We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel, very pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Ranked #47 of 201 Hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel, very pleasant stay”
Reviewed April 29, 2010

Great hotel in a great location in Austin - the Sixth St bar district is right behind the hotel, with great restaurant/bar options, although there is definitely a younger crowd there. About an 8-10 minute walk from Colorado/5th area with great places for the young professionals and the more mature clientel. The hotel itself is really nice, with a small outdoor wading pool/lounging area with stone staircases and walkways. It has a pretty nice gym with windows for natural light, and the staff were very helpful, and really seemed like they wanted to make the stay easier and pleasant for you. The valet service is great too, if you call just before you go down, your car will be waiting for you. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGirlATC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    385
    243
    101
    56
See reviews for
125
230
78
576
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2010

I'm rating this hotel low because I found the staff to be incredibly unhelpful and their superiors even less helpful. The hotel is fine but not the best choice in a city full of great other hotels and chains. The rooms are kept well as most Hilton's are, but the staff is pretty difficult. Best to find another Hilton if you like Hiltons, or maybe just go to another chain all together

Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank speksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2010

The location OK. It is perfect if you plan to party on 6th St., but there is not much around for grown ups. It would be great for a bachelor party! The lobby is small and doesn't offer much for atmosphere, but there is an enormous lounge on the 10th floor with lots of sofas and places to chat. Our room on the 10th floor was very quiet despite the bacchanalia on the streets below ( we were there over a weekend.) The room was clean and comfortable, but not special. The bathroom showed some wear and tear, but was clean. The large windows do not open. Try to avoid a room on the east side of the building or only view will be of I35. If you can get a room for $100 or less per night, go for it, otherwise look elsewhere in downtown Austin.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrvlrX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbarrera, Guest Services Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, March 28, 2010
On behalf of everyone here at the Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown, we want to thank you for taking the time to complete the survey. We always appreciate any feedback that we get from our guests as this helps us become more efficient in our quality of guest satisfaction. If you ever find yourself returning to our property we would be more than happy to assist in showing you a guide of things to do in Austin that do not involve the entertaintment district.
Thank you again for your feedback and for choosing Hilton Garden Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, VA
1 review
Reviewed March 9, 2010

Traveled to this hotel for training. Overall, I thought it was a nice hotel. The room was clean, and well laid out. They provide free hardline/wireless internet access which is always a plus. Had a fitness center, which was about standard for a hotel. Didn't do the breakfast buffet, but heard it isn't worth the money. They provide a fridge and microwave so I would pack poptarts. You are right in downtown Austin so depending on your lifestyle it is either hit or miss.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skipgiblets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbarrera, Guest Services Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, March 28, 2010
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to fill out the survey & I appreciate your positive feedback & will certainly pass along your comments to all the team members.
Your feedback is important to us as it assist us in improving service for all our guests.
Thank you for choosing Hilton Garden Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed February 27, 2010

The hotel was immaculate. The rooms were comfortable, the beds were fantastic, and the staff was very friendly. Only drawback, Valet Parking only but at least we didn't have to walk to far to get to our room.

Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ajsGamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbarrera, Guest Services Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, March 28, 2010
I am writing on behalf of the Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown and wanted to thank you for taking time out of your day to fill out our survey. I appreciate your positive feedback and will certainly pass it along to all of the team members.
Thank you again for choosing our hotel and we look forward to your return. Please contact me directly should I be of any assistance in the future.

Regards,
Melissa Barrera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky River
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2010

Stayed here for a weekend after visiting mom in San Antonio and wanted to get away and relax before returning home. Everyone seemed friendly on arrival and we thought this was going to be fun. Don't be charmed by the foam ear plugs on your pillow because they don't even keep out the noise from the street below at 2:00am. I got food poisoning that night in the restaurant-only place we ate and my girlfriend did not eat the EGGPLANT, she was fine and I vomited all night. That combined with the noise next door from the drunks coming in from 6th street, the thin walls and noise level from the floors below made it next to impossible to sleep. The hotel rooms are arranged around a central atrium and the drunks come in to the hotel and start screaming their girlfriend's name to hear the echo in the atrium which extends 14 floors. The next am, we headed to 6th street to find lunch and went out the back door to cross the little bridge over the creek or river and the beer cans and stench of urine was enought to make you , well, you get the idea. Watched the Longhorns at a local bar and returned to the room to rest. And that night, same thing music audible from the street below thru drawn drapes and the drunks in the room next to us returned to their room at 2:30am and proceeded to crank the radio. Called the front desk and they said they would send security, security never arrived. I waited outside our room for them. So, we called again and security came in person and finally our neighbors passed out at 4:00 AM. At 6:00 Am , we got up early to get our car and get to the airport and we had to step around the puke in the hallways. We told the checkout clerks but like other reviewers, they don't seem to care about the quality of your stay. We had a nice breakfast that AM if that's any consolation. In short, our absolute worst hotel stay with apathetic management and drunks screaming and partying and emesis soaked carpet. If this sounds like a delightful time, this is your place. And you get to pay $25.00 a night to park your car. Stay up towards Campus or downtown and take a cab.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Worldphotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2010

We were traveling with our five month old baby, who got a cold. Because she was crying, some nearby guests complained and they sent the general manager up to our room who was completely and surprisingly unsympathetic. In fact, she told us that maybe we were putting the needs of our child before the needs of the other guests-- not something I would have expected to hear from a Hilton employee. Needless to say-- stay somewhere else. Anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank explorer064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#24 of 201 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Address: 500 N Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78701-3702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Austin
#66 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of downtown Austin, offering first-class hospitality in the "Live Music Capitol of the World." We are steps from the business district, the legendary 6th Street and the Warehouse District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown Hotel Austin
Austin Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing