We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great place, staff and location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites - Austin Arboretum-Northwest

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Candlewood Suites - Austin Arboretum-Northwest
Ranked #96 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place, staff and location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Location: fantastic - it's off of Mopac and 183, in the heart of the Arboretum area. There's plenty of places to walk to (Gateway is literally across the street, and there's quite a few restaurants within walking distance), and if you have to drive, just hit up one of the highways, you'll be there in not time at all!

Room: I booked a studio room, and the room itself is huge! All of the amenities are top-notch, and it comes with a sweet desk/entertainment area, queen bed and full kitchenette. The bed's super comfy, and the desk is big enough for all 3 of us to have our laptops/desktops out without being in each other's 'space.' The kitchenette has a full fridge, dishwasher, stove top, and microwave - there's quite a bit of cupboard space and storage areas for food, as well.

Staff: The staff is absolutely fabulous! Anytime I go up to grab something, whether it be towels, toilet paper, blankets, or just a numerous amount of keys, they always deliver. In fact, they usually have everything on hand, so there's no waiting around for anything, which is actually super nice.

All in all, it's a 5/5 stars, and I'd definitely stay again. It's a super hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the little wooded area are super quiet & queen suites are only on the ends!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie F, Manager at Candlewood Suites - Austin Arboretum-Northwest, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you so much for the kind words in your review! We understand how busy our guests our and we appreciate you taking the time out of your day to write a wonderful review of our property. We certainly hope to see you back in Austin at our hotel soon!

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    29
    8
    5
    9
See reviews for
10
8
6
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I have been staying in this hotel for over 2 months now and will be staying for another few months.. It's located right next to I-183 and I-1. Location is great as you hit one of the highways right out from the hotel, thus giving you access to any place in a quick manner.. there is a cinema hall right across the street from the hotel and also a shopping complex, which houses some restaurants, clothing and a Whole Foods.. no need to take your car out, just walking distance..

The hotel as a whole is great.. The room sizes are decent, the bathrooms are also decent size.. it has a bathtub.. the cleaning is once a week.. The crocery and cutlery in the room are though very limited and you won't get more if you ask, which is annoying.. The kitchennete is very very small though.. that's the only negative I could see in the place..

The staff are an absolute delight.. and helpful.. really makes your stay easier..

Room Tip: The one bedroom is a good size.. all studio's are the same size, but the same is not true for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sameer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I was in town for business and stayed here for four nights. The room was clean and spacious. The staff were always pleasant and helpful. I have only two negatives, the refrigerator turning on and off during the night would wake me up. Second, it would be nice if the bathroom fan and the light were on separate switches. The location was great - across the street from a movie theatre, grocery store, stores and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica S, Manager at Candlewood Suites - Austin Arboretum-Northwest, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Susan,

Thank you for taking the time to let us hear your voice. We are delighted you enjoyed our amenities and location and have taken note of your helpful comments. We will address this with our engineer. Hope to accommodate you again in the future and thank you again for your feedback. Happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My friend and I were very happy with this property. We didn't have a car for the first couple of days of our stay and it was easy access to the bus, close to Whole Foods with great food choices, very friendly and accommodating staff and a free laundry! Comfortable, clean rooms. One thing to note, this property does not have rooms with more than one bed so you have to upgrade to a suite with a couch pull out if you need more than one bed. The hotel staff was happy to move us so it wasn't a problem and the couch pullout was actually comfortable! Highly recommend Candlewood Suites.

Room Tip: Just remember this property only has rooms with one queen bed. You must upgrade in order to have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ak_gypsy949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica S, Manager at Candlewood Suites - Austin Arboretum-Northwest, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear ak_gypsy949,
Thank you so much for your input! We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to host you again in the future. Happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on business for two weeks loved the location an staff. The laundry facilities were to use. There is so much to do in this area. The staff gets to know you and makes your stay very comforting. Clean rooms. Pet friendly hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica S, Manager at Candlewood Suites - Austin Arboretum-Northwest, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Tonya,
Thank you so much for your feedback - we love that you enjoyed our spacious suites, cleanliness and location. We are looking forward to your return to the Arboretum area of Austin!
Thanks so much again and happy traveling,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This place was a MASSIVE improvement over the Extended Stay Arboretum North our corporate host had us previously lodged.

The staff were very friendly, and even handled things like mail forwarding and having a package picked up both with ease and with a friendly attitude. The free and 24 hour laundry was very handy.

I did not have a pet room, so no problems there, and my no-smoking request was met by putting me on the floor the farthest away from the smokers, thanks!

There was enough counter space for both me and my BF to work at computers or eat, even in the smaller sized room we were in.

The only annoying issue was the old no-thermostat A/C that would cycle on and off every 2-3 minutes, I was there for nearly a month and never got used to it firing up full-steam so many times overnight.

Only once was I discouraged by the vibe of other guests, most people staying here were nice and somewhat put together.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ActiveTraveler07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica S, Manager at Candlewood Suites - Austin Arboretum-Northwest, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear AT from DC,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your month long stay and the amenities that came with it. We hope you enjoyed every bit of your Austin trip and are so happy we got to be a pleasant part of it!
Happy travels and take care,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio City, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Very dirty hotel. Dog hair everywhere on the floors, even our room. Also the coffee bar was in a mess and I found dog hair within the washer and dryer.

In addition I had ants in my room: The kitchen, nightstand and on the floor. Can also be found at the coffee area and the walls throughout the complete hotel. But nobody cares. Dirty BBQ, very sad story at all.
Was told I was the only one with the problem. Sure..
If you have any problems, nobody is willing to help you. The staff is lazy and not interested.
Was a short stay, but would never ever recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites - Austin Arboretum-Northwest, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear James B,

We certainly appreciate you bring this matter to our attention. I am sorry to read you received service that was less than satisfactory and apologize for any inconvenience it may have caused you. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

Sincerely,

Irish V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Northwest Austin
TownePlace Suites Austin Northwest / Arboretum
Northwest Austin
Courtyard Austin Northwest/Arboretum
Northwest Austin
Staybridge Suites Austin Arboretum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Austin
Extended Stay America - Austin - Arboretum
Northwest Austin
Residence Inn Austin Northwest/Arboretum
Northwest Austin
SpringHill Suites Austin Northwest/Arboretum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites - Austin Arboretum-Northwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites - Austin Arboretum-Northwest

Property: Candlewood Suites - Austin Arboretum-Northwest
Address: 9701 Stonelake Blvd, Austin, TX 78759-6534
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > Northwest Austin
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites - Austin Arboretum-Northwest 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Candlewood Suites is not your traditional hotel, and that is the best part! At the Candlewood Suites Austin Arboretum NW we put the amenities where they really count; in the rooms! That means a suite with a full kitchen and plenty of space to stretch out! Each suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave, full sized refrigerator and all your utensils and pans to cook with. Work efficiently at your executive desk with two separate phone lines, free hi speed internet, check email and talk on the phone at the same time. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy a DVD borrowed from the hotel in your DVD player. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard. In the Candlewood Cupboard you can purchase meals, snacks, and sundry items at value prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Candlewood Suites - Austin Arboretum-Northwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites - Austin Arboretum-Northwest Hotel Austin
Candlewood Austin
Austin Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing