We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip, reasonable”
Review of Austin Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Austin Motel
Ranked #89 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Hip, reasonable”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is such a great value! Such reasonable rates, free parking and WiFi, fantastic location(in the heart of SoCo), large rooms, darling diner and outdoor eating area on the premises. Large and lovely outdoor pool. Very thin walls, but our neighbors were all quiet. This place books up fast, and it's easy to see why. Retro charm, cool neighborhood, great value.

Room Tip: Go on their website. The rooms are all different. It was fun to choose one that matched my decoratin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    155
    58
    21
    16
See reviews for
51
150
43
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Probably the best hotel I've stayed at for the price! The room was, of course, unique, and I spent a relaxing afternoon by the large pool. The front desk staff was very friendly. The free wifi worked well. My only issue was the thin walls, but when my neighbors were being loud at 2 am, the staff took care of it immediately. I didn't have a car and it wasn't a problem--plenty of places to walk to in the neighborhood, with a great coffee/breakfast place next door. The buses into downtown are inexpensive and easy to use. Walk up the hill for dinner at Enoteca Vespaio for dinner; it was reasonable and some of the best Italian food I've had in the US. Also check the schedule for the Continental Club across the street; I went to two great free shows there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DC83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Unfortunately we didn't book ahead and so were only able to stay one night here. It is (just) walkable across the river to the bars and restaurants downtown, but there is PLENTY of choice for food and drink in the SoCo area.

Can recommend the coffee at Jo's nearby

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EAWhitley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, CA
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I managed to snag a room here for SXSW and only paid $150 per night. The only reason I'm not giving is 5 stars is because the internet sucked and they charged me $25 for late check out (they said after 12:30 I had to pay, I left the room at 12:31 and was at the front desk by 12:35 and got charged $25).

Bed is comfortable. TV is old but whatever. A/C works. Didn't use pool but looked inviting. Staff was nice. It is conveniently located on South Congress. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: the back area seems to have more parking near your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elitaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitchurch
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Serious value for money, great location, free wi-fi & swimming pool - what more could you ask for. Ok - the traffic passing down SoCo almost 24/7 sounds worse than it is at 04:30 in the morning - but even so you will have to go a long way to get better value for money than this. We paid a bit extra to get a poolside room which put us pretty much on the front row against the street, may be the cheaper rooms round the back are quieter but with it's own outside seating space & the pool it still represent serious VFM. Also the mattresses are the most comfortable I have ever slept on - including my own at home! This will be our first choice of accommodation if we are ever lucky enough to make it back to Austin again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Panda_Shropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed here last minute when were driving through Austin on a road trip and ended up staying two nights. It is in such a great location and we really liked the themed rooms.

This is not luxury accommodation by any means, but the rooms are clean and reasonably sized. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Don't rely on the wifi access as it was very poor in the first room we stayed in. But the bar next door has free wifi so it was not the end of the world.

I would definitely recommend staying here.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank George_simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Great location to walk and enjoy the shopping and dinning on South Congress and within walking distances to downtown. Expect off beat and you will not be disappointed with your stay. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Room decor varies by room and based on comments from others in the group I was with so does the quality. The room was nice size, however the bathroom and shower were quite small. The younger people in our group love the place, those of us who are older tend to expect more. For the price it was a great stay.

Room Tip: Ask about the rooms and look at them if you have a choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Jose
Hotel San Jose
#75 of 203 in Austin
363 reviews
0.3 mi away
South Congress Hotel
South Congress Hotel
#20 of 203 in Austin
265 reviews
0.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Downtown/Town Lake
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#17 of 203 in Austin
2,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austin Motel

Property: Austin Motel
Address: 1220 S Congress Ave, Austin, TX 78704-2422
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#57 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Austin Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Austin Motel opened its doors in 1938, and its landmark neon sign has been brightening South Congress Avenue ever since. This recently remodeled 41-room motel, with classic motor court exterior, is centrally located in the heart of Austin’s most interesting cultural district and is close to downtown, the Congress bat bridge and other area attractions. The iconic motel’s amenities include a swimming pool with pool bar, communal hangout spaces, free WiFi, flat-screen TVs, and complimentary parking. The 24-hour reception desk and retail store caters to guest needs, offering snacks, drinks and interesting mementos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Austin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austin Hotel Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing