We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the trip”
Review of State Capitol

State Capitol
Book In Advance
More Info
$53.04*
and up
Capitol of Texas Segway Tour
Ranked #1 of 319 things to do in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: If it's in Texas, it must be bigger and better. That is the motto that architects followed with the Capitol Building in Austin. At one time, it was the tallest capitol building in the nation. Others might be taller now, but this is still a beautiful building that shows off many of the natural resources which are so prevalent in Texas, such as limestone and the landscapes.
North Wildwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
58 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Tour guide was great Right in middle of town
Texas loves itself as a state and they really show off
They toot their own Horn and do a great job. Go

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,348
    1,665
    295
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“History on the Quick”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Enjoyed the brief tour of our Texas State Capital in Austin. Was not overwhelming and saw a bit of our past.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Connie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“NIce building, pleasant grounds”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This place is free, its a nice building and the view from the bottom beneath the dome is great. The gardens outside are nice with a couple of nice statues. Theres nothing to do inside the building other than look around but for a free attraction this a great way of passing an hour or two.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rich2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wow! So beautiful”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I enjoyed the short tour. Our tour guide was fun. She really likes little people. She loves to interact with people and knew when to stop talking so we could hear her instead of fighting the noises.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank dawnarae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Austin has an amazing capital, with impressive architecture and interiors. We had an amazing tour guide, who knew everything about the building, history of the area, and even had the answer to every one of our questions.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Blake P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to State Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing