We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“V.close to downtown” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Ranked #53 of 200 Hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersGold level
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“V.close to downtown”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is standard, nothing special. It is very close to downtown and 5mins walk from 6th Street. Rooms are clean. Breakfast is extra $12.95 for buffet. Valet parking is offered at $30. We were able to leave our bags once we had checked out to do more exploring. Service was excellent. A great choice for exploring all that downtown has to offer.The Capitol is only a 10min walk. The hike/bike trail is also only a 10min walk.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lourothwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerDallas, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Louthowell!

I am happy to read the comments about your recent stay and glad that you found our location, amenities, and service of our hotel to your satisfaction. Hope to see you return soon....safe travels.

At your service,

Blake Doran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    357
    225
    97
    53
See reviews for
113
211
73
532
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Right at the east end of 6th street, so this is a good option for access to the busiest bars. Also within walking distance to the quieter end of 6th, and the better downtown restaurants. Hotel was clean & relatively quiet. Service was good. Pricing was reasonable considering the location.

Room Tip: We had a higher floor with a view of the capital, which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Midwestishome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerDallas, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear midwestishome,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. I am happy to hear you found our location and amenities to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back to our property in the not too distant future.

At your service,

Blake Doran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Check-in was great! I was asked about my preference of noise level and sun rising in the morning. I really enjoyed the friendly staff and the water offered in the lobby. My ONLY complaint, the room was very very humid and muggy. It made the floor appear damp/sticky and I did not have a functioning microwave

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerDallas, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Jessica S,

I am happy to read the comments about your recent stay and glad that you found the location and amenities of our hotel to your satisfaction. I will personally address the temperature control in the guest room you stayed in to ensure this is resolved. Hope to see you return soon…safe travels.

Blake Doran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

This hotel is overpriced, the food is bad and the rooms are old. The staff was good. The hotel is convenient but that is about it. This hotel needs a complete makeover and not consistent with other Hilton Garden Inns. I felt like I needed to show because the carpet was dirty.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerDallas, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Mark T,

We are truly sorry that your experience was not to your satisfaction and that the condition of our hotel appeared to be dated. We do appreciate your wonderful comments about our excellent staff and we will continue to improve our products and services for you and all future guest to ensure your experience is outstanding! Have a wonderful 4th of July Holiday and we do hope to see you return soon.

At your service,

Blake Doran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

The hotel staff was very courteous and although the valet is pricey, it is well worth the added cost considering the downtown location. Our room came with a view of the downtown area and a Pedicab (Cycle Rickshaw) was available in the valet area, which turned out to be a fun ride to various downtown locations including 6th street.

Room Tip: Located along side of Interstate 35, but surprisingly the highway noise was minimal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Papi_Latino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerDallas, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear papi_latino,

I am very happy to read your comments about your recent stay and glad that you found the location and amenities of our hotel to your satisfaction. Hope to se you return soon.....safe travels.

At your service,

Blake Doran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harker Heights, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Valet is 30 dollars over night, they assume you want to Valet Park for some reason.. The guys at the front desk can barely speak English at all. They don't explain how to use the elevator very well and there is no breakfast unless you want to pay. For 200 dollars a night, I think parking and breakfast could be included. Beds and room was clean and comfortable. Watch out for the cleaning crew. They walked in without knocking at about 10:30 in the morning. Overall, I'll choose a different hotel next time. Not worth it in my opinion.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CasualFoodie420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerDallas, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Casualfoodie420,

Thank you for your review and we sincerely apologize for the lack of communciation during your arrival experience and for housekeeping entering into your room before you acknowledged them to enter. We will make this right and review your feedback with each team member so we provide excellent service to you and all future guest.

At your service,

Blake Doran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

Valet is expensive, adv. upgrades for a few dollars turns out to $150 more, rooms crowded, staff does not know city or newpapers in the city, beds are hard and cheap for the adv. quality Location is great, but you have to know Austin on your own, hotel is clueless I used to stay here often but it has gone downhill from a few years ago.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerDallas, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Don H,

We appreciate your feedback from your most recent stay and want to personally thank you for choosing our hotel again for your visit to Austin. We sincerely apologize for the uncomfortable beds you experienced, and we are replacing every bed in our hotel very soon to ensure you receieve a wonderful night of rest! We will address the knowledge of our city with our team immediately becuase we want to be your personal assitant throughout your stay to create extraordinary experiences for you and your family. Please come back and see us again, we would love another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Best Regards,

Blake Doran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#28 of 200 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,366 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Address: 500 N Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Austin
#66 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of downtown Austin, offering first-class hospitality in the "Live Music Capitol of the World." We are steps from the business district, the legendary 6th Street and the Warehouse District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Odigeo, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown Hotel Austin
Austin Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing