We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel
Ranked #21 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I had business in downtown Austin. This seemed to be a good location. I was correct. the facility is well maintained. The staff were all very helpful and pleasant. The restaurant is good, and serves one of the best buffet breakfasts I have had in a long time.my room overlooked the enclosed patio and pool.
It is right off the expressway and access to downtown is easy ( a 5 minute drive).
The only problem I encountered was finding it, The sign is difficult to see. However, that is not really the fault of the hotel. The sign is along the access road and is not apparent at highway speeds.
Worth a return trip.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spenser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,046 - 1,052 of 1,136 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2013

Pleasantly surprised by hotel overall...fantastic decor from lobby to rooms to signage. Very friendly & courteous staff on all shifts. Immaculately clean. Very reasonable rate and while not downtown, easily accessible to downtown, SoCo & Guadalupe shops & restaurants. Would stay again for sure...actually this might just be my new favorite hotel in Austin!

Room Tip: rooms with pool view are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TLReynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This hotel is recently remodeled, but you can definitely tell it's pet friendly (and we love pets). Our room smelled of dog urine that had been masked with some heavy air-freshener. We were only there one night and really tired when we got in, so we didn't bother asking to switch rooms, but I wouldn't stay here again. For the same price, the Fairfield Inn and Suites by the University is a much better value.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Christine N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

If you are going to be visiting Austin, in the State of Texas, USA then do yourself a favour and consider staying at the Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel - I stayed there for a week in the later part of April 2013 whilst attending a wedding in that city and I have to say I was impressed!
Located just a couple of miles from the downtown centre of Austin the hotel has spacious well furnished rooms, a pretty good restaurant, a bar which has free live music several nights a week and an overall quality feel about it that equals and surpasses some of the pricier big name hotels also located in the city - being at a wedding I was among about a hundred or so guests who came in from all over the USA and had the chance to gain an impression of some of the other hotels my fellow wedding guests were staying at. None was better than the Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel and most were not as good yet the BWP Austin City Hotel was $40,$50 even $60 a night cheaper than the big names for bed and breakfast. I
I also stayed at a Best Western in Houston which I flew into from UK, it wasn't as good as the BWP Austin City Hotel but it was perfectly fine for a day or two and again is worthy of recommendation if you want somewhere to stay after or before an international flight into or from Houston - great value, comfortable room, free breakfast. Good deal!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel as it is located alongside an interstate highway which runs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The motel is very nice. It's clean with nice rooms and a pool as well as a bar and restaurant. We were very happy to stay here as it is about 2km out if town and was easy to access from the highway and park. The rooms are very nice, especially the ones that face the pool (although may be some noise in summer). Staff are friendly and there is a free breakfast although I hate the polystyrene plates and plastic cutlery; what a terrible environmental impact.
Next to the motel is a petrol station and Starbucks and Denny's.The location is good for access the city and sights also. It's an easy drive into town from here. If you take Oltorf St to Lamar Blvd then head into the city you will cross the river and soon arrive at the corner with West 6th St. Just after the corner turn right into the free car park and you will find a great, huge bookshop with good coffee, also a huge outdoor gear shop and across the road is Waterloo records.
we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms 150 - 164 (250 -, 350- etc ( and 147,148, 247, 248, 347, 348) face the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cumbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We arrived at approximately 2:55 pm and was told our reserved rooms were not available. There was a lobby full of hotel guests waiting to check in. I personally waited until 3:35 until both of our rooms were available. The staff were very apologetic and friendly. Other than that the hotel was great. The rooms were renovated nicely and it was very clean. The location was great and easy access to downtown. The bar and grill attached was also a great convience. The food was great! Other than the wait at check in, I would say it was a great stay.

Room Tip: They have both inside and outside rooms. The outside rooms are smoking rooms. We had one of each. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Wyndham Garden Austin
#49 of 202 in Austin
1,584 reviews
Crowne Plaza Austin
#22 of 202 in Austin
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Austin
Holiday Inn Austin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel

Address: 2200 South I-35, Austin, TX 78704-4436 (Formerly Clarion Inn and Suites Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Austin
#17 Family Hotel in Austin
#17 Best Value Hotel in Austin
#19 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#52 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range: $111 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please join us Monday evenings for social hour from 5pm-7pm in the lobby. Snacks and non-alcoholic beverages provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn And Hotel Austin
Clarion Hotel Austin
Clarion Austin
Austin Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing