We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!”
Review of Austin Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Austin Motel
Ranked #89 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!”
Reviewed December 31, 2011

For a first-time visitor, this motel was heaven. Fun, artful, very friendly helpful staff, perfect location! We stayed in two rooms: 262 and 117. Both were clean and comfortable. The place was booked for the NYE weekend, but the manager found us a great room to extend our stay. First come, first serve.

The motel is right next to Jo's coffee house, a favorite in Austin for great coffee and just hanging out. Amy's ice cream is across the street along with The Cosmopolitan Club for great blues. Many of the restaurants offer live music, so leave your car at the motel and walk down S. Congress Ave to enjoy Austin at its best.

Room Tip: Room 117 has the best shower -- rain head and hand-held sprayer. Great AC, quiet, park at your door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HumminAlong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    155
    58
    21
    16
See reviews for
51
150
43
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, TN
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

We stayed at the Austin Motel for nearly a week while visiting a niece who lived nearby. Located right in the heart of the SoCo neighborhood, we could easily walk to dozens of little shops and restaurants. The staff was pleasant and the rooms were clean. At $100/night, it was hard to beat the price for a downtown location. Just don't expect any amenities. The towels were small and thin (and some had holes in them) and the only toiletries were one miniature bar of soap (small even by motel standards) and a couple of foil packets of shampoo. There were no tissues in the room, so you had to use toilet paper. The swag lamp over the two armchairs by the front window was on a photocell and could only be turned on after dark, so if you wanted to read on a rainy day (and we had several of those during our stay) you were out of luck. Would I stay here again? Probably not.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room if you don't want to hear folks walking around upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank civilprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We've stayed here twice now and it's our go-to spot in Austin. It's not luxury accommodation by any stretch, but it's comfortable, clean, and close to what we want to do. The best bit is you can wander across to the Continental Club whenever you want.:) we stayed in room 119 this time, and for a few dollars more than the base rate next door, we had a room with a separate living/dining area, microwave, & that slept 2 unrelated couples comfortably. Be warned, though. The kitchenette isn't stocked. As we were there for five nights, we went across the road to the salvation army shop and bought glasses, a corkscrew, and some other bits and pieces that made it more usable. I considered it $7.59 well spent - may still be there for all I know, in which case, enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank texan_down_under
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Austin was the starting point of our road trip across Texas. The Austin Motel is a 25 minute drive from the airport. It is situated on South Congress about a mile from downtown.

The guys are not keen on email and they tell you this when you make your reservation. It fact, they only booked us for one night when we requested two but, as it was low season, it wasn't a problem. Their website gives you detailed descriptions of all the rooms starting at $80 per night for a basic room up to $180 for a suite overlooking the pool.

This place is a throwback. From the phallic neon sign to the hippy decor in all the rooms, you are moved to a place at least 30 years ago.

The room is standard US size, with a generous king size bed. The bathroom is functional (my wife felt that it was poor in comparison to the more modern motels that we visited). The wifi is free but resets every two hours.

The staff helped us book our cycle hire (local calls are free in your room). We were also charged less than the published room rate without asking.

If you walk further up South Congress, there are a number of authentic non franchised stores that will keep you entertained for a couple of hours.

The Austin Motel stood out from all our other lodgings over our two week trip. It was a breath of fresh air in comparing it to all the other very similar and soulless chain motels. It is well located for South Congress and the Bat Bridge and not far from downtown. You need to decide for yourself if the abundance of character outweight the slight rough feel to the fixtures and fittings.

Room Tip: The pool area is at the lower level. Noise shouldn't be an issue in any of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clerkenwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

If you want an alternative to faceless corporate hotels this is for you. I looked at the different rooms on the web and picked one out. When I called to make the reservation the desk clerk voluntarily found us a better room. When we checked in the staff gave us great dining suggestions. Location is perfect for access to South Congress and an easy walk to downtown.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john99801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Excellant location, can easily walk to downtown Austin, great neighbourhood with bars and shops, An easy walk to see the bats in the evening. The motel is old, each room has a theme. We upgraded to be by the pool. worth it. No coffee or amenties in the room. pool is fantastic.

Room Tip: Upgrade, still a good deal for Austin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank citytour2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

The room was clean, cost reasonable for the area. The girl at the front desk was such a genuine snob (hipster wanna be) that I won't spend my mid-western money there again - guess it wasn't green enough. Next trip to Austin, I'll spend a few more bucks for better service.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arcy-oh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Jose
Hotel San Jose
#74 of 203 in Austin
363 reviews
0.3 mi away
South Congress Hotel
South Congress Hotel
#20 of 203 in Austin
265 reviews
0.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Downtown/Town Lake
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#16 of 203 in Austin
2,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austin Motel

Property: Austin Motel
Address: 1220 S Congress Ave, Austin, TX 78704-2422
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#57 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Austin Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Austin Motel opened its doors in 1938, and its landmark neon sign has been brightening South Congress Avenue ever since. This recently remodeled 41-room motel, with classic motor court exterior, is centrally located in the heart of Austin’s most interesting cultural district and is close to downtown, the Congress bat bridge and other area attractions. The iconic motel’s amenities include a swimming pool with pool bar, communal hangout spaces, free WiFi, flat-screen TVs, and complimentary parking. The 24-hour reception desk and retail store caters to guest needs, offering snacks, drinks and interesting mementos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Austin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austin Hotel Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing