We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Nearby Hotels
$325
$279
JW Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$151
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$106
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$234
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Austin Airport(Austin)(Great Value!)
$114
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lone Star Court(Austin)(Great Value!)
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Granduca Austin(Austin)
$239
$233
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$575
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,331)
Filter reviews
1,331 results
Traveler rating
473
430
258
108
62
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
473
430
258
108
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseasy tigertop floorvalet parkingwithin walking distanceper nightsixth streetnice hotelaustin downtownnight lifebreakfast buffettwo blocksvalet servicebars and restaurantslocation is greatbusiness tripwould definitely stay here againcapitol building
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
997 - 1,002 of 1,331 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel was so easy to find and get to if you're coming off the highway. Valet parking was quick and courteous.

Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. However they have us a voucher for drinks in the restaurant... Which was closed due to a private function?!

Rooms were very clean and comfortable. We had a room facing the city on a high level. We made use of laundry facilities and the gym which were both of good standard

We visited Austin to check out the nightlife and live music scene. So the location for us was just perfect however probably a bit of a walk to other main attractions.

Would definitely stay again. Thank you!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MS08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerDallas, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear MSO8,

Thank you for your review from your most recent stay with us. We truly appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you in the future. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time in Austin and had a chance to experience our live music scene. Thank you for your remarkable comments in regards to our exceptional staff becuase our number one goal is to provide you with superior service and create extraordinary stays each and every time. Please contact me directly for future reservations so I may be at your service.


Always at your service,

Blake Doran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

This was picked as a conference hotel because it's within walking distance of where all the bars are – which it is. It's also on top of I 35 and there is no room that is not right on top of the freeway, as well as the giant construction site/train tracks. Up the road is a super eight for a third of the cost – I can't believe the prices this place is charging for somewhere where you'll be listening to sirens and air horns 24/7.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tk1166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerDallas, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear tk1116,

Thank you for your review from your most recent stay with us and I am sincerely sorry we were not able to provide you with a satisfactory experience during your recent stay. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we appreciate your feedback about the traffic noise. Your comments have helped us to improve our guest experience and we will now be offering free earplugs at the front desk. We hope you will consider staying with us again.

At your service,

Blake Doran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Customer service is tested when things go wrong and Mikaela made them right. There was a mix up with our booking on March 22nd and she was a delight to deal with. Thank you for being great when you didn't have to be.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank IndigoOceans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Thank you for your response to trip advisor I am very glad to hear that Mikaela was able to take care of the reservation issue with your stay. It is our goal to provide guests like you with superior customer service and hospitality. Please let me know if I can book your next stay with us at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown Convention Center

Always at your service,

Bill Dalleske
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I visited Austin during the busiest time of year. SXSW... With all of the commotion going on, I would say that did an ok job just to keep things together. Housekeeping kept my room clean. The food from room service was horrible! It was really terrible. The air conditioner made this really loud noise after it turned off, but I was there for 9 days so I got used to it. I thought because of SXSW things would be more chaotic, but like I said, they did an ok job holding things together.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerDallas, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Honey M,

Thank you for your review from your most recent stay with us. We appreciate your business and understanding the business mix during SXSW. I sincerely apologize for the quality of food presented to you during room service and our F&B team will ensure that the best quality of food is delivered to our guest rooms. Thank you again for helping us improve our products and services for you and all other guests in the future. Have a great day!

At your service,

Blake Doran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are kind of small, but it is a downtown locatioj, so i guess it is ok. But not hilton garden inn standard.

Breakfast ok, but the breakfast rroom in the 18 th floor gives an overa sad impression - but view is great over the city. Breakfast is hilton garden inn standard.

Internet: the term "speed"is completly inapropriate for what they offer.
Even on a sunday night a dial in connection would have provided a better, more reliable bandwidth. Between 8 and 9 pm working online wS almost impossible on a workday.

Complainmanagement: not too bad, they tried to respond to complaints and wishes quickly and reliably.

Summary: if you need reliable internet. It is a no go.

Other than that. A little below hilton garden inn standard.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChristianAnnapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerDallas, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear ChristianAnnapolis,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with our guest rooms. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.

At your service,

Blake Doran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews