We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for kids”

Zilker Metropolitan Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.00*
and up
Austin in a Nutshell Bike Tour
Ranked #6 of 319 things to do in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home to Barton Springs, the Zilker Eagle, a large playscape, and four hundred acres of sports fields and woodlands, Zilker Park is a popular weekend destination.
mechanicsville, MD
Level Contributor
96 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good for kids”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We didn't cover much of this park, but it is very accessible, easy parking and several areas to visit. There is a small sculpture garden if you want a short stroll (small admission fee). Large open spaces for frisbee, picnicing, sun-bathing, etc. The Science and Nature center is small, but good for little children-they have a number of animals that have been resuced and are kept there, being unable to re-introduce them into the wild. A short hiking trail, also.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank karensquirkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    469
    184
    41
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
396 reviews
211 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“We like to Kayak here!”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

The park is wonderful! The train is a family tradition. We take our family kayaking here and its so much fun! Swans in the lake that you can paddle up to. Turtles and fish you can see

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank sherri g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset Village, Bermuda
Level Contributor
367 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Great Place to relax”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Whether you want to jog, walk, run, row, relax or just people watch for a few hours this is a great place to pass some time. Loads of people & dogs all enjoying themselves peacefully with the Austin CBD in the background & various lakes from the Colorado river running by...

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank WishIWasSailing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“bike jaunt”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We brought our bikes and rode some of the famous trails. Great swimming area and located in the heart of Austin. Very populated, but though there were a lot of people, we did not feel lost in the crowd and did not lose the serenity of the trails.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank TexanRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love the outdoors!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Love the people, the atmosphere, the wide open spaces. Lots of space to expolore, walk around, enjoy the sun and the sahde of the trees.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Aurelie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Zilker Metropolitan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing