We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, upscale hotel with friendly staff in great location...although expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Ranked #53 of 202 Hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersGold level
Corpus Christi, Texas
2 reviews
“Clean, upscale hotel with friendly staff in great location...although expensive”
Reviewed October 15, 2010

We stayed here during ACL and were very happy with this hotel. The location is great (we were able to ride our bikes to Zilker Park). The whole place (rooms, hallways, restaraunt, ect) was very clean. The breakfast buffet was decently priced with a good variety of choices and the food tasted really good. Our room was on the 11th floor and was facing the inside so it was very quiet. The beds were supposed to be 'adjustable' with a lever on the side of the mattress to adjust the firmness level. We both tried adjusting the lever to different positions each night but still woke up with a giant crater in the middle of the mattress. Our backs didn't hurt the next morning and we slept soundly, so I guess it wasn't too bad. They have free internet access in the rooms which is always a plus.
The staff at the front desk were attentive, friendly and helpful.
My only complaint would be the high price not only for the room, but for parking also.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cctx78418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    400
    247
    104
    60
See reviews for
131
236
79
604
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2010

Service of this hotel is just about OK. I had a problem with a room key and had to go up and down 3 times to check and finally get the right key. Room service is just OK. I think the room was good, with comfy beds and all basic amenities, that made up for the GOOD part of the hotel.

One big advantage of this hotel though is its location, I had to attend a conference at Austin Convention Center, so my sponsors booked me in for this hotel, but thats not the best part. The famous Austin 6th Street, known for its live music bars and energetic nights is so close, that after you have had a long tiring day, you can take a stroll to 6th street, go to nearby bars and unwind.

Good things: Room was good, clean, with comfy beds and with all necessary amenities. Has a doable gym. Although there is no swimming pool, but there is one spa pool so that makes up for swimming pool if you are tired. It has a doable business center as well. Location according to me was superb, since I really enjoyed spending time during night at 6th street. If you'd rather stick to some calm and tranquil place, you might wanna go lake side.

Bad part: Staff is strictly ok, I didn't find them very helpful or friendly, specially the ladies seemed slightly hostile. They often made me wait at the front desk for small things and didn't attend well (ladies, at the reception). I was expecting a better restaurant, not that its bad, but certainly could have been better. But yes, the buffet breakfast was bad.

All in all, its a good and recommended hotel. It has its quirks, but they don't really irritate you, small things you can ignore considering the price tag.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shadab K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2010

The Hilton Garden Inn has a lot going for it--pretty good location directly on Sixth St, friendly staff, nicer rooms than average in the chain. It also has a few bizarre things that make me not want to stay there again.

-The front desk was completely and totally incapable of recommending a restaurant in the entire city. The only place they could suggest was a bad bar right next door to the hotel. Even when we pressed them on it, thats all they could come up with. Is that a joke??
-Mandatory valet parking for $26 a day is offensive.
-Lobby smells like something died in it.
-To walk from the lobby to Sixth St you have to go on this underpass by a bug-infested stream that looks like it's out of a horror movie.
-Pool is a joke, as others have said.

We got a pretty good rate, definitely cheaper than the normal Hilton and others in the immediate area. Just wasn't satisfying overall. Loved Austin though!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EastCoastStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2010

We booked on line and had requested two queen beds (two female friends). We got there WELL ahead of check in time and were told no-can-do, only room left was a king. It did have a pull-out sleeper sofa which was not comfortable at all but we had no choice. No one told us you had to insert your key in the elevator to get the floor-buttons to work so we rode up and down the floors a few times. Then we asked where the pool was, we had chosen a hotel specifically to use the pool facilities. WAT A JOKE! The pool wasn't much bigger than the jacuzzi and it was completely shaded. When I showed my shock, the girl said the pool gets about an hour of sun a day. She told us we could go to the regular Hilton and pay them $15 per person to use their pool. We did and trust me, we'll stay at the regular Hilton next time.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imcourtsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2010

Our room was adjacent to I-35. There is a downtown fire department about two blocks away. That meant SIRENS and TRAFFIC! We got no sleep. For the cost of this average room (2 double beds - about $200/night) we were very disappointed.
The only parking available at the hotel is by valet - $28/night.
The only good thing about this hotel is that you need a key to get to any of the guest floors from the elevator.
It's nice to be downtown, but I will not stay in this hotel ever again - there are other hotels, further from the interstate with more central locations.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdlady123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2010

Bed is too hard. Room & bathroom very small. I felt like I was back in Europe. Can't get room cool enough.. ONE Bar of soap. Rough, scratchy towels. No water pressure in shower. No place to put desk chair to keep from tripping over going to bathroom. Desk drawer won't stay closed. I paid more for a good soft bed - which was advertised - and I can't even sleep on this one. Could have stayed in less expensive hotel - Sheraton, Windham, Hampton Inn, or several others in the area.Very disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lexuslady10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2010

The Hilton Garden Inn in downtown Austin is a great location if you're looking for easy access to the interstate (fortunately some rooms have interstate views) and all of the 6th Street restaurants and music venues. All of the downtown attractions are within walking distance. However, walking would definitely be the preferred mode of transportation, as I believe the hotel assesses a hefty mandatory valet parking fee. I don't suppose this is much of an issue with business travelers, but I wouldn't want to pay it daily on family trip like this. The HGI is attractively decorated with rooms and service that definitely meet all expectations for this brand. Housekeeping was late getting to our room one day and interfered with our ability to get ready for dinner. The pool was a huge disappointment. Other reviewers have referenced its small size, which was not a big deal traveling with children. However, the pool was bone chilling freezing. No adults in our party could tolerate it and we saw plenty of other guests having a similar experience. Austin in the summertime? You need a pool!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#25 of 202 in Austin
1,673 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#16 of 202 in Austin
2,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Address: 500 N Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78701-3702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Austin
#66 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of downtown Austin, offering first-class hospitality in the "Live Music Capitol of the World." We are steps from the business district, the legendary 6th Street and the Warehouse District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown Hotel Austin
Austin Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing