We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (411)
Filter reviews
411 results
Traveler rating
123
174
65
32
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
123
174
65
32
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews continental club south congress great location amy's ice cream chain hotels single room basic amenities live music two nights sink area small room within walking distance restaurants and shops great pool a great place to stay beds were comfortable close to downtown
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 411 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2019

Our approach to the Austin Motel included passing 4 people on horse right before we drove over the South Congress Bridge made fameous by it's resident bats. This was a sign we were in for an authentic experience. The Austin Motel is a fun re-interpretation of a "classic" motel from the early part of the American Driving culture. Each room features very comfy capser mattresses. These are not the largest rooms. They remind me of the budget hotels and Howard Johnsons my family stayed in in its configuration but the room we stayed in had lovely quirky but usable amenities and was really well located for food and fun. There is a great coffee walk up restaurant at the corner and the music at hte Continental Club was as real as it gets.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AlixSlade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2019

Austin Motel is a recently re-furbished mid-50s motel on South Congress (a fun neighborhood with lots of great eateries). The rooms are quite basic, but tastefully decorated in bright colors, and the bed was great. Overall the vibe is definitely "retro", with a nice sense of fun. Oh, and a great pool too.
What could be there that's missing: towel bars in the bathroom area; and a coffeemaker... :-u

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank slfaesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2019 via mobile

We stayed three nights mid-week in a standard king room and very much enjoyed our stay. Hotel prices are very high in Austin and we looked at some other places where we couldn’t justify the expense, and this one was better by comparison. The location is excellent, and even though this is pretty much a basic motel in terms of the rooms, they’ve done such a nice job sprucing things up and giving it a kitschy, retro vibe that it doesn’t feel as basic. Little touches like the full-size coconut body wash in the shower and colorful robes make you feel like you are staying somewhere with a higher price point. The courtyard area and pool are what really make the place a fun stay, and being able to get a nice drink at the bar or even a can of beer from their shop and lounge in the courtyard or by the pool. It’s an easy walk to the SoCo area and the river greenway, and there is a great coffee/breakfast place next door (there is no coffee in room). Just one little negative, but I didn’t find these enough to take off a star: they really need some towel hanging bars near the sink area—I get that it is better to reuse towels than ask for new ones, but if you only have a hook on the back of the door to hang it, it doesn’t dry out well.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank EllenD238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoshJustice, Front Office Manager at Austin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2019

Hi Ellen,

Thank you for choosing the Austin Motel and taking time to leave a review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and that we could be a more affordable option on South Congress.

Our robes are custom made and have been a big hit, and good call on checking out our pool and courtyard during your stay - they're a must-see!

While we don't have coffee in the rooms, we do have complimentary coffee every morning in the lobby, and it's the same delicious blend from Jo's next door.

I'll be sure to pass along your feedback on the towel hooks to our design team, as well.

Thanks again, and we hope to see you welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2019

SO awesome!! This is a definite must when visiting Austin! Love the retro look and the atmosphere. Also, it's a great place to go when Lone Star Roundup is going on! You can literally sit at the hotel and watch all of the great cars pass by.

Date of stay: April 2019
Thank JamPack1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoshJustice, Front Office Manager at Austin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2019

Thanks so much for staying with us and leaving a review!

The Lonestar Roundup is one of our favorite events every year, as it brings back so many return guests, and Congress Avenue is packed with amazing hot rods and custom rides. Our friends across the street at the Continental Club always have a great lineup that weekend, too.

We hope you return next year or even sooner, and thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2019

My daughters and I stayed at the Austin Motel for a little Mother/Daughter Retreat. The beds were comfortable and the room is updated to include most all "modern conveniences", even though the motel is very "vintage." The furnishings are clean and bright and functional. The best thing about Austin Motel is its location. We spent our days just walking to various restaurants, enjoying the food, happy hours and the clean fresh air-- never needing to get in our car. There is a nice little restaurant, Jo Ann's Fine Food, attached to the motel lobby-- super convenient. I regret that it rained the day we wanted to spend at the pool, so we did not get to experience that-- but it looked very nice! I'm sure we would have enjoyed time poolside, as there is sufficient privacy even though all of this property is on South Congress Ave. I would love to return for another trip down the South Congress Corridor !

Room tip: There are some rooms that open up to a Courtyard Bar/Lounge area. You might request one of these rooms, if that environment appeals to you.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweetsue5454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoshJustice, Front Office Manager at Austin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2019

Hi,

Thank you for choosing the Austin Motel for your Mother/Daughter Retreat! I'm happy to hear you both had such a good time and enjoyed the location, rooms, and our partner restaurant, Joann's.

We do hope you get an opportunity to stay again so you can experience our pool. On the weekends, Joann's operates the poolside bar, and it's definitely a lovely way to spend a sunny day.

We appreciate the review and hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews