We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very kind customer service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Austin North/University Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Austin North/University Area
Ranked #137 of 198 Hotels in Austin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very kind customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

We found the staff extremely helpful. After checking out and driving for several hours we realized we had forgotten our camera charger and battery. Ashley and Barb were so helpful in arranging to mail it back to us as quickly as possible so we could enjoy more photos of our ongoing trip. More than that, they maintained contact with us regarding their progress in completing the mailing. We highly recommend this hotel given its excellent customer service.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    164
    127
    71
    86
See reviews for
189
103
59
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DALLAS
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The location was great. The guest reception area was clean. The location, did not have a grass area for pets to relieve themselves, considering this is a pets allowed hotel you would figure something/anything would have been nice. The rooms were nice and clean, with the exception of being able to hear the people upstairs walking about. The bathtub did have an unclean smell to it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank CARLOS D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Last week we had hosted a business opportunity meeting at the Super 8. When I walked in I was greeted by a smiling clerk Amy which made everything go so smooth. She was helping several customers check in at the same tiem and was smiling and so helpful.

This week, I showed up to host our weekly opportunity meeting, only to find out that one of my team members had gotten confused and did not reserve our usual room. As luck would have it, it was beign used by another group. However, the manager Barbara was so helpful! She quickly noted they had a doulbel suite that could prbably do the job. We went upstaris and checked it out. She was right! She even brought up a few extra chairs so we could accomodate everyone in our meeting.

Wow! all I can say is, we will be back over and over!

Way to go Super 8!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CesarRincon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Good interior corridor hotel Very helpfull staff. Comfortable room and excellent price . Will stay here again. This hotel is close to U T and down town..Manager Barbara was courteous and took care our extera needs. This hotel look expensive but it's worth the price for the room they charge.

Room Tip: 2 and 3 Floors room are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kay j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAYFIELD HEIGHTS
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Rooms were adequate at best. Staff was very nice and helpful. Wi-Fi was easy to connect, but slow.

Good location, but a bit more pricey than it should be.

The continental breakfast was below par. Very few choices beyond waffles.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JEFFREY K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BURTON
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Overall, it wasn't bad. There was a huge cockroach in the room and it freaked out my girlfriend. The clerk moved us to a nicer room on the 2nd floor without any hesitation. The staff was very friendly. Funny, there were cops outside that night too as another reviewer wrote, but nothing serious. If you are uppety-up, you don't want to stay here, but for a place to crash by downtown Austin, I thought it was great. Aside from the cockroach there were really no issues.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank NICK S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Austin
Econo Lodge Austin
Econo Lodge Austin
#124 of 198 in Austin
3.0 of 5 stars 52 reviews
Red Roof Inn Austin North
#158 of 198 in Austin
2.5 of 5 stars 131 reviews
Days Inn Austin Crossroads
#161 of 198 in Austin
3.0 of 5 stars 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Austin North/University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Austin North/University Area

Property: Super 8 Austin North/University Area
Address: 8128 N Interstate 35, I-35 & Powell Lane, Austin, TX 78753-6435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 198 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Austin North/University Area 2*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Super 8 Austin North/University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Austin North Hotel Austin
Austin Super Eight
Austin Super 8
Super Eight Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing