We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel
Ranked #26 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Willis, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Good enough”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Needed a place for a night or two. Referral through AAA. It's just off I-35 so it's an easy in and out of Austin. Room was comfortable. The free breakfast was served in what is now a bar and grill. (Really not sure if this is a great idea for someplace that might have children along with the guests.) Standard breakfast fare, but the one meal I had there was strictly bar and grill quality which means if you're not drinking, you're not going to enjoy it that much. Couldn't believe that they didn't serve lunch, so I found it a bit annoying. All in all, if you needed a short stay, it's ok.

Room Tip: Don't let them put you in a room facing outside. Rain made it uncomfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darrell G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
I am so glad that you enjoyed your visit overall. I apologize that you did not enjoy your meal at the Blue Moon. I have passed your comments onto the Blue Moon owners and they have assured me that they are updating their menus with some mouth watering options in the near future. Unfortunately, due to space confines and the way the hotel was built, we do not have other options of where to place our daily hot breakfast buffet. Most parents do not mind that alcohol is served in the restaurant at night, but I take it to heart that you wish we had other space. While our restaurant is not busy enough to keep open for lunch, we are within walking distance of the Starbucks, Denny's, and Luby's. Perhaps if lunch trends change in the future, we will be able to stay open for lunch as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    332
    100
    29
    22
See reviews for
311
252
64
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed here over Labor Day weekend. The hotel had a very modern, clean look, the lobby was colorful and looked well kept and appealing. Check-in was fast and problem-free, and the room (3rd floor pool view) was great with a red/white theme, and no problems with any facilities, everything was there and worked fine - air conditioner, flatscreen, fridge, microwave, wifi etc.
The hotel is very secure, we actually had to swipe the keycard three times each time we returned to out room - an outside door, then an inner door by the elevator, then the room itself.
Only tried the breakfast once, the usual bacon, eggs, toast, cereals, muffins etc. The breakfast is in the bar & grill area and has a pleasant atmosphere. The food was fine - wanted to try other local places on the other days though!
Location wise, if you don't have a car you will probably need to get a cab or bus to get downtown as it is a few miles outside of the main hot spots. Overall this was a good experience and I'd stay again and would recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a courtyard/pool view room if you don't want to face the highway or a car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phil7101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you so much for the detailed review! I am glad you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to 'wowing' you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilden
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The whole hotel appeared to have been recently remodeled. The lobby was very large and comfortable. There is a Bar and Grill on site and, true to the Austin music culture, they had a very good blues band playing on Saturday night. The food was not unique but it was good. There is no food room service but the food is available "to go" and it was a good after the football game meal. My only recommendation would be that they up-size their beds from double to queen size.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank PV260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for the great review! The Blue Moon Bar & Grill is actually operated separately from the hotel but I will pass your suggestion on to the management. I will also pass on your suggestion about bed types to our ownership. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I saw this spot on Groupon a couple months ago and really loved what I saw. I don't usually like to get things like hotel rooms on Groupon but this little gem caught my eyes instantly. So I decided to plan a surprise weekend getaway for my fiance and I during his birthday weekend. I did not tell him where we were staying so he did not see it until we arrived. The place looks exactly how it looks on photos and probably even better. We only stayed one night but we did not want to leave. This place is absolutely awesome! Very modern chic and not that expensive even without the Groupon. Everything was perfect..... The breakfast, the live music they played one night. Just beautiful. This will continue to be our place to stay when we take little trips to Austin. Thank you guys for a comfortable stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie S, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We look forward to welcoming you back to Austin each time you can sneak away for a fun weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We enjoyed our 3-day stay here very much. It was recently renovated and it is very convenient and close to I-35 and to downtown Austin without being right in the city. Don't miss the Nestle coffee machine in the lounge area. It was the best with many delicious options for everyone!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie S, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thanks for letting folks know how much you enjoyed your visit to our hotel. Shhh! I too sneak an espresso from the Lobby Coffee Service area on Mondays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Remodeled cute hotel, updated rooms and amenities, lounge/bar on property nice bonus, relaxing pool/hot tub and courtyard. Enjoyed our stay, but wouldn't pay extra for a pool view again. Very convenient to downtown without the hustle and bustle and overpriced parking, etc. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie S, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Everything about this freshly renovated hotel was a pleasant surprise and a cut above the usual chain hotel experience. I enjoyed the view of the lush courtyard/pool/spa area from the balcony of my quiet, comfortable guest room, and I appreciated the attention to design details evident throughout the property. Its contemporary elegance and soothing color scheme featured a few retro details that added to the delight of my stay. Loved it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie S, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Wyndham Garden Austin
#55 of 201 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,492 reviews
South Austin
Omni Austin at South Park
Crowne Plaza Austin
#27 of 201 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Austin
Holiday Inn Austin Airport
Hyatt Regency Austin
#18 of 201 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel
Address: 2200 South I-35, Austin, TX 78704-4436 (Formerly Clarion Inn and Suites Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Austin
#7 Green Hotel in Austin
#19 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#23 Family Hotel in Austin
#52 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please join us Monday evenings for social hour from 5pm-7pm in the lobby. Snacks and non-alcoholic beverages provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn And Hotel Austin
Clarion Hotel Austin
Clarion Austin
Austin Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing