We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful week-end in Austin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Ranked #51 of 201 Hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 16, 2007

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank OSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,206 - 1,212 of 1,252 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2007

If your primary goal is to enjoy the 6th St. music scene and you aren't "sound sensitive" than this is the hotel for you. Easy walking distance to all of downtown including the Warehouse District. The rooms are very comfortable and nicely remodeled. The staff is charming and eager to please. The lobby, if you're a business traveller, is probably useful as it isn't located in the lobby and is very quiet (library quiet). Not really a kids place as the pool is cold and tiny and the hot tub is just that...a hot TUB (i.e. not pounding jacuzzi style).

We had a fabulous view of 6th St. from a high floor but the music kept us up into the night on Fri/Sat (as did the plumbing on Sun. which may have been an isolated incident as the room either above me or next to me was enjoying an all night shower). If you have issues with sound but want to take advantage of the convenient location I'd ask for a room in the southwest corner or the hotel (furthest from the highway and 6th St). You won't have a view but you'll probably be able to sleep sans earplugs.

Pass on the hotel's basic rooftop breakfast and head to Magnolia Cafe in SoCo for a yummy diner type b-fast. Don't worry about the wait, it goes fast. Dinners at Starlite and The Belmont were off the charts delish (and I'm a well traveled foodie). Too many great music venues to profile. Shopping???Try SoCo otherwise you won't find any downtown (and I think we asked everyone). Austin is a fun town. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank adgal310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2007

My wife and I stayed here for several nights over the Valentine's
Day/President's Day week/weekend. I worked in our room while she was at her conference meetings. Overall it was a fine busines hotel. The hotel is now a Hilton Garden Inn and has completed a 9 million dollar renovation. The high speed internet connection was pretty fast and complimentary (it is not wireless though). Our room was comfortable with a king sized bed, microwave, coffe maker, tv, a sofa, and desk. The breakfast buffet was $11 and feature the usual selection of eggs and waffles made to order, hot and cold cereal, fruit, juices and grits. There is a small pool and whirlpool downstairs off of the lobby. There is a 24 hour complimentary busines center with free printing. There are laundry facilities and a tiny sundry store.

The staff were very nice and generally pretty cheerful even in the middle of the night. The only exceptions were the valets who varied greatly, from helpful to downright rude and clueless. Some seemed to have trouble keeping track of vehicles and managed to give our taxi, which we asked them to call for us, away to a completely different party. Part of the problem is the vehicle entry way which was narrow and allowed traffic to enter from both directions. It was always a bottleneck to get in and out and kept the valets busy and sometimes confused. Because of the slightly tucked away location of the hotel, taxi's were sometimes rare and took awhile to come after being called.

The hotel is very close to 6th Street which was fun until we discovered that we would hear the Mardi Gras going ons until the wee hours of the morning. That being said, it is great for wandering around 6th Street and Downtown areas. It is also very close to the Austin Hilton and the Convention Center for your meeting needs. There is a free tourist shuttle that stops close to the hotel.

Physically there was really nothing to distinguish it from any other middle of the road business hotel. But it wasn't bad. Service was young, friendly, and generally pretty good. What is lacked in polish it made up for in enthusiasm.

I would recommend it as a good business hotel that is functional and has good access to downtown and the interstate. It isn't much of a "fun" hotel for a family vacation or romantic getaway but I suppose if the price is right, it isn't the worst choice. If you are looking for a comfortable place to work and sleep, I think the Hilton Garden Inn Downtown is a good choice.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank part_time_beach_bum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2006

This hotel is under major re-construction.This was pointed out before we booked but the scale of the refurb was not emphasised. Staff helpful and room was good but this really was staying on a construction site. Although it calls itself a Hilton, it doesn't offer the full range of Hilton savings if you have a Hilton card (eg rebate on parking).

If you don't know Austin, get to know about the Dillo, a free bus service. One line stops near the hotel and it is an excellent way for the visitor to see central Austin.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank ROBBINGHOOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2006

Stayed at the Capitol Place Hotel (Hilton Garden) on Labor day weekend 2006. First disappointment was the lack of balconies that were confirmed during reservations. We were told that balconies could be requested, but not confirmed. Turns out there aren't any balconies at all!!! Big disappointment as we were we checking in when this was revealed.

Second problem were the dozens of crickets in our room - coming out of our luggage and hopping all over the floors. We fell asleep to thier chirping IN the room.

The bathrooms are TINY. Trying to share privacy with one bathroom you can barely turn around in was awful.

The pool looks very cool from the lobby, with its huge waterfall. But once outside, it was very small, with few places to sit around the perimeter. The hot tub was filthy and smelly and I still cannot get the stench out of my family's swim suits.

I was told there is a huge remodel coming up - I hope they clean this place up. It has potential, but doesn't cut it as it stands.

Although the location was ideal - steps from 6th street - I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank suzburak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Hamilton Ontario
15
Reviewed April 25, 2006

If your number one concern in a hotel is a good nights sleep, this hotel is for you. The bed was great. The staff was also friendly, the meal prices (including room service) reasonable and the location is great.
Yes, the hotel is right by the highway but road noise was not an issue in our room. Yes, the place is also tired. However a staff member told me that, along with now flying the Hilton flag, the new management team is going to spend 10 million dollars on the place. So I suspect that once the construction pains are over this hotel is well placed to compete for convention business and for visitors who want to be where the action is.
In other words all the previous reviews (and this one) will shortly mean squat.
Other notes; valet parking is $15 a day (but friendly and efficient). This is the only hotel I have ever been in where there are NO local newspapers available (I noticed a lack of newspaper boxes in Austin in general). There is no gift shop. The roof top bar closes at twelve, but given the hotels proximity to Austins late night scene I can see how they can't compete.

  • Stayed: April 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2006

This is now a Hilton Property. I booked 4 people from my office at this hotel for business.They had to return the next week and asked me to put them someplace else.One had a problem with the faucet and had to switch rooms then something else was wrong. They also said it wasn't a great part of town.They really didn't seem to have anything good to say about the hotel.

Stayed: March 2006, traveled on business
5  Thank silverton143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#26 of 201 in Austin
1,755 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#16 of 201 in Austin
2,189 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center

Address: 500 N Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78701-3702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Austin
#66 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range: $123 - $434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of downtown Austin, offering first-class hospitality in the "Live Music Capitol of the World." We are steps from the business district, the legendary 6th Street and the Warehouse District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown Hotel Austin
Austin Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing