We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scary” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn Austin South

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Days Inn Austin South
Ranked #164 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    23
    41
    55
    69
See reviews for
60
38
31
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I normally don't stay where doors open to the parking lot , I had no choice in this time , but the lady who checked me in put me in a room right above lobby and I felt very safe , and my room for the 3 days we were there was always spotless when I came back , Victoria and Mr patel were very nice and helpful , I will stay here again when in austin

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

This hotel is no place for families and children. This is the hotel where the construction workers and strippers stay. The police have been here twice in the last four days: once for a fight and once to rescue a girl who was being held against her will in a room. (Somehow the strippers' rooms became part of the "crime scene", and they had to leave the hotel even though I was told they were not part of the crime. Hmmm.) The staff here is not friendly, but who can blame them: They work in dive. When I was eating the free breakfast (in ain't much) this morning, I got to hear the girl at the front desk (who identified herself as the manager) fight with the caller about how she did NOT take a stolen credit card to book a room for someone. The room I got was clean, but it was very worn. Furniture is missing (no desk and a couple of other pieces even though they had been here at one time if the marks on the tired carpet are any indication - and they are in other rooms). The towels and sheets are threadbare, and not all of the lamps work. When I came in from dinner, the workers in the room across the hall were making dinner over a camping stove in their room. Yeah . . . it's that kind of hotel.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LillyWeldMotorsports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Austin hotels

Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Had to stay here during the formula one race weekend as other hotels in downtown area were 1000-1200 a night, here it was 235 a night not including tax for a 60 dollar a night room. Room smelled, was dated, dirty carpet not vacuumed during the whole time I stayed here even after calling front desk. No windows to open so went to Walmart and bought air freshners. Dirty mattress and broken vacuums sat outside my room during the 4 days I was there. Asked for more towels, had to go to front desk to pickup, lazy people working here. Customer service is no where here. Gives the days inn a black eye for sure. One bed had a broken bed frame leg so it was tilted, feet up! What joke, place is a complete crap hole, advise anyone to stay away from here, it should be for the homeless to use. They could at the very least clen the rooms properly, Hotel Impossible should visit this eye sore but in reality it should be demolished and removed from Austin.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sfomainliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW CANEY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Unsafe conditions - no extra door locks, storage room door wide open all night next to our room, broken coffee maker & phone, mattress standing up against the wall outside my door. Had to yell twice to get the front desk clerk to come help me (she and other employee were yelling at each other in the back room). Furniture extremely shabby. Cigarette burns on the bathtub. Air conditioner leaked water all over the carpet. And the rate was over $90. I would never stay in this hotel again. It was very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
4 Thank CATHI C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Austin
Hampton Inn Austin/Airport Area South
South Austin
Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Austin South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Austin South

Property: Days Inn Austin South
Address: 4220 S Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78745-1202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Austin South 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Days Inn Austin South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Austin South Hotel Austin
Austin Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing