We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location, Fine experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel
Ranked #22 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Located along I-35, not far from the airport, this BW provided a very convenient location. Though not a brand-new facility, it was very well maintained. Staff working all over, all the time. Friendly folks. Excellent room--clean and spacious, well decorated.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

We are so happy you enjoyed your experience. Thank you for writing such a positive review. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,068)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

878 - 884 of 1,069 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2014

This hotel was exactly as pictured on the website. The staff was caring and helpful. The rooms were very clean and the pool area was relaxing and calm. The location was perfect for touring the different areas of Austin and easy to get to by car or bus. We will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Austin.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

This property used to be Clarion so it is way nicer than the typical Best Western. It is called PLUS for good reasons: it has an outdoor pool and hot tub that are in excellent shape. It also has conference/meeting rooms. The bar has live music on the weekends but is on a separate side from the rooms. The food is decent.

The Best Breakfast is included: make your waffles, fresh eggs, fresh fruit, a variety of cereals, breads and other options. Some of the choices vary each day, which makes a longer stay more interesting. It is absolutely free, included in the room rate.

The front desk staff are very helpful with calling cabs or anything else you need. The rooms are nice and big. The pillows are Texas sized: BIG. The beds are very comfortable.

For driving, it is only a few minutes from downtown (or 20 depending on traffic.) It is very accessible to cabs from the highway. If you need to get to the airport, this hotel is located on the correct side of Austin to get there.

The rate was cheaper than most other options that close to downtown Austin.

Room Tip: Get a room that looks inside to the pool area. It is very quiet and you can't tell you are by a...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wisconsinite01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Thank you so much for the great review with so much detail! We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We used this hotel for SXSW and it was a great balance of value and amenities. It was just too far from downtown to walk but we were able to drive in every day without too many issues. The hotel has a great pool and hot tub (although the pool was too cold to use), good internet, a really nice cappuccino machine in the lobby, decent breakfast, and a helpful staff. I'd say this is a step above your typical best western.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank trevor o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Thank you so much for this wonderful review! We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again next year for the SXSW Festival.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

at check in the front desk workers were not very friendly and i was not made aware that you could not pay cash at check in! the room had a funny odor and our room was not cleaned by housekeeping! the location was good and close to downtown. the bar and grill connected to the hotel was nice and the food was not bad! they had live music every night when we were there!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank latarshae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. It helps us become a better business every day. That being said I am very sorry that you weren't happy with your visit. I am bringing your comments to the Housekeeping and Front Desk supervisors to make sure that we can improve our services and review what happened that allowed these mistakes to happen. As you can tell from previous reviews, our customer service is generally excellent. We strive to maintain our reputation as the finest hotel in the area and appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed 4 nights at this Best Western Hotel and really enjoyed ourselves. The room was a little small, but met our needs just fine. The beds were comfortable and the breakfast was outstanding. The best part of this hotel is the location. It was close to everything we wanted to see. It's 15 mins from everything.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelgalMissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Thank you for the great review! We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We had a lovely time!!!! Staff was extremely helpful and so loving!!!! At check in we felt special and at check out we felt EXTRA SPECIAL!!!!! We will definetely stay with Best Western again!!! We love you Curtis!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Nadini J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We have informed Curtis that he has been mentioned in a review again. He was surprised-we weren't. He is a gem! We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Wyndham Garden Austin
#52 of 201 in Austin
1,556 reviews
South Austin
Holiday Inn Austin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Austin
#16 of 201 in Austin
2,145 reviews
Crowne Plaza Austin
#25 of 201 in Austin
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel

Address: 2200 South I-35, Austin, TX 78704-4436 (Formerly Clarion Inn and Suites Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Austin
#7 Green Hotel in Austin
#19 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#23 Family Hotel in Austin
#52 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range: $118 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please join us Monday evenings for social hour from 5pm-7pm in the lobby. Snacks and non-alcoholic beverages provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn And Hotel Austin
Clarion Hotel Austin
Clarion Austin
Austin Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing