We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay and accommodations and wonderful owners/staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Adams House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 36 Austin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2011

In looking online for a place to take my wife for our anniversary, the Adams House was one of many B&B's in Austin. However, after speaking with Eric (the owner) and comparing the price and ammenities to the others, I decided to stay with them.
They were a little farther north in Austin than the other B&B's but it was a quaint little neighborhood and only about a 10 minute drive from downtown, 6th Street, and just over 15 minutes to Zilker Park.
They were very accommodating to us, not minding out late arrival on Friday and moving our bags from one room to their bungalow for us on Saturday. Eric and his wife, Liz, were very nice and sat with us and the other guests at breakfast, giving us a very welcoming and friendly stay.
I would recommend the Adams House to anyone that's looking for a B&B in Austin, whether for the weekend or a longer stay. We stayed in both the W.T. Adams suite (with the nice sunroom for my wife to read in) and the bungalow (which offered a little more privacy and room to relax). Both rooms were clean and inviting, and the beds and baths comfortable and functional. Thank you, Eric and Liz, for a wonderful weekend. We hope to visit you again soon!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin_S1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 200 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2011

Liz and Eric are still new to the B&B business, and they are busting their butts to make your stay comfortable. They are bright, well organized and neat as a pin. My ONLY problem was that the Internet wi-fi signal did not consistently reach our bungalow 20 yards from the main house. They know about this problem, however, and are working on it. Other than that, no complaints. Reliable housekeeping, home-made granola and muffins, lots of trees on the property. Convenient to good restaurants - walking distance - and a grocery store. Neighborhood is quiet except for the Great Tailed Krackle birds, but I personally got a kick out of watching them. By all means, stay at Adams House. High fives to Liz and Eric!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 2, 2011

We love our guests from the north!

In response to the internet connection: we upgraded our Wi-Fi router so the internet is readily and easily available in the bungalow as well as the entire property. I spent a few hours walking around with my laptop so it reaches everywhere!

We are so glad you chose to stay with us and we hope that you will come and stay with us again.

Best,
Liz & Eric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We loved the tree-lined streets of Hyde Park, the friendliness of our hosts at the Adams House and the fact that we were within two blocks of several good restaurants, a grocery store and Antonelli's (a wonderful cheese and charcuterie store). It was a perfect location to rendez-vous with old friends. The Adams Suite was particularly nice because it gave us a large air conditioned and very appealing Sun Room to sit around in while avoiding the 105 degree heat outside. In cooler moments we also enjoyed the outdoor sitting area with its overhead fans.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dond48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

We've stayed in several B&B's and never found one that measured up to expectations.
Liz and Eric are gracious hosts. Their house is very clean, decorated with antiques, and located 5 minutes from the heart of downtown Austin. Eric isan excellent cook, serving breakfasts equal to food found in a 4 star + hotel. Eric is very good with directions, local history, and especially familiar with local night life. If ever in Austin do yourself a favor and stay at Adams House.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank intruder21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Adams House is a warm and comfortable B&B in a quiet neighborhood within walking distance to restaurants and public transportation.
The rooms are clean, the breakfasts were great and the staff is friendly and helpful with information about places to go and things to do.
All of the other guests that we met had stayed at Adams House which tell you something.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan_Galvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Our hosts were warm and gracious. We picked this place out of the blue because it is near our son's apartment in the Austin Hyde Park neighborhood. Our suite was beautiful, the house was very nice and the breakfasts were great. I'm sure we'll make another visit as long as our son continues to live in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

My wife Dyan and I (and two good friends) recently spent 6 nights at the Adams House. The B&B is in a tree-lined, historic residential neighborhood (Hyde Park), but very convenient to the downtown area by bus or car. (The neighborhood itself has many excellent shops and restaurants, and a good sculpture museum.)

Adams House is clean, quiet and comfortable, with the charm of an historic house that has been lovingly restored and maintained. (We live in an historic house also, and can appreciate what the owners of Adams House have done.) But the best part of the stay was meeting Liz and Eric, who operate the B&B. We had never been to Austin (a shameful admission!). They gave us great tips, from how to get places, to where to go for "real" BBQ and Tex Mex, the best places to experience Austin live music (Eric is a mean drummer, and we got to see him play as well!), and the most interesting wineries and day-trips. Who knew the Austin area had great wineries? There is no way we could have had such a fantastic time in Austin relying just on our guidebooks. Liz and Eric are the best, friendliest Austin "guidebooks" you could ever have. They are why people stay at B&Bs. And if you're in Austin for the music, Eric is the man you need to talk to.

Breakfasts were varied and delicious. We met wonderful people at the breakfast table, some of whom we hope to see again. We have stayed at many, many B&Bs over the years (the only way to travel). Adams House is right at the very top of the list. We rely on "Trip Advisor" reviews in selecting where to stay. As favorable as the reviews are
for Adams House, you just can't appreciate how good it is until you stay there. We will most definitely be back -- if they'll take us! Richard Rook, Sheldonville, MA

Room Tip: Elizabet Ney room is good value and fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rrhoya69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Archer Hotel Austin
#2 of 204 in Austin
536 reviews
The Fairview
#1 of 36 in Austin
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Austin
Kimber Modern Hotel
Kimber Modern Hotel
#2 of 36 in Austin
382 reviews
East Austin
Hotel Eleven
Hotel Eleven
#3 of 36 in Austin
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adams House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adams House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 4300 Avenue G, Austin, TX 78751-3818
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Austin
Price Range: $182 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Adams House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted "Best Bed & Breakfast" by The Austin Chronicle for 2014, 2013 & 2012! Centrally located in the Austin neighborhood of Hyde Park, the historic Adams House provides a serene and relaxing getaway for travelers. Spacious accommodations, fantastic breakfasts, and 2 blocks away from some of Austin's most loved restaurants makes Adams House a superior choice for central Texas visitors. We are located just a few minutes away from the University of Texas and only a short drive or bus ride to the center of the "Live Music Capital of The World." Come and stay for a night or a week - we look forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Adams House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing