We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service- nice place to stay in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Austin Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Austin Motel
Ranked #78 of 199 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great service- nice place to stay in a great location”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We got what we expected with the Austin Motel. A clean little crashing pad in an excellent downtown Austin location. The decor of the room was certainly dated, and we expected that and had fun with it. I'd definitely go back, especially in warm weather, as the pool area looks really fun. The rooms are simple (no refrigerator- no mini bar) but the service at the front desk is great. We went down to buy a bottle of water, and they advised us to just re-fill our own bottle using the water cooler in the lobby- very nice and very convenient. And since we didn't have a car, they allowed my sister to park in their lot while she was visiting us. Again- nice. Also- I thought the location may be a little loud at night, but it wasn't at all (and I'm a light sleeper). I look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IMKristaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    154
    53
    20
    15
See reviews for
49
146
42
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

The Austin Motel has been around forever. It's your typical drive up to your door place. The room was okay. A bit dark. King size bed. A shower with "green" toiletries. Clean. A safe for your belongings. The price was certainly right -- I find Austin's hotel prices to be shocking but this was about $120 or so a night. The location is great -- on South Congress across from the famed Continental Club (sublime live music) and fabulously funky and delicious restaurants and one-of-a-kind boutiques.

The front desk guy was brusque -- all he wanted to do was give us our key and have us get out of his face. He wasn't keen on answering questions about the neighbourhood. While I like being left alone, I don't like feeling like I'm really not that welcome.

The one thing that bugged me at first are all the rules. Don't do this. Don't do that. Don't even THINK of doing this OR that. No parties. No people in your room after 11, no booze near the pool, use this washcloth to wash up any stains. It was a little over the top but maybe they get a lot of young bands staying there or something.

I didn't dislike the Austin Motel and I may even stay there again but I can't give it more than three stars.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leslie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

great service and great location in this Funky landmark hotel - The Continental Club is just across the road - restaurant, pubs and shops nearby and a market on Saturday - rooms a wee bit tired but great value for money and the choice of rooms is funky :):)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LindaLu272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

There is nothing luxorious with Austin hotel. But you get a clean room with everything you need for a good nights sleep, but nothing else. The pool area is pretty lsrge and in good condition. The staff is very helpful and positive. Very close you find Continental Club and many good restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morten310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
159 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

If you need 600 sq ft in your room, look elsewhere. However if you want a clean place with sub $100 rooms and a fantastic So. Co. location, this is it. Not the Taj Mahal , but who cares. You can walk to dozens of places. It is quiet and the bed comfortable. No closet or dresser for your stuff, but you can make due. The full might be tight for two people with big suitcases, so pack accordingly. They seem to be perpetually booked, so have a plan 'b' and keep checking for cancellations. I got in a week before my trip. They will do their best to accommodate you. I would certainly stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank BLDTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
176 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Old school motel in the heart of the action on South Congress! You can walk to great music and food spots. The room was small but clean and comfy. The staff was pleasant and helpful. They could stand to add a couple of electric outlets as there was only one and it was controlled by the wall switch. Also needs a better light above the sink as shaving was done by memory. A nice pool that hasn't been cleaned in weeks. Free coffee in the morning in the office was a nice touch and saved standing in line down the street.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
115 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

It was located in a sweet spot on South Congress - not far from great places to eat, the Continental Club and a stroll to see the famous bats, an easy 20-minute walk from downtown. It was really good value for money and the staff were all friendly and sweet. Our room had a cute but dorky seaside theme with nice distressed furniture and two large beds. Powerful shower but no hairdryer in room and slightly odd thick shag carpet. The room had a powerful damp smell which was very odd but we got used to it. It was a teeny bit noisy but overall it was a really good job and has the kitschiest, best sign in town!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hannypops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.3 mi away
South Congress Hotel
South Congress Hotel
#27 of 199 in Austin
235 reviews
0.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Downtown/Town Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#18 of 199 in Austin
1,874 reviews
0.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austin Motel

Property: Austin Motel
Address: 1220 S Congress Ave, Austin, TX 78704-2422
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#57 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Austin Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Austin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austin Hotel Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing