We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst costumer service EVER!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Austin Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Austin Motel
Ranked #79 of 200 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worst costumer service EVER!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

My husband and I came to Austin with 10 of our friends looking for an end of the summer retreat away from the kids before school started. Instead what we got was a hall monitor! They have a "quiet time policy" that begins at 11pm, but they feel the need to enforce whenever they see fit!! They stalked all of us everywhere we went to make sure we did not get out of line. Mind you, we are 30-40 year old adults!
Then our last might at the motel, we all came in from dinner and drinks only to have an employee threaten my husband! This is highly unprofessional and totally unexceptable! I would not recommend this place to anyone!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CrystalImerese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    154
    53
    20
    15
See reviews for
49
146
42
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Loved it! cute rooms with everything you need, perfect location in the best street in Austin surrounded by restaurants and food trucks. Great pool, across the road from Joe's for breakfast tacos and Amy's for ice-cream. Will return whenever I'm in town. Unbeatable in terms of value for money and vibe.

Only minor thing was that the front desk wouldn't call a cab to take us to the airport, but did write down the number for the taxi company, which is fine for those with local cellphones (bit harder from an international phone as waiting on hold can add up). But you can catch the bus straight to the airport from down the road easily, assuming you find the right stop, so less of an issue.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
137 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Perfect location on South Congress near all the food, bars and music of SoCo.
Rooms are small with literally 4 walls and a small restroom.
Not much interms of service or room amenities but you can expect a small room, clean, safe and perfect for a few nights in Austin.
Best feature is that parking is included in your rate!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Porfiriopicante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

The Austin Motel is about practicality from price to location. Most travelers are here for a night, maybe two. Located in the heart of the hip SOCO district, you won't need a car to enjoy food, drink, Amy's ice cream (open until 11pm - great on a hot night), fresh squeezed pomegranate leemonade from a local trailer vendor, or shopping for handcrafted jewelry, vintage wares or boutique couture. Don't forget a swim suit 'cause 9 months of the year it is HOT so you will be greatful for the motel's kidney shaped pool, shaded tables and lounge chairs. The rooms are nothing special, no luxury bedding or linens, no fancy soaps or shampoos. What you will get are honest staff and a place to lay your head at an honest price. Watch out for the crickets in the summer. They seem to like air conditioning, too, even if it is coming from a noisy window unit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FireStoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
180 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I had a great stay at the place to stay on South Congress Austin.

The Austin Motel may not be 5 star but it is definetly the place to stay to experience the true SoCo.

We stayed in Rm 140 overlooking the pool, which has the bonus of an assigned covered parking spot.

Home Slice and Hopdoody are nearby!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lakeanahuac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, PA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

This place is right in the middle of everything awesome. PLENTY of places to eat, breakfast, lunch, dinner, desserts....etc... Not far at all from downtown...pool isn't the biggest but it was empty when we used it...but VERY CLEAN..VERYY clean pool. The rooms were nice, EXCEPT for the crickets in the room, on the beds..etc...and the worst thing HAS TO BE THE TINY TINY BATHROOMS....you couldn't even open the windows to get air in there...this place is ok, I think I'd look elsewhere though next time. Oh and they never brought me an extra towel...AND someone had a key to get into our room...that was CREEPY....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paradisola3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

This was our third trip to Austin and we just love the food and the live music and we mustn't leave out the courtesy of the locals. We enjoyed the hipness of the Austin Motel with its large Kingsize bed and Mexi-motif.

The A/C worked well considering the weather was 100F + every day of our stay and the swimming pool with its cactus and exotic plants, kept us cool and in the game.

The staff was able to assist us for every question or need we had and we enjoyed breakfast / brunch for 3 out of 5 days of our stay there.

With the Continental club and vintage shops also on South Congress and reasonable pricing to boot , we must recommend this funky BoHo style lodging.

Room Tip: Check rooms on the website and call reception for any questions you might have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake
0.3 mi away
South Congress Hotel
South Congress Hotel
#26 of 200 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Downtown/Town Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#18 of 200 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,890 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
SoCo BnB
#22 of 36 in Austin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austin Motel

Property: Austin Motel
Address: 1220 S Congress Ave, Austin, TX 78704-2422
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#57 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Austin Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Austin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austin Hotel Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing