We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adams House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Adams House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 36 Austin B&B and Inns
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

There is a reason for all the high ratings - this place is wonderful. The location is great - in a quiet, leafy area but only a short bus ride from the U of T campus and the city centre. There are also shops (including a grocery store) and restaurants about two minute's walk away. The house and rooms are stunning, the breakfasts are amazing and the hosts are friendly and helpful. Best of all the bed was incredibly comfortable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ROsemary6_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamsHouseATX, General Manager at Adams House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Rosemary,
Thanks for coming all that way and staying with us! We hope you and your daughter enjoyed yourselves and if you ever come back this way please come see us. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    18
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
105
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Liz and Eric were fabulous hosts and the house, extremely comfortable and welcoming. We really liked the location in the Hyde Park area of Austin, close to the U of T and the LBJ Library (well-worth visiting).
The rooms (we stayed in two) were well-appointed and extremely comfortable, and the other guests, enjoyable to speak with around the breakfast table at one end of the kitchen/dining area. The meals were tasty and healthful, served buffet-style so each guest could take what they wanted. Liz and Eric were extremely helpful making suggestions of places to visit according to guest interests.
No question, we'd recommend Adams House to other Austin visitors!
Kathy and Steve W, St. Paul, MN

Room Tip: Don't think there's a bad room, so we're hard-pressed to make a suggestion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kathy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamsHouseATX, General Manager at Adams House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Kathy & Steve,
Thanks for the visit - we are glad you liked the food and the house! Y'all are welcome any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlefield, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Liz and Eric were great hosts, and we enjoyed our two-day stay there. The accommodations were wonderful, and Eric cooks a great breakfast! The Adams House B&B is in very nice neighborhood and there are restaurants and coffee shops within walking distance. We think anyone who likes B&Bs will most definitely enjoy their stay at Adams House B&B.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamsHouseATX, General Manager at Adams House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Sharon,
Thanks for the kind words and we will see you (hopefully!) on your next visit to Austin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seacoast NH
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

The Adams House is a gem located in the quiet yet well-located neighborhood of Hyde Park. Our room was a beautifully appointed and spacious suite that featured a lovely sun porch, a fabulous poster bed and a fully modern bath. Delicious breakfasts, friendly and personable hosts, a fascinating mix of guests - our 3 night stay sped by. I look forward to a future stay the next time we're in Austin.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamsHouseATX, General Manager at Adams House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Please come back and visit us soon! Thank you for the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Not sure what we can say that other folks haven't said, but do consider staying here! We spent a couple of days in downtown Austin, then went to San Antonio for a few days, then came to the Adams House for our last day/night. We wish we could have stayed longer. It's a great mix of being close enough to downtown & UT as well as far enough out of town to be able to sit on the patio and just relax and breathe. We'll definitely stay ONLY here the next time we're in Austin. Thanks Liz & Eric!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bee778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamsHouseATX, General Manager at Adams House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
We would love to have you come and stay longer next time. Thanks for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

We spent four delightful nights at the Adams House B & B. Owners Eric and Liz provide a perfect combination of attentive service with casual "member of the family" treatment. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and nicely decorated. The breakfasts are hearty. Lingering at the breakfast table to converse with fellow travelers adds an element to the experience that you don't get at a hotel. The Hyde Park neighborhood is attractive and walkable. Austin sites are all within easy driving distance, (traffic jams not withstanding). We highly recommend you stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobCatP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamsHouseATX, General Manager at Adams House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thanks for staying and for the kind review. We know the traffic here can be a bit daunting sometimes but next time you can enjoy more of Hyde Park and Central Austin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Just came back from a wonderful Birthday celebration at this B & B and it was superb!
Lots of relaxation and true Texan hospitality !
Liz and Eric Inn owners were wonderful with our needs and celebration.
The bungalow was an oasis !! - The bed was so comfortable!!!
Location was superb! Highly recommend this B & B for your stay in Austin, Texas!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamsHouseATX, General Manager at Adams House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thanks for staying with us! We enjoyed being part of your birthday celebration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
The Driskill
#26 of 197 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
Archer Hotel Austin
#2 of 197 in Austin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Austin
Lone Star Court
Lone Star Court
#7 of 197 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
The Fairview
#1 of 36 in Austin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adams House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adams House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Adams House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 4300 Avenue G, Austin, TX 78751-3818
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted "Best Bed & Breakfast" by The Austin Chronicle for 2014, 2013 & 2012! Centrally located in the Austin neighborhood of Hyde Park, the historic Adams House provides a serene and relaxing getaway for travelers. Spacious accommodations, fantastic breakfasts, and 2 blocks away from some of Austin's most loved restaurants makes Adams House a superior choice for central Texas visitors. We are located just a few minutes away from the University of Texas and only a short drive or bus ride to the center of the "Live Music Capital of The World." Come and stay for a night or a week - we look forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Adams House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing