We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Tour of Capitol” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of State Capitol

State Capitol
Book In Advance
More Info
$53.04*
and up
Capitol of Texas Segway Tour
Ranked #1 of 314 things to do in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: If it's in Texas, it must be bigger and better. That is the motto that architects followed with the Capitol Building in Austin. At one time, it was the tallest capitol building in the nation. Others might be taller now, but this is still a beautiful building that shows off many of the natural resources which are so prevalent in Texas, such as limestone and the landscapes.
Novelty
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Tour of Capitol”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We had a wonderful tour guide who gave us a history of Texas which we hadn't known before. I would recommend visiting the Capitol to anyone.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sharon I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,032 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,172
    1,573
    276
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A must for all Texans”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

History and architecture. Plus go when the legislature is in session and see the politicians on the House and Senate floors. Call your representative's office and let them know you are coming. Maybe you will get something special.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank carl0002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“So many beautiful displays”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

This capitol has so much beauty held within it's walls. A beautiful display of the states history beautifully displayed all around you to stop and take in.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Neat place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Lived in Austin many years before finally visiting State Capitol, which was my mistake. State Capitol is beautiful inside and out, capitol grounds are amazing! Also very educational.

Helpful?
Thank Krystal I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A very beautiful place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

I first toured solo... then I took a guided tour. There is so much history that I had never even been aware of. The capital has corridors that are not for public use. Hearing the stories about the Texas Star and many other pieces of trivia.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to State Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing