We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Ranked #46 of 203 Hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersGold level
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Tired”
Reviewed October 3, 2011

This hotel is tired. The corridor walls need a fresh coat of paint and the rooms are outdated and not clean. I checked in and after much thought, checked out a few hours later. The rooms smell. I expressed my dissatisfaction to the front desk and they acted offended and did not apologize nor did they care. Go to the real Hilton up the street.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerDallas, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
Good Morning A J:

Thank you for taking your time to respond to Trip Advisor from your most recent stay with us. I truly apologize for our mistake and I understand your frustrations in regards to the odor in your guest room. I have personally addressed this with our Housekeeping and Engineering teams to ensure that we do not have an odor in our guest rooms. I would love to have another opportuity to invite you back to our property to have an amazing experience. Pleaes contact me at your earliest convenience so that I can make this right for you. I look forward to hearing from you and have a great day!

At your service,

Blake Doran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    389
    243
    104
    57
See reviews for
125
233
79
587
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2011

I stayed here while working the ACL festival in September. It's a nice establishment and most of the staff was really nice and helpful. The only issue I had was with the room key cards. I had to have them changed five differant times due to them not working on the door.Several times while staying on the sixteenth floor, the key worked on the elevator but didn't work on the room door. So, I had to go back down and get it redone and then go back up. All this after working eighteen hours. That's a little fustrating. All in all, not a bad place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quetzalcoyote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerDallas, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, October 1, 2011
Dear Quetzalcoyote:

Thank you for your business and I am truly sorry for your keys not working properly throughout your stay during the ACL event. I understand your frustrations you had with having to come back to the front desk to have your keys re-made and the time you had to waste to complete this task. Because of this occuring I am going to have our key and door lock system evaluated to see if we can repair or upgrade our system to eliminate this annoyance that was caused to you. I sincerely apologize for our mistake with the keys and if there is ever anything that I can do to be of service, please let me know at anytime. I look forwad to seeing you in the future and have a great weekend!

Best Regards,

Blake Doran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Conroe, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

This hotel was fast, clean and on top of it's game. Located within walking distance to all of the activities on 6th street and the convention center. Great staff.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank texanime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerDallas, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Dear Texanime:

We truly appreciate your busines and wonderful feedback provided from your most recent stay with us. Our goal is to be the cleanest and friendliest hote in town to ensure your stay is extraordinary each and every time. We are glad that you liked our location which gave you the ability to experience Austin in a different way. If there is ever anything that I can do to be of service, please do not hesitate to contact me diretly at anytime. I look forward to seeing you in the future and have a wonderful day!

Best Regards,

Blake Doran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Went to the ACL Music Festival and throughly enjoyed our vist to Austin. The Hilton Garden Inn was in close proximately to Sixth Street where all the bars and restaurants were located. At night this street appears to be full of young adults from the nearby University which almost gave me the feeling that I was in New Orleans. But nevertheless we managed to have a great time on Sixth Street even though as mature adults we wanted a less hectic atomosphere. The hotel was clean and the housekeeping staff was friendly. On the day we checked in we were pleasantly greeted and quickly checked in. At the time the front desk was not busy. During our stay we ate breakfast and our other meals out not knowing that there was a restaurant on the 18th floor with a spectacular view of the city. Apparently instead of orienting us to the facilities of the hotel, the front desk never mentioned what we could enjoy at the Hilton Gardens. We actually became aware of the hotel restaurant on our last morning there when we went exploring the hotel and stopped on the 18th floor. There iwe found a lounge for drinks which we would have loved to have known and a nice size restaurant which also serves breakfast but I believe closes by 10am.

The pool is in a gated area and it is a small pool with a jacuzzi next to it. It closes at 11PM so we did get to go in and relax abit before we either called it a night or went out for a drink, dinner or a food truck run. There seems to be plenty of great food truck venders late at night wit plently of delicious choices. Our favorite was the "Coreanos."

Nearby the hotel there is a restaurant called El Sol y La Luna which had a great breakfast menu. All in all we had a nice stay at the Hotel but do wish the staff could have reminded us of their amenities. One of the things I noticed that the TV in our room was not a flat screen but on the day we were leaving they were scheduled to install new flat screen tv's. A small refrigerator and coffee maker can be found in the room and they also have available coffee and lemon iced water in the lobby for guests which is nice feature.

Room Tip: Try not to face the sixth street side as it can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoriM821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerDallas, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
Good Morning DoriM821:

Thank you for your review from your most recent stay with us and we are excited that you had an amazing stay in Austin. We appreciate your wonderful comments regarding our hotel, amenities, and service. We have high expectations to ensure we deliver superior service and that you have a outstanding experience. If you have any special requests or need any assistance with future stays, please contact me directly at anytime. I look forward to seeing you in the future and have a wonderful weekend!

Best Regards,

Blake Doran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
223 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

When I travel, I generally look for full service or boutique hotel properties, especially for work. For this trip to Austin, almost nothing was available at the Federal per diem rate because of a city wide convention (that I was not in town for), so I chose the Hilton Garden Inn. The HGI is conveniently located to almost everything in downtown Austin, including the State capitol, the University of Texas, and the Austin Convention Center.

The hotel is located on 5th Street, next to I-35. As a result, I had concern both about traffic noise and about bar and club noise from 6th Street. While there was a little traffic noise in my room (facing the highway on the 11th floor), I heard nothing from 6th Street and realized that that part of my concern was unfounded as the hotel is a few blocks from the main club and bar area. To solve the road noise issue, I set my AC fan to on (instead of auto) and used the white noise to drown out the cars (which weren't terribly loud to begin with).

Otherwise, the hotel is exactly what you expect from a mid-level, non-full service property except that the HGI has a couple of features you do not find at most Courtyard by Marriott or other HGI properties. One was the restaurant on the 18th floor. For breakfast, this is a great spot. The continental buffet was about $9 and had plenty of cereal, oatmeal, pastry, and fruit options.

The room was clean and well put together. I found a little damage in the area around the refrigerator, took a picture of it, and reported it to the front desk. While the room itself was large (1116), the bathroom was tiny. It was fine my my individual needs, but could be tight with 2 or more people.

As for the staff, most, if not all, were excellent. I did, however, have an issue with the front desk upon arrival. I arrived early (about 11:30) and did not expect my room to be ready as Austin City Limits had just ended. My room was not ready, but I was given a room number, a key, and told to call back around 1. I went off to lunch and when I called back around 1, was told my room was still not ready. This was not a problem, expect that one of my colleagues had arrived after me and was checked into her room. Around 1:30 or so, we headed back to the hotel and asked the front desk again. The gentleman working (whose name I do not recall) said that rooms were still not ready, please check back at 3. Ok, I get that, they were sold out the previous night, but at the same time I was being told to come back, another front desk agent was checking people into rooms! At this point, I got in line for the other agent and was immediately switched to a clean room. This appears to be a training issue for some, not all of the front desk. Otherwise, all of my interactions with employees were great.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dctravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Good and clean hotel in a good location near downtown. Lobby is pretty sparse and cold.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexmkaplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerDallas, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Good Evening alexmkaplan:

Thank you for your review from your most recent stay with us and I truly appreciate your business and loyalty. We are here at your service to provide you with an extraordinary stay each and every time. In regards to our lobby, we are going to be conducting a refresh to change the image and bring more amenities and services to our lobby that will better suit your business and leisure needs with a expanded business center link, larger corner pantry, coffee and cookie bar, more soft seating, and possibly a lobby bar that will be inviting to all. I appreciate your feedback and I look forward to seeing you in the future. If there is ever anything that I can do to be of service, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at anytime. Have a great evening!

Best Regards,

Blake Doran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Hilton Mgt. please open your ears, the hotel is well located and the property is kept in good shape, but please explain why there is no self parking. Why do people have to pay the $26 valet fee?

I attended a seminar in Austin and stayed at the Hilton for 2 days, when I checked out I was hit with a $56 Valet charge. I don't like to complain and paid the fee but I honestly think you will not get a lot of repeated customers. The location is great, the front desk personnel were very helpful and polite.

People if you are looking for a clean/well located hotel with a $26/per day valet charge this is it. One other thing call about 10mins ahead of time so your car can be ready for you when you are ready to leave!

Room Tip: "Get a room with a Bath Tub,some rooms do not have tub or glass enclosures water from shower wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JesseTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerDallas, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Good Morning JessieTX:

Thank you for your wonderful comments in regards to our hotel's clean and crisp condition and for our superior service provided to you throughout your stay. We value your business and will take your feedback very seriously. Our valet parking situation has been under evaluation with a market anaylsis and is almost complete. I understand your frustrations with the only option of valet and are looking at multiple options to help you and others out by possibly offering a self park option or reduce the cost of our valet. Again, thank you for your business and I look forwad to seeing you in the future. Have a great day!

Best Regards,

Blake Doran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#24 of 203 in Austin
1,610 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Austin Downtown - University
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
0.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Address: 500 N Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78701-3702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Austin
#66 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of downtown Austin, offering first-class hospitality in the "Live Music Capitol of the World." We are steps from the business district, the legendary 6th Street and the Warehouse District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown Hotel Austin
Austin Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing