We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great downtown location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Ranked #54 of 202 Hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersGold level
Aspen, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great downtown location”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

if you think that you might party a night, or visit the university, or a museum or 2 this is the location right at the end of 6th street.

Room Tip: facing the capitol
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aspenron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerDallas, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Dear Ronald B:

Thank you for your most recent review and we appreciate your business and loyalty. Location is key in the Austin market and our location has the best of both worlds. Access to all the restaurants, museums, music venues, bars/night life, parks, downtown acitivites, The University of Texas, I H 35, and the Austin airport wil benefit each and every guest that selects our hotel for thier stay. We aim to provide exceptional service and ensure your stay is extraordinary with true Texas hospitality. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit to the Live Music Captial of the World and look foward to your return. If there is ever anything we can do to be of service, please contact me at anytime. Thank you and have a wonderful day!

Always at your service,

Blake Doran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    400
    247
    104
    60
See reviews for
131
236
79
603
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Killeen, TX
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

We stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn in downtown Austin both because of its good reputation and close proximity to the places we wanted to visit during our overnight stay. The room was spacious, separate bathtub and shower in a good size bathroom. Our suite was clean, nicely appointed and we had an excellent night's sleep. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexieKilleen-TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerDallas, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
Good Morning TexiKilleen-TX:

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and more importanly for your business and loyalty. Our number one goal is to ensure the care and comfort of our guests is executed each and every day so that you may experience Austin, TX and the Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown at our highest level. Superior service provided is our Team's motto and will do whatever it takes to make sure that you leave our hotel wanting to come back and re-vist our wonderful city. Thank you again and I look foward to seeing you in the future. Happy Holidays!

Always at your service,

Blake Doran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2011

I stayed here for one night as part of a 5-night business trip, where I later switched to the Hilton Downtown Austin. This room was significantly more expensive than the other hotel and was much more outdated. It's also literally adjacent to a major highway, so I could hear the traffic noise constantly. It's also on the edge of town so it's definitely a bit of a walk from most restaurants/bars downtown.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamBroBra_Intl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerDallas, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
Dear Teambrobra_Intl:

I want to personally thank you for your business and honest feedback provided to help us improve our products and services for you. Our price postion in the Austin Downtown Market is amazing and with our property you recieve complimentary wifi access where every other hotel charges aorund $15 for 24 hours, our breakfast buffet pricing is $5-$10 less than the majority of the hotels in the market, and our rates are positioned to benefit you to save money compared to the other downtown hotels. We would love for you to try us out again as we are making wonderful improvements to our hotel to enhance your experience. Thank you again and I look foward to seeing you in the future.

Always at your service,

Blake Doran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Everything about this place is well designed and managed.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnKCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
1 review
Reviewed December 14, 2011

I stayed at this hotel 4 nights in December 2011. The first night there we tried to use the atrium in the 10th floor for social time. It was about 50 degrees and therefore not comfortable at all. We mentioned this to four different staff mambers during our stay but no one wanted to do anything about it and no one seemed to really care. Since all rooms open to the atrium, unless you plan to stay only in your room during the visit, I would look elsewhere. I even emailed the hotel manager and he has not responded. Not a comfortable place to stay and marginal service.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerDallas, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
Dear Tim R:

Thank you for your review from your most recent stay with us and I sincerely apologize for the HVAC issues you encountered during your stay. We began our HVAC fan coil replacement project today that will consist of replacing all units in the entire hotel. This will make a huge difference for your future stays and every guest that stays with us to ensure a comfortable, home away from home experience. We will continue to improve our product so that you have an amazing experience the next time you are in Austin, TX. Thank you for your business and Happy Holidays!

Always at your service,

Blake Doran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, KY
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Good: sleep number bed; flat screen TV; quiet in spite of hectic activities all around (although guests on other floors shared very different views); convenient location; valet parking was efficient; quick and courteous room service; staff was helpful.

Bad: road noise on I-35 side of hotel; complicated access from streets; in need of renovation (ours seemed to be a rehabbed smoking room); confusing floor plans on sleeping and meeting floors; tiny, tiny bathroom, with sink outside in room; limited TV channels

I would stay again, but would consider other options. Rate would have to be great.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waynelaw78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerDallas, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
Good Morning Waynelaw78:

We are continually improving our products and services to ensure that you recieve superior service and amazing amenities to have an extraordinary stay each and every time you stay with us. Our new Flat Screen HD TV's with our new channel line up was put into place last week, our new state of the art fitness center was completed last week as well. We will continue to work with Hilton on new technology to eliminate noise from the highway and we have made great head way on a new beta test to reduce the noise from the highway. I look foward to seeing you back in the future and can assure you that we will have great rates available for your future stays.

Always at your service,

Blake Doran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Be sure to know where you are going to be visiting in Austin before you book here. This property is close to the interstate which makes it convenient if you are driving through but I was walking and it was not close enough to downtown for me. Also, after dark with nothing around, returning to the property was a bit questionable (dark, nothing around). Staff was friendly but they had to make changes to my folio after telling me that it was already handled. WiFi is free but the quality and speed are not the greatest.

Room Tip: Ask for an outside facing room as there are inside rooms that face the interior courtyard and that i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biotechwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerDallas, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
Dear Biotechwriter:

We appreciate your business and feedback provided from your most recent stay with us. We have changed our interent service within Hilton Hotels as of last month and this has made a huge difference with increased speed and connectivity. Our location is important to us and we will make every effort and reccommendation to get you where you are going quickly, cost effective, to lead you in the right direction. The City of Austin is currently working on the Waller Creek Project which will dramatically improve the lighting in our immediate area. Thank you again for your review and we look foward to seeing you in the future. Have a great day and Happy Holidays!

Always at your service,

Blake Doran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#25 of 202 in Austin
1,672 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#16 of 202 in Austin
2,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Address: 500 N Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78701-3702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Austin
#66 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of downtown Austin, offering first-class hospitality in the "Live Music Capitol of the World." We are steps from the business district, the legendary 6th Street and the Warehouse District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown Hotel Austin
Austin Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing