We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unsafe! Do Not Stay Here!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 Austin North/University Area
Ranked #150 of 203 Hotels in Austin
NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unsafe! Do Not Stay Here!!!”
Reviewed March 6, 2009

I booked this hotel for 4 nights and checked out after the first night, for fear of being mugged. There are warning signs everywhere, all over the parking lot, on the inside of the room door, and a list of the top 10 warnings on the coffee table. Warnings include: Make sure door securely locked, don't let strangers in-if they say they are employees call the front desk to confirm, don't show cash or room key, be careful in the parking lot at night, etc. There were a lot of people loitering in the lobby and in front of the hotel. In addition to the safety concerns, the room was horrible. You could feel the springs in the bed, the pillows were extrememly lumpy, there was an awful smell and there were hairs on the towels. The hotel refused to refund my money, even though I had to leave for my own safety!!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alikin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    189
    154
    101
    113
See reviews for
238
124
77
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
KY
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2009

My family of four and I stayed here one night and had a fantastic stay. Here are the pros and cons:

Pros:

- Right off of I-35
- Great rate for a room (Under $60 for a double bed reserved 1-day in advance)
- Micro-Fridge in all rooms
- Non-smoking room was truly non-smoking and smelled extremely clean with a hint of vanilla
- The hotel staff was very helpful and courteous
- Extremely clean rooms
- Several TV channel selections


Cons:

- Breakfast descent (cereals, muffins, juices, etc.) but needs to include fresh fruit
- Beds large & clean but not very firm
- Located on the southbound side of I 35 on a frontage road, so, getting to it from the other direction can be a hassle.

Summary:

This place was better than I expected. We will be staying here during our visits to Austin!
-

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BSpeaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2009

Very easy to find it when passing I-35. The staff is kind and helpful. The room is tidy and clean. However, the wireless system is not stable. I am a bit disappointed. Overall, it is an above average Super 8.

  • Liked — friendly service and clean room
  • Disliked — unstable wireless internet
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank innolai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEX
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2008

Hotel location is great and easy to find it if you stay on I 35. Helpful location if you decide to go to Lake Travis. Clean and big Rooms (the suite with refrigerator and microwave oven is worthy). Very nice staff willing to help and provide all kind of support.

Free and very safe parking lot.

Next to all kind of business like restaurants, gas station, grocery store, etc,

  • Liked — Big size Suite wiht refrigerator and microwave oven
  • Disliked — just 2 pillows for a King size bed
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MEXTRIPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everywhere USA
1 review
Reviewed October 29, 2008

Was in the city for the night, and having searched the Internet for the best services for the price -- this hotel topped the list. The staff was professional and courteous. The room was clean and comfortable, and the breakfast was more than we expected. As a matter of fact, I am in the process of revisiting the city and will be staying at the exact same location -- it's worth the few xtra $$$ for superb customer service, comfortable room and sense of security. Super 8 Motel @ 8128 North Interstate 35 -- see ya soon!

  • Liked — Professionalism of the staff and the comfort of the room
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank safe2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, UK
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2008

It was a surprisingly nice motel. It's cheap, so you're not going to get top of the range living, but it was clean, tidy, and the staff were exceptionally polite. The only problem I had was its location; I thought it would be nearer the city than it is, but that's my fault for not looking into it further. I did, however, also notice the funny smell mentioned regarding the air conditioning. I avoided using it because of this, which says a lot because I was too hot but preferred that to the smell!

  • Liked — Clean, tidy`
  • Disliked — Location makes it difficult to get anywhere if you're not a driver
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank vikkeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2008

I was surprised at how "nice" the Super 8 turned out to be! I was expecting the worst, but the room was a good size and clean. The breakfast was the standard waffles, bagels, etc., but it was free so that's a huge perk.

I was pleasantly surprised and would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — price
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank clatk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Austin North
Red Roof Inn Austin North
#131 of 203 in Austin
162 reviews
2.1 mi away
Super 8 Austin University/Downtown Area
0.9 mi away
Orangewood Inn and Suites Austin North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North
0.9 mi away
Budget Inn Capitol
Budget Inn Capitol
#135 of 203 in Austin
7 reviews
1.1 mi away
Econo Lodge North Austin
Econo Lodge North Austin
#148 of 203 in Austin
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Austin North/University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Austin North/University Area

Property: Super 8 Austin North/University Area
Address: 8128 N Interstate 35, I-35 & Powell Lane, Austin, TX 78753-6435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Austin North/University Area 2*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Austin North/University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Austin North Hotel Austin
Austin Super Eight
Austin Super 8
Super Eight Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing