We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bit expensive, but comfy!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Ranked #47 of 200 Hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles, United States
1 review
“Bit expensive, but comfy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

The beds are fantastic, though I'm not sure there's anything totally different about this hotel as opposed to others in the area that are slightly cheaper. It's very nice, very comfy, free Wi-Fi (which was great!), nice view, and it's on 6th Street. But you're probably paying more for the name than the amenities. Would've been nice if they had food available longer in the day and if the pool could fit more than 3 people.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Danny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele T, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Danny M,
Thanks for taking the time to post your review about you stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown. It's always refreshing to hear when we have met and exceeded the expectations of our guests, we continue to strive to provide a clean, friendly and safe environment for our guests. We look forward to being of service to you should your travels bring you back to the Austin area, if I can be of any assistance please do not hesitate to call me.
Always at your service,
Michele Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    377
    236
    100
    56
See reviews for
124
227
76
565
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Potomac,MD
Level Contributor
126 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

The hotel is clean and comfortable with a amazingly friendly and halpful staff. Only glitch was that parking was not free as originally stated which was Expedia problem. The hotel was wiling to waive the fee had I booked through them. And not expedia. Breakfasts great, clean hotel and super friendly. Staff

Room Tip: Don't take one overlooking the interior courtyard. I like to see if it is sunny or cloudy in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psdunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele T, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear psdunner,

Thanks for taking the time to post your review about you stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown,
It's always refreshing to hear when we have met and exceeded the expectations of our guests, we continue to strive to provide a clean, friendly and safe environment for our guests.
We look forward to being of service to you should your travels bring you back to the Austin area, if I can be of any assistance please do not hesitate to call me.

Always at your service,
Michele Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
138 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

I was hoping this hotel was going to be near 6th street and it's right outside the door. Meaning you can easily eat and drink anything/everything you can imagine and never need to get in a car. The trip from the airport to the hotel was only about 15 minutes. The room was a great size, and the staff was nice. With the hotel being so close to all of the bars, I expected it to be loud as the nights went on, but it was never a problem at all. The only bad thing I found about the hotel was the breakfast buffet. The view from the restaurant is amazing, but the breakfast food was definitely a letdown. I would definitely stay here again. I would just eat elsewhere.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MLNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele T, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear MLNC,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown. It's always refreshing to hear when we have met and exceeded the expectations of our guests. We take tremendous pride in the service and quality of our hotel. However, I am disappointed to learn that our breakfast buffet did not meet your expectations. Reviews like yours are the ones that help us improve in areas where we have fallen short. Again, thank you for your review. If there is anything I can do for you in the future, please don't hestitate to call me directly.

Always at your service,

Michele Thomas
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, United States
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

My family has been staying at Hilton family hotels for years. When we travel, we always know that as long as a Hilton family hotel is in the area, we'll have a great place to stay. This was not the case in Austin, TX. The staff was incredibly rude to us. They were not helpful during check-in, they sold us a broken umbrella and then blamed us for the rip, and did not honor our Hilton rewards. The location and the room were nice, but not worth the disrespect we received. I would not recommend this hotel to friend or foe.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerDallas, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Stephanie M,

First of all, thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback of your recent experience with us. We're so glad that you found our location to be desirable! We always try to do whatever we can to make sure that our guests feel cared for, valued, and respected, and I apologize that we fell short of our normally high standards. I have passed your comments along to the staff to make sure this does not happen again. Thank you again for your comments as they will help us to better our property for the future. We hope you'll give us another chance the next time you're in town!

Best regards,

Blake Doran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

I tagged along on my husbands business trip to check out Austin. The location is perfect to 6th St. I was able to walk everywhere. The staff was always friendly and helpful. The restaurant breakfast was great, service excellent. At night, loved the bartender, she was awesome. Can't beat the view from the restaurant. Our room had everything we needed. If I get to visit again, I would gladly stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele T, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Tracy K,

Thanks for taking the time to post your review about you stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown. It's always refreshing to hear when we have met and exceeded the expectations of our guests, we continue to strive to provide a clean, friendly and safe environment for our guests.
We look forward to being of service to you should your travels bring you back to the Austin area, if I can be of any assistance please do not hesitate to call me.

Always at your service,

Michele Thomas
ASsistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

The people were great. The hotel is near the convention center and the Austin downtown Hilton, so it was walking distance for everything I needed to do. However, the mattress on the bed sagged and the water temperature never got very hot which makes showering a drag.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele T, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Laura N,

Thanks for taking the time to post your review about you stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown, It's always refreshing to hear when we have met and exceeded the expectations of our guests, we continue to strive to provide a clean, friendly and safe environment for our guests. I sincerely apologize for the areas where we fell short of 100% guest satisfaction. I have shared this review with the team in effort to improve on opportunites we have missed.
We look forward to being of service to you should your travels bring you back to the Austin area, if I can be of any assistance please do not hesitate to call me.

Always at your service,

Michele Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Excellent service and all the staff were very accommodating. The room was very clean and in good condition and great amenities. The food in the restaurant is TOP NOTCH and even the breakfast its a wow!. All employees deserves a bonus! Good job guys!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Terence M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele T, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Terence M,

Thanks for taking the time to post your review about you stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown. It's always refreshing to hear when we have met and exceeded the expectations of our guests, we continue to strive to provide a clean, friendly and safe environment for our guests.
We look forward to being of service to you should your travels bring you back to the Austin area, if I can be of any assistance please do not hesitate to call me.

Always at your service,

Michele Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#25 of 200 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Address: 500 N Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78701-3702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Austin
#66 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of downtown Austin, offering first-class hospitality in the "Live Music Capitol of the World." We are steps from the business district, the legendary 6th Street and the Warehouse District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown Hotel Austin
Austin Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing