We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good Tex-Mex”
Review of Chuy's

Chuy's
Ranked #499 of 3,727 Restaurants in Austin
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Pretty good Tex-Mex”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Not bad for a chain Tex-Mex restaurant, better than average actually. Chuy's is always family friendly and always very noisy.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank darladenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    32
    15
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“A Local Favorite”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I always liked the original Chuys at Barton Springs, now this one is 5 minutes from home. Service is great and so is the food. Great to have one in Southwest Austin now.

Helpful?
Thank Patrick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great happy hours, good food.”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Best happy hour around; free queso, salsa, taco meat, refried beans, chips...all served out of the back of a classic car made into queso bar. Cheap drinks make your stay cheerful. The only drawback I have found about the food is that to me most of it is pretty spicy. Although the Baja Shrimp Tacos are to die for! Maybe ask your server about the heat level of your dish :)

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nicole_Gus_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Chuy's is delicious and a good bargain.”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

First time to Chuy's at Arbor Trails. Great vegetarian options for a great price. There were 3 of us and our bill combined was right around 60.00 with drinks and appetizers. Alot of food for a decent price. Our waitress Audrianne was the best. The only negative is that it was very noisy. We will definitely be back soon.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimberley, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“I love Chuy's!”
Reviewed February 15, 2012

My fave Chuy's is the original one on Barton Springs, but they are all consistently good. They have a great FREE nacho bar for happy hour, but their salads are killer - get the jalapeno ranch dressing for sure. They should bottle and sell that stuff!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank ladydiholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chuy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing