We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place for a Morning Walk” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Town Lake

Town Lake
Book In Advance
More Info
$74.69*
and up
Downtown Austin Historic Segway Tour
Ranked #15 of 314 things to do in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors can rent canoes or rowboats along this part of Lake Austin that flows five miles through the heart of downtown Austin.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place for a Morning Walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

After having breakfast downtown on Sunday mornings, my daughter and I take a walk around the lake. What a great way to get some exercise and have a nice talk. Great way to spend a morning.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scott V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    109
    22
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Jackson, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“New Boardwalk Open!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

We parked at the Austin American Statesman newspaper parking lot later in the evening around 6:30,pm, folks were already settling in to see the nightly bat flight. We walked to the right, towards hwy 35 on the dirt pathway along the water. It was less than a mile and we arrived at the newly completed boardwalk. It was nice and wide, with beautiful views of the city around every turn. There was what looked like an official entrance over a bridge leading to the street, but the kids ran up there and said there was only parking along the busy street, so where we parked might have been best. We did not go to the end of the trail. so there might be a better place to park further down. There were folks on bikes, joggers, dog walkers, and everyone was enjoying the natural beauty, there was an area they had set up a bog reserve that was taking hold with some ducks, great place to take kids too.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Arleen_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Another Austin Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

Get on the lake and you can sit and stare at the gorgeous city or head off to a quiet, isolated picnic spot. The water is kept clean by local volunteers and conscientious visitors. Plenty of kayaks, stand-up paddle boards, water bikes and the like are available to rent at many spots around the lake. It feels a bit more like a river to me, but either way, a fun time any time. It's been officially re-named Lady Bird Lake to honor all the great things she did for Texas, but the locals haven't yet let go of it's original name.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Miggy747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Running Trails!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

This is an Austin must see! A place to walk or run on the trails or just sit and take in the beautiful lake views! You can also see the bats at dusk, under the Congress Bridge!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank heathermcalister2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson Valley, NY
Level Contributor
170 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful - a treasure in downtown Austin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

One day we walked most of the loop - today, we rented kayaks - what a great day.....relaxing - people friendly on lake - we even saw some turtles popping their heads up..by the way, you can rent for $1 a plastic case to hold your wallet or mobile phone - will we be back - ABSOLUTELY!!.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank DHudsonValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Town Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing