We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Did not have the rooms we booked!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel
Ranked #24 of 200 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Did not have the rooms we booked!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were traveling with another large family, and reserved and paid for two king suites with pull out sofa beds. When we arrived at hotel, they only had 2 rooms with one bed. I have 3 children and the other family did too! Needless to say we are trying to get a refund as we did not sleep at all. They had no roll away beds either, and I did call the day before to confirm that there were queen size sofa beds in the king suites.

Room Tip: Be careful booking through expedia
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
So sorry there were issues in booking your third party reservation; last minute bookings on-line when inventory is almost gone can be tricky if two people are booking that last room at the same time. Booking directly with the hotel is always preferable when special requests are involved, and the cost to the guest is the same. For future reference our two room king suites have a double-size sleeper sofa. I hope you come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    329
    97
    29
    22
See reviews for
303
251
63
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio Vista, Texas
Level Contributor
135 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

We went to the Austin Reggae festival, and stayed at this hotel. It was 2 miles from the location with no traffic to and from the site. Easy to park, hotel had a bar and grill. Clean rooms and updated decor. The setup to go to the rooms was a little strange, go down these stairs and then take a left And then go outside thru the doors to the elevator then exit the elevator to enter the building again. We went to some local restaurants thanks to my Yelp! Habernero was a awesome place to eat authentic Mexican cuisine.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 358 there was a little road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, KS
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

I love visiting Austin, but finding affordable accommodations in a convenient location is challenging. When I ran across the newly re-branded Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel, I was excited to see what it would be like.

We lucked into a special "grand re-opening" rate that was a great deal, especially with the free parking, wi-fi and breakfast!

It's very easy to find and in a great location, just a short and easy drive to South Congress and downtown. When we arrived a little before 3 on a Saturday, we were disappointed our room was not yet available, but we had time to wait, and it only took about 20 minutes. I knew before we left that they were sold out the night we were there, so tried to be understanding.

Admittedly, it's a confusing building to find your way in, but signage is adequate. Our room was of a decent size, clean, and the beds were very comfortable. Traffic noise from I-35 might be an issue for light sleepers, but we were tired, and it didn't bother us a great deal, even though we were located on the northeast corner of the property, closest to the highway. Parking was not a problem--we just had to remember where! We did not eat the breakfast as we had already made plans for brunch so I won't comment on that.

Bathroom was nothing fancy but it was clean and the towels were thick and fluffy--something I value. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank musicfan77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We had a great stay at the Best Western PLUS this past weekend. Everything was clean and comfortable and the employees went above and beyond for us. A special thank you to Larry and Cody for being so accommodating. I definitely recommend staying here! Great location, close drive/walk to everything!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melissakay04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Our price was about $125 per night, and I would say it is very good value for money. The big positive is a hot breakfast that includes scrambled eggs and bacon, plus a ham and egg muffin and burrito as other options. Resupply of breakfast items was a bit chancy, with no coffee available one day when we had breakfast just before the end of service. At other times, pastry, boiled eggs, or other items would have run out and be unavailable. The orange juice was really good. In addition, the room was spacious and the swimming pool looked tempting, in an interior courtyard providing privacy, but the weather was still too cold for us to try it. The staff was quite helpful and friendly. The Blue Moon Grill in the hotel has live music.

For a recently renovated hotel, however, there were some small maintenance problems that simply should not have existed. The bathroom door wasn’t hung properly, so it dragged on the floor. The stopper that changes the water flow from the faucet to the shower head fell off. We asked maintenance to repair it, and this was done by the time we returned in the evening. In addition, I mentioned to the front desk that the water flow in the bathroom sink was quite inadequate and this too had been rectified.

The hotel is in a suburban location without much around it except a Starbucks and a Denny’s mentioned by another reviewer. I would recommend that other guests try the Whip In next door within walking distance. It just looks like a bodega or convenience store, but it’s evidently an interesting Indian restaurant with a Tex-Mex overtone and a micro-brewery that offers an amazing range of beers and wine, which can also be bought retail. We didn’t have a chance to try it, my one big regret of our trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin TN
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

This hotel was very conveniently located off I35 - and though it was super close to the freeway, the noise wasn't uncomfortable. Decent room and bed/bedding. Clean. Front desk staff were super - friendly and helpful. They have a nice looking pool though we didn't use it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toll B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

We arrived at 5pm to the loud sounds of the band warming up in the bar next to the front desk - even the clerk complained how annoying it was. The room smelled musty, was small & difficult to get around in. The doors to the bathroom area had to be constantly opened & closed when trying to use the toilet - bad layout. When we returned after a concert around 11pm there was not a single parking spot available. When I asked the front desk clerk where we were supposed to park I was informed that we could park on the street if we could find a space because the lot was fun of bar patrons and there was nothing she could do about it. Really? I'm paying to stay here and the bar customers have more right to park in the lot than I do? The street was busy & dimly lit with no spaces to park either. Terrible! I will never stay here again. Also, it was not close to the airport, which is how I searched for hotels.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherren630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Wyndham Garden Austin
#52 of 200 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
South Austin
Omni Austin at South Park
Crowne Plaza Austin
#28 of 200 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Austin
Holiday Inn Austin Airport
Hyatt Regency Austin
#18 of 200 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel
Address: 2200 S Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78704-4436 (Formerly Clarion Inn and Suites Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Austin
#9 Best Value Hotel in Austin
#19 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#23 Family Hotel in Austin
#52 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please join us Monday evenings for social hour from 5pm-7pm in the lobby. Snacks and non-alcoholic beverages provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn And Hotel Austin
Clarion Hotel Austin
Clarion Austin
Austin Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing