We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Texas State Capitol
from $37.90
More Info
from $25.00
More Info
from $49.00
More Info
from $59.00
More Info
Reviews (6,865)
Filter reviews
6,262 results
Traveler rating
4,024
1,907
313
10
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,024
1,907
313
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful building free tour guided tour house and senate chambers pink granite lots of history open to the public walk around great history gift shop great place to visit visitor center visiting austin dome architecture texas hinges
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 6,262 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

On a whim, my friend and I decided to check out the state capitol. Definitely worth stopping for an hour or so. All you needed was to pass through the metal detectors and after that you had pretty much open access to the whole building minus offices. We got to go into both chambers as well as the rotunda.

Thank tman4lom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

As a foreigner I still found the building and grounds a nice way to spend an hour or two. The dome inside is impressive. You can park for free for two hours in their lot which should be enough time to explore.

Thank Traveler183563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago

This is one of the most beautiful buildings in Austin. Tours are free and give you an excellent account of Texas history. A must see place,

Thank yazzy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Lovely State Capitol with public access to almost every corner. The history of Texas is proudly displayed and the architectural details are spectacular.

Thank Terri I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

The building is lovely with great rotunda. We took a guided tour which was very interesting. It is hard to hear in some areas. Visiting the house chamber was great and the guide had amazing stories. By the way the building is wheelchair accessible.

Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Great state house to visit. Definatlely take the guided tour. Lots if history about Texas and the US. Probably the most elaborate Capitol in the world and it is taller than the US Capitol building in Washington DC.

Thank mgbritt26fox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Wow what great Texas history -Austin , crocket and the the great Americans who help save Texas from our southern neighbors . You can walk-in the capital for free and walk around ,what a beautiful bldg if you enjoy American history this will not dissatisfy you

Thank vdraddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

My sister in law has meetings at the capital a few times a week so we got a little more in depth tour/information. It was really great seeing the rooms, the architecture and beauty of the capital. As a bonus, we watched a beautiful military couple tie the knot within the capital!

Thank PreciousFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago

What a special place to tour our capitol building which has history galore but also a working and really alive place of business. A special time to visit is of course when our government is in session but really anytime is fine. Christmas is a special time when the Christmas Tree is decorated and sits on the floor of the house where business is normally done. Barber shop choirs perform in the Rotunda usually the first Saturday in December and there is a sing-along with Santa and Mrs. Claus appearing for the children. Beautiful photos can be made from the basement looking up through the window to the dome. There is a great gift shop as well with one of a kind gifts and every Christmas a new tree decoration is for sale. There is a parking garage to the East of the grounds that is usually free on weekends and holidays.

Thank A1plusAustinTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

This building is gracious and rich in detail and history! Take your time and explore, you will not be disappointed!

Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews