We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Austin Motel
Nearby Hotels
La Quinta Inn & Suites Austin Southwest(Austin)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel(Austin)(Great Value!)
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
$165
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $194/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $196/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$179
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $204/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$136
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $174/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$178
$170
Omni Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $205/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Wyndham Garden Austin(Austin)(Great Value!)
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omni Austin at South Park(Austin)(Great Value!)
$119
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $125/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (378)
Filter reviews
378 results
Traveler rating
110
166
61
24
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
166
61
24
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental clubsouth congressgreat locationjo's coffeesingle roomchain hotelslive musicsoco areaplace to staywithin walking distancesmall roomnice poolcoffee makerretrobunkhousedowntownhip
Filter
Updating list...
186 - 191 of 378 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Couldn't have been in a better location. Historic, old & nostalgic property on South Congress. Stayed for 2 nights on the way from LA to Boston and liked the easy walking access to the restaurants, shops and nightspots. The funky pool was a nice feature in the 100 degree heat & nearly 100% humidity. Definitely worth a stop!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeddyParker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This past weekend, my wife and I had the privilege of visiting Austin, TX. We looked at a significant number of other hotels, but on the advice of a friend, chose the Austin Motel for our four night stay (Thursday through Monday). I'm very happy that we did.

The motel has been in operation for 75 years and is part of Austin history. As many others have noted, the motel has a quirky charm. We stayed in room #129. It's a single queen bed with tile floor and a "sitting area". We didn't take much advantage of the sitting area, other than to put our luggage on, but the air-conditioned chill on the tile floor was nice after coming in from the near 100 degree heat.

There are a couple things you should keep in mind if you're considering the Austin Motel though. If you want room service, a mini bar, a big flat-screen tv, or other such fancy amenities, this is not the place for you. Additionally, our room only has a shower. So, if you're in need of a bath, you're going to want a different room.

If you're willing to rough it, however, the Austin Motel more than fits the bill when it comes to clean comfortable rooms, reasonable rates, and an exceptionally friendly staff. As an added bonus, the water pressure is amazing. The motel also offers a nice pool area. We were lucky enough to have to pool to ourselves on several occasions during our stay.

In addition to all the great points about the place, the location is top notch. Straight in the heart of South Congress you are right near a lot of fun. Zilker Park is up the street as well as the Congress St. Bridge and the famous bats. Restaurants, bars and clubs are numerous. We stayed there without a rental car and didn't run out of things to accomplish on foot.

Above all it was a great stay and we would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Down-to-Earth motel. When you're tired of ultra modern, ultra chrome, and the uber-perfect styles, try out the Austin Motel. Each room feels like a guest room in your favorite friend's house. The suites are more decked out, but still comfy.

They are nestled in an absolutely PERFECT part of Austin, Texas. Stay here and you've got coffee and wi-fi in the morning, a little sunbathing in kidney pool which is hidden by foliage, but right next to Congress St., some music at night at the Continental Club directly across the street. Anything you would like to eat within walking distance.

Walk to downtown or jump on a bus downtown.

See the bats come out at night on the Riverside bridge!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here for a girls weekend with some friend from Seattle. This hotel is walking distance to nightlife, shopping and great restaurants/bars. The room was clean and comfortable the one that I stayed in over looked the terrific pool. Would recommend this to my friends and anyone who wants to experience Austin.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Due to unusual moving circumstances, we found ourselves in need of a place to spend a couple of nights in our hometown. Decided on Austin Motel, as we are local business owners and wanted to do business with another local place instead of a corporate chain. We couldn't have been more pleased. The room was cozy and comfortable, like staying in a guest room at a family member's home. More choices than we knew what to do with as far as eating close by. And the pool was awesome! Loved the decor both inside and out, very, very interesting place. We highly recommend it to anyone visiting Austin, or a local just as a getaway without going far.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews