We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced to the max”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Ranked #51 of 201 Hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 21, 2013

During a 3 day event, Hilton raised the rate to $500.00 per night, plus $75.00 per night in taxes. Realistically, it's a $200.00 night accommodation. This is a bare-bones hotel (it's really a motel), in a sketchy area, directly across the street from a drug paraphernalia shop, and adjacent to the freeway, with strange characters loitering on the block. Hilton should remember pigs get fat, hogs get slaughtered. Stay away from this rip-off.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Lester R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerDallas, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear Lester R,

First of all, thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent experience with us. I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy a positive stay. We always try to do everything we can to ensure that our guests receive enhanced amenities and services while we keep our prices low. We appreciate your comments and will use them in an effort to better our hotel for the future. We hope you'll come back and stay with us again the next time you're in town.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,244)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

789 - 795 of 1,244 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2013

Hotel location is Awesome and we had a great stay except one issue with the room but the Assistant Manager addressed it quickly, openly and humbly and satisfied our concerns and left a great impression for this hotel and for the Hilton Group of hotels.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank TKMWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele T, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear TKMWorldTraveler,

Thanks for taking the time to post your review about you stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown. It's always refreshing to hear when we have met and exceeded the expectations of our guests. We strive to provide a clean, friendly and safe environment for our guests.
We look forward to being of service to you should your travels bring you back to the Austin area. If I can be of any assistance please do not hesitate to call me.

Always at your service,
Michele Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

The property offers everything you expect from a Hilton Garden. The room was very comfortable, the hotel was conveniently located near the convention center and the 6th Avenue district, and there was coffee and/or refreshments available in the lobby at all times. What made my stay even better was the friendly staff. They had great suggestions for local restaurants, helped arrange transportation, and were readily available if needed. I would definitely choose this site again if in Austin.

My only suggestion for improvement would be to have HBO available on the TV.

Room Tip: My room was above the beer garden from an adjacent restaurant, and was a little noisy in the late ev...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele T, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear Dan M,

Thanks for taking the time to post your review about you stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown. It's always refreshing to hear when we have met and exceeded the expectations of our guests, we strive to provide a clean, friendly and safe environment for our guests.
We look forward to being of service to you should your travels bring you back to the Austin area. If I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to call me.

Always at your service,
Michele Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Went to the FFF Fest which was at Auditorium Shores. The hotel was in a great location compared to the fest and the after parties. (also very close to the convention center if traveling for work)

6th street is very close. The upscale downtown is close too.

Cons: no safe and the bar next door was very loud at night

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank WWPaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele T, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear WWPaci,

Thanks for taking the time to post your review about you stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown. It's always refreshing to hear when we have met and exceeded the expectations of our guests, we strive to provide a clean, friendly and safe environment for our guests.
We look forward to being of service to you should your travels bring you back to the Austin area. If I can be of any assistance please do not hesitate to call me directly.

Always at your service,
Michele Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very clean. Big rooms. The staff is very friendly.
I did not like that in such hotel they do not have glass cups in the room. Also no safe and shoe shine pad.
The breakfast is fair.
If you R Hhonor you get free wi fi. If not need to pay.
In genetal liked it.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank Itain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele T, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Dear Itain,

Thanks for taking the time to post your review about you stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown. It's always refreshing to hear when we have met and exceeded the expectations of our guests, we strive to provide a clean, friendly and safe environment for our guests. I am glad you enjoyed the complimentary wifi which is available to all of our guests. We look forward to being of service to you should your travels bring you back to the Austin area. if I can be of any assistance please do not hesitate to call me.

Always at your service,
Michele Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

We just got back from the hilton after a girls weekend. Aundre McCullen at the front desk made our visit perfect! He gave us fabulous recommendations for things to do and restaurants to dine at. He also made our stay so enjoyable with special personal touches he provided for us. Our room was beautiful and very clean. Great views and very close to everything that Austin has to offer. Thank you Aundre and the Hilton for a perfect weekend!!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank CoronadoSha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele T, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear CoronadoSha,

Thanks for taking the time to post your review about you stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown. It's always refreshing to hear when we have met and exceeded the expectations of our guests, we strive to provide a clean, friendly and safe environment for our guests.
We look forward to being of service to you should your travels bring you back to the Austin area. if I can be of any assistance please do not hesitate to call me.

Always at your service,
Michele Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This hotel is at a great location if your destination is 6th street. I arrived at lunch time and asked where was a good spot for lunch. I was directed to 6th street...not really a good recommendation for a woman on her own. 6th street is full of bars, most not even open at lunch. It would have been nice to know the hotel had a restaurant on the top floor before I headed out and walked up and down 6th street. It was also a bit of a hike to get to Congress street (to see the bats on the bridge at dusk), and to attend customer meetings downtown. The main part of the room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom is the part that needs updating - wallpaper was curling and the ceiling had some patches that looked in the midst of half-done.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele T, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Susan C,

Tthank you for taking the time to leave your feedback of your recent experience with us. We're so glad that you found our location to be desirable. We always try to do whatever we can to make sure that our guests feel cared for, valued, and respected. Our restaurant is open for breakfast and dinner only, therefore, you were directed to 6th Street for lunch; I apologize that our recommendation made you feel uncomforatable as a woman traveling on her own. Thank you again for your comments as they will help us to better our property for the future. We hope you'll give us another chance the next time you're in town!

Always at your service,

Michele Thomas
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#27 of 201 in Austin
1,712 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#16 of 201 in Austin
2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center

Address: 500 N Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78701-3702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Austin
#66 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range: $170 - $420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of downtown Austin, offering first-class hospitality in the "Live Music Capitol of the World." We are steps from the business district, the legendary 6th Street and the Warehouse District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelPower, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown Hotel Austin
Austin Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing