We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced but nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Ranked #47 of 203 Hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
117 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Overpriced but nice”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed here 4 nights while attending a business conference. Hotel is clean- staff not overly friendly. Check-in was fast but again, front desk female registration clerk was not friendly and leaned to the snooty side. Rooms are nice, not overly huge but big enough. Bathrooms were cleaned and updated. No refrigerator in rooms except for mini bar. I'm a Hilton Honors member and usually receive complimentary newspaper and bottled water daily but this was not the case here. Food served by the hotel was very good. Beds and furnishings for beds are above quality levels. Location of the hotel is convenient to 6th street and we were able to easily walk to several restaurants as well as check out the people watching on 6th which is always entertaining. Parking is expensive--self park is over $20 a night but it's a covered parking garage and elevator access to the hotel was easy to reach. I think valet parking is close or at $30.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DKLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele T, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear DKLT,

Thanks for taking the time to post your review about you stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown,
It's always refreshing to hear when we have met and exceeded the expectations of our guests, we continue to strive to provide a clean, friendly and safe environment for our guests.
We look forward to being of service to you should your travels bring you back to the Austin area, if I can be of any assistance please do not hesitate to call me.

Always at your service,
Michele Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    389
    243
    104
    57
See reviews for
125
233
79
587
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2013

My dinner experience was awful. I was directed to go into the bar area to order dinner. I waited 15minutes and was never acknowledged. I got up and went into the dining area and ordered dinner and waited 45 minutes befor I got up and left. there were 3 other people in the restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Russ V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele T, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Russ V,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your recent stay experience at the Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown, I am disappointed to learn that we did not meet your expectations.
Reviews like yours are the one that help us to improve in areas where we have fallen short, I am sharing this with the other departments so that we can take the necessary corrective measures to ensure that no other guest has a similar experience.
Again thank you for your review.

Always at your service;
Michele Thomas
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a conference and I loved that it was close to everything I needed. The room was clean and comfortable, the breakfast buffet was delicious, and when we were looking for pizza delivery at 1:30 am, the staff made it happen.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele T, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Trish D,
Thanks for taking the time to post your review about you stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown,
It's always refreshing to hear when we have met and exceeded the expectations of our guests, we continue to strive to provide a clean, friendly and safe environment for our guests.
We look forward to being of service to you should your travels bring you back to the Austin area, if I can be of any assistance please do not hesitate to call me.

Always at your service,
Michele Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Just passing through Austin we decided to stay. As it was Pecan Fest weekend which we were unaware of, hotels were down to their last rooms. We got the 10th Floor overlooking 6th St. Wonderful view. Parking is $28, valet only. We are assuming it was added into our bill as we didnt have to pay it on leaving.
Breakfast is $12.95 on 18th floor, NOT included in the room stay unless your a Hilton Honours member.

Room Tip: Room 10-02 overlooks 6th St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tammybaxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele T, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Tammybaxter,

Thanks for taking the time to post your review about you stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown,
It's always refreshing to hear when we have met and exceeded the expectations of our guests, we continue to strive to provide a clean, friendly and safe environment for our guests.
We look forward to being of service to you should your travels bring you back to the Austin area, if I can be of any assistance please do not hesitate to call me.

Always at your service,
Michele Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for business and was very pleased with the staff and service. I would stay here again. The staff was super nice and helpful. I think the $28.00 per day for parking is excessive but that would be my only complaint. On the other hand, the valet crew was awesome and courteous.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Stacey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele T, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Stacey H,
Thanks for taking the time to post your review about you stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown,
It's always refreshing to hear when we have met and exceeded the expectations of our guests, we continue to strive to provide a clean, friendly and safe environment for our guests.
We look forward to being of service to you should your travels bring you back to the Austin area, if I can be of any assistance please do not hesitate to call me.

Always at your service,
Michele Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I just wanted to share that my stay at the Hilton Garden Inn on the 20th was perfect! When I arrived, the valet service greeted me promptly. The friendly front desk agent, whose name I think was Mustafa, was able to get me a room in a great location! The breakfast in the morning was also delicious with a nice view of the city. Upon check out, we called for our car from valet and it was ready by the time we got downstairs. Everyone at the hotel was very friendly and welcoming. I recommend this hotel to others. The hotel is in a great location, walking distance from attractions.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank victoriat01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele T, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Victoriat01,

Thanks for taking the time to post your review about you stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown,
It's always refreshing to hear when we have met and exceeded the expectations of our guests, we continue to strive to provide a clean, friendly and safe environment for our guests.
We look forward to being of service to you should your travels bring you back to the Austin area, if I can be of any assistance please do not hesitate to call me.

Always at your service,
Michele Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
158 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The room was okay - kinda small, but kept clean. The property sure could use renovation, particularly the hallway carpets. My service animal thought there were great scents in the hallway which means the carpets likely haven't been cleaned much. Staff was excellent and this is an easy hit to downtown Austin's pleasures. I find the $28 nightly fee for parking usurious but was lucky enough to score parking on the street. While I was a guest of a business associate, I did get to see the cost of the room and found it a bit on the pricey side as well. The morning breakfast is great and the view from the 18th floor dining area is majestic. Looked like the pool was neat (rained during my stay) and wish I could have had time to check it out.

Room Tip: if you book a room on the inner corridor, you'll never know what the weather's like outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#24 of 203 in Austin
1,611 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
0.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Austin Downtown - University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Address: 500 N Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78701-3702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Austin
#66 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of downtown Austin, offering first-class hospitality in the "Live Music Capitol of the World." We are steps from the business district, the legendary 6th Street and the Warehouse District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown Hotel Austin
Austin Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing