts, and 2 blocks away from some of Austin's most loved restaurants makes Adams House a superior choice for central Texas visitors. We are located just a few minutes away from the University of Texas and only a short drive or bus ride to the center of the "Live Music Capital of The World." Come and stay for a night or a week - we look forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Adams House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing