We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A quick diversion.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of McKinney Falls State Park

McKinney Falls State Park
Ranked #25 of 314 things to do in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This tranquil, 641-acre park offers a wide variety of outdoor recreation including fishing, mountain biking and hiking.
Metairie, Louisiana
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A quick diversion.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

$6 was too much to pay for only spending an hour there. Wish they had a time stamp for those that don't spend the whole day. There are signs posted to keep dogs on a leash and out of the water where people swim. We saw dogs swimming in the water and since we are a stickler for following rules, we didn't like seeing that.
That being said, we enjoyed the short trail we walked, with our dog on a leash. The picnic table and B-B-Q pit areas were very nice and definitely a place where a family could enjoy spending a leisurely day.
The water levels were very low, so we didn't see much in the way of falls.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KatL475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    139
    73
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
146 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Beach access is a little treacherous at the lower falls”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

But hey nothing ventured nothing gained. The water was still a little cold but it was really beautiful and a very cool place to hand out. The kids swam with floaties since the water is deep/dark in portions of the pool beneath the falls but was a totally enjoyable time. If you bring food down in plan on using a hike in friendly cooler and there are no trash cans so you'll have to take your trash back out.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank DASH1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburg, TX
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“so close to Austin, nice camp sites for RVs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

loved the location - went into Austin for all the sites there, and zipped back to the very-close McKinney Falls State Park. One warning - do not park off the asphalt - the Park rangers will knock on your door even at 10 pm to let you know they have 'weak pipes' and want you to move your vehicle or what ever you have parked incorrectly. Lots of security and the park gates close at 10 p.m. I figure they have many...ummm...shall we say 'interesting' local Austin personalities to deal with. Still, they are friendly and work hard to make everyone comfortable and safe. READ the paperwork they give you - no second chances.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank dj56_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful in the spring!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

My daughter loves going here! And it's fun for me too! She's 3 right now so we stay on short trails around upper falls. Wild flowers are beautiful in the spring.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank breazer24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location for a day hike”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

Just a short drive out of the city. I really enjoyed hiking around the rocks. Due to the drought, the waterfalls didn't have a lot of water but it was still lovely. The walk to the lower falls was longer and opens out to flat rock that isn't marked well but had more hiking area. The upper falls is located near the Visitor Center (which was closed) and has some lovely Cypress trees. It was a fairly easy hike, just wear sturdy shoes and bring drinking water.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rebeccabphotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to McKinney Falls State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing