We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Iconic Austin”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Austin Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Austin Motel
Ranked #78 of 199 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Iconic Austin”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This past weekend, my wife and I had the privilege of visiting Austin, TX. We looked at a significant number of other hotels, but on the advice of a friend, chose the Austin Motel for our four night stay (Thursday through Monday). I'm very happy that we did.

The motel has been in operation for 75 years and is part of Austin history. As many others have noted, the motel has a quirky charm. We stayed in room #129. It's a single queen bed with tile floor and a "sitting area". We didn't take much advantage of the sitting area, other than to put our luggage on, but the air-conditioned chill on the tile floor was nice after coming in from the near 100 degree heat.

There are a couple things you should keep in mind if you're considering the Austin Motel though. If you want room service, a mini bar, a big flat-screen tv, or other such fancy amenities, this is not the place for you. Additionally, our room only has a shower. So, if you're in need of a bath, you're going to want a different room.

If you're willing to rough it, however, the Austin Motel more than fits the bill when it comes to clean comfortable rooms, reasonable rates, and an exceptionally friendly staff. As an added bonus, the water pressure is amazing. The motel also offers a nice pool area. We were lucky enough to have to pool to ourselves on several occasions during our stay.

In addition to all the great points about the place, the location is top notch. Straight in the heart of South Congress you are right near a lot of fun. Zilker Park is up the street as well as the Congress St. Bridge and the famous bats. Restaurants, bars and clubs are numerous. We stayed there without a rental car and didn't run out of things to accomplish on foot.

Above all it was a great stay and we would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    154
    53
    20
    15
See reviews for
49
146
42
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Down-to-Earth motel. When you're tired of ultra modern, ultra chrome, and the uber-perfect styles, try out the Austin Motel. Each room feels like a guest room in your favorite friend's house. The suites are more decked out, but still comfy.

They are nestled in an absolutely PERFECT part of Austin, Texas. Stay here and you've got coffee and wi-fi in the morning, a little sunbathing in kidney pool which is hidden by foliage, but right next to Congress St., some music at night at the Continental Club directly across the street. Anything you would like to eat within walking distance.

Walk to downtown or jump on a bus downtown.

See the bats come out at night on the Riverside bridge!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severna Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here for a girls weekend with some friend from Seattle. This hotel is walking distance to nightlife, shopping and great restaurants/bars. The room was clean and comfortable the one that I stayed in over looked the terrific pool. Would recommend this to my friends and anyone who wants to experience Austin.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Due to unusual moving circumstances, we found ourselves in need of a place to spend a couple of nights in our hometown. Decided on Austin Motel, as we are local business owners and wanted to do business with another local place instead of a corporate chain. We couldn't have been more pleased. The room was cozy and comfortable, like staying in a guest room at a family member's home. More choices than we knew what to do with as far as eating close by. And the pool was awesome! Loved the decor both inside and out, very, very interesting place. We highly recommend it to anyone visiting Austin, or a local just as a getaway without going far.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raynham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This hotel is a close enough drive to downtown Austin for the nightlife and action. It's just a walk to see the bats come out from under the Congress Street Bridge. Within walking distance are great bars and places to eat. I would recommend the Hobdobby!

Upon our arrival we were greeted by a cheery lady welcoming us to Austin and the hotel. She was fun, energetic, and had a big smile! The rooms are small but big enough for a short stay. The pool is awesome! We were able to check in early so make sure you ask if needed! There is an A/C unit that provided some comfort but the room had a musty stale smell. It could have used some Frebreeze or something to take the odor away. The beds were comfortable in their day and need to be updated. If going to Austin again, I would stay here briefly just because of the location and atmosphere!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Blue Wave room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Excellent accommodation for the price. Room small but clean. Furnishings and decoration very quirky and individual. Amazing pool. Unbeatable location very near to great bars, clubs and restaurants. Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I can't say enough good things about the Austin Motel - we simply loved it. Our Greek-themed room was beautiful and comfortable, the staff were great and the location is unbeatable.

Situated right in the heart of the SoCo strip, the motel is spitting distance from dozens of fabulous restaurants (don't spit on them though, please) and a very easy walk into downtown.

I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CinnamonBun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.3 mi away
South Congress Hotel
South Congress Hotel
#27 of 199 in Austin
235 reviews
0.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Downtown/Town Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#18 of 199 in Austin
1,874 reviews
0.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austin Motel

Property: Austin Motel
Address: 1220 S Congress Ave, Austin, TX 78704-2422
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#57 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Austin Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Austin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austin Hotel Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing